We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Option for cruisers”
Review of Cervantes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cervantes
Ranked #25 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We had one night in San Juan prior to our cruise and wanted to pick a hotel that was close to the port and also the key attractions in old san juan.
The location of this hotel was perfect. It was not even a 5 minute walk to the cruise port and also was very close to the best places to eat in old san juan and literally a step away from the "trolley" that takes you around the city.
Hotel staff were friendly, we had the suite which was nicely furnished, bathroom was great, and the place was clean. Only criticism would be that there was the smell of disinfectant in the room but would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank N H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CervantesprGM, Front Office Manager at Cervantes, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

NH,

Thank you for the kind words!
We do recognize that our hotel is perfect for cruisers because of our strategic location that is close enough to the dock and local attractions.
We hope to see you again and hope you had a fabulous time cruising!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (530)
There are newer reviews for Cervantes
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

349 - 355 of 530 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2013

Them hotel was great, well situated in the old San juan. We took the presidential suit and despite all we heard about the establishment, we had a beautiful stay.

First of all, the room was impressive. Elevator directly on the room. Huge bathroom with Barth (water jet) and great shower. 50 inches tv screen. Terrace with bathroom. King size bed. No outdoor disturbance. Lutron controller, all the light are on dimmer.
Dining room.
Ideally for two, you can stay at four. But the two other have to sleep on the living room.
The room was not too clean, we found mistake. Outdoor fountain doesn't work. Some light was broken (1 or two not more). We encountered problems with WC (dis the maintenance Check the room Before ?). Ground floor restaurant was closed by night but we had breakfasts.
More, the Night was very expansive (2 nights at 1500$ included all the tax (1300$ without)). But the hôtel accept the dog where many don't.

Room Tip: Presidential suite is incredible. Must try a night. Beside the pier. Vraiment génial ! À voir absolu...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Le_Babate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CervantesprGM, Front Office Manager at Cervantes, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Le_Babate,

Merci Beaucoup!

We are so happy your family enjoyed staying in our stunning Presidential Suite. We apologize for the minor mistakes you encountered and I assure you our Maintenance Team is working hard on getting them fixed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Cervantes the night before departing on a cruise. Jennifer, the front desk worker and concierge was very helpful and showed us great customer service. She gave us dinner recommendations, helped us to our room, and the next day let us leave our bags with her so we didn't have to carry them around the city before getting on our cruise. We loved Cervantes and would definitely stay there again. Great location, amazing staff, and perfect for a stay before the cruise.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jsato13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CervantesprGM, Front Office Manager at Cervantes, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

JSato13,

Wow! We loved this review.
I will make sure to share your kind words with Jennifer. We can't wait until your next stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

In short, the Chateau Cervantes was an excellent experience. The quaint atmosphere was a welcomed change to the larger hotels we've stayed at in the past. It was centrally located in Old San Juan and walking distance to everything. The hotel gave us the feeling of the REAL San Juan and not the massive touristy feeling of the larger hotels in the area. The staff was extremely friendly and more than helpful. I go to San Juan once a year and unless I'm given an offer I cannot refuse, the Chateau Cervantes will likely be the only place I stay. My one complaint was that the room did not have a phone. But on the other hand, if you are worried about a phone are you really embracing your vacation? I definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Thomas E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CervantesprGM, Front Office Manager at Cervantes, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

Thomas E.

Thank you for the great review about our hotel. We appreciate all the details in your review and look forward to your next stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

There are many positives for the hotel-the staff is warm, courteous, and professional; the wonderful location in Old San Juan; the free continental breakfast; and the stylish decor. That said, we had one of our worst hotel stays at Cervantes. First off, the rooms are VERY loud. Between the street noise and the doors banging in the hallway, even my husband who is an incredibly deep sleeper could not stay asleep. But what truly ruined our stay was the fact that the toilet overflowed in the middle of the night. Dirty toilet water (tons of it) flowed into the bathroom and the hallway outside the bathroom. There was no housekeeping services until morning, no offer to have us change rooms, and no reduced rate. We were also told that this happens from time to time throughout the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mp W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CervantesprGM, Front Office Manager at Cervantes, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

We sincerely apologize for the poor experience at our hotel. During the weekends, Old San Juan gets plenty of visitors for a great night out. Many restaurants, shops and bars are open until later because of this. We have the privilege of being located on a great strip close to many of those but not all guests enjoy this. For those, we are more than happy to accommodate in floors higher up where the noise is less. We can assure you that the Toilet situation is not one that happens frequently if not at all. Again, we apologize for whole situation.

Thank you for pointing out our best asset, our staff!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We had a great suite with a big balcony. But the view was so so... Of a parking lot,....
But the room was great and modern, the only thing that needs to be changed is the carpet.
The breakfast was very good and included.
Great hotel in old san juan especially if you're taking a cruise.
But it is quite noisy outside during saturday nights (people partying and shouting untill 2:30 am)
The sevice of the staff is excellent.
The location is great, in the middle of old san juan and walking distance to the port.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rhanna1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CervantesprGM, Front Office Manager at Cervantes, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

Rhanna,

So pleased to know you enjoyed staying in one of our Cervantes Suites!
Thank you for the kind words about our staff and location , they truly are great.

We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

You know what you're getting with huge hotel chains - boring, but passable...usually. We wanted interesting and found it in the Chateau Cervantes in Old San Juan!

We got two rooms - one for myself and my husband, and a second room for our adult kids. The standard rooms are tiny, but very cool. The room we got for our kids was bigger and had a sofa bed which worked out just fine. Bathrooms are contemporary and really nice! The continental breakfast was not as good - I think it's tough to have crispy baked goods with the island humidity.

The people who run Chateau Cervantes are all warm and friendly. Our plane arrived in San Juan a bit late but we were greeted really nicely by Jonathan who showed us to our rooms and made us feel welcome.

Best of all was waking up with a view of the narrow old street outside our window and being right where we wanted to be. The staff held our luggage for the day while we walked around the old city. It was great!

2 more things:

1 - There are 2 parking garages across the street from the hotel which is on a one way street. The second lot you come to, the one further west, is less expensive.

2 - The Cafe Puerto Rico, right around the corner from the hotel on Calle O'Donnell was great! Loved the Yucca Mofongo!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bchu11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CervantesprGM, Front Office Manager at Cervantes, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

Thank you for spending your vacation with us!

We are so pleased to hear that you had a wonderful time. We appreciate that you shared your experience and we would love to welcome you and your family again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.3 mi away
Decanter Hotel
Decanter Hotel
#3 of 47 in San Juan
229 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Terraza de San Juan
La Terraza de San Juan
#9 of 47 in San Juan
773 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#5 of 47 in San Juan
961 reviews
0.1 mi away
Da House Hotel
Da House Hotel
#28 of 47 in San Juan
603 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cervantes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cervantes

Address: Recinto Sur #329 | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#10 Family Hotel in San Juan
Price Range: £101 - £447 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cervantes 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cervantes boutique hotel at the gateway to Old San Juan is for sophisticated travelers that appreciate the fine art of hospitality. Inspired by the intimate 'town hotels' of Europe, rooms and elegant suites feature contemporary luxury designed by NoNo Maldonado. Exclusive penthouse suite with private terrace, spa-bath and keyed elevator access. Concierge-level service, free continental breakfast, flat-panel TVs, free Wi-Fi in the Lobby and public parking garages are nearby. Enjoy creative international cuisine at our acclaimed Panza Restaurant. We are 5 minutes away form cruise dock 1,2,3,4. We are in the heart of Old San Juan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cervantes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cervantes Hotel San Juan
Cervantes San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing