We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary”
Review of Cervantes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cervantes
Ranked #25 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We spent an exclusive memorable night with Champaigne and Strawberries waiting for us in this marvelous suite.Excelent location.We will remmeber this place forever.The Hotel Staff at the reception was very sweet and made the pre arrival arrangements possible so that I could surprise my wife with this aniversary present

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Janky1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CervantesprGM, Front Office Manager at Cervantes, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Janky1950,

Thank you for choosing us for such a special and memorable event. We were more than glad to please you in every way in order to surprise your wife on your anniversary. So glad you enjoyed the special touches like the Champagne!

Cheers to many more years!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (531)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

344 - 350 of 531 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2013

We stayed at the Cervantes for one night prior to a cruise vacation. It is conveniently located in Old San Juan, just minutes from the cruise ship dock. We booked a standard room, which was quite small, but sufficient for our needs. After spending the evening out walking around the city and having dinner, we returned to our room to find the carpet was wet from some kind of leak that we could not identify. We called the front desk and a young lady came up to investigate. She also could not determine the source of the leak. She called the desk to see if there were any other standard rooms available that we could move to and there were not (the hotel only has 12 rooms). The only other room available was a suite and she was nice enough to move us to that room at no additional charge to us. The room was very clean, but you could hear quite a bit of noise from the street below.
The breakfast was small but was fine for us, as we don't typically eat a large breakfast anyway. (And we knew there would be plenty of food on the ship!!)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keithjill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CervantesprGM, Front Office Manager at Cervantes, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

KeithJill,

Thank you for the review!

We apologize for the minor inconvenience that you faced during your stay. We can assure you that the next day, our maintenance team worked diligently to get it repaired. We're glad everything else about your stay was good. Hope you had a great time cruising!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Cervantes for just one evening in preparation for departing on a cruise from San Juan. The hotel is very conveniently located nearby the cruise ship pier. Importantly, the Cervantes is in a great location for seeing much of Old San Juan, the shopping, and the historic sites.

We were checked-in by Jennifer who did a wonderful job in making us feel welcome. She brought us up to our king suite (room 5, 4th floor) and we were very impressed. Tall ceilings gave the room a great airiness and wonderful ambiance. The room was large, with a long balcony over the street. The bathroom included a wonderful, large shower stall with dual shower heads and a steam bath function.

Jennifer gave us great direction for nearby places to visit, including a great recommendation for a restaurant: Cafe Puerto Rico on the Plaza de Colon. The food was great - try the mofongo! The next morning the continental breakfast, served by Jennifer, was yummy and started us off on a great walking tour to El Morro and the shops.

We enjoyed the Cervantes and the attention from Jennifer very much! We strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DAS_2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CervantesprGM, Front Office Manager at Cervantes, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

DAS_2009,

We appreciate you taking the time to write this wonderful review. So glad our hotel, location and staff exceeded your expectations. We hope to see you again in any future stays in our island.

We will share the kind words with our sweet Jennifer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

My family and I recently stayed at Chateau Cervantes 8/23, and it was an absolute pleasure from the moment we stepped in the door. the hotel staff greeted us warmly and proceeded to assist us with check-in although we were 3 hours early! We were travelling with our small son and they even placed a smile on his face by welcoming him with gentle conversation and smiles. Once we settled in to our suite, we decided to do some touring of the city and the front desk staff assisted with pointing out some nearby locations that were family friendly and easy to locate! After a full day of touring we came back to the hotel to change and the hotel staff recommended a few restaurants nearby. The suite was picture-perfect and the view of the city was amazing! Depending on what you look for in a room, you will find this hotel charming, quiet, clean, and full of the needed amenities for a good stay. There are no phones in the suites, which worked well for us because we liked the personal contact with the staff and they were able to assist with general requests for ice or extra towels as well. I will say that the only disappointment was that the restaurant was not open for dinner dining (off-season); although every morning we had a delicious continental breakfast with an assortment of warm pastries, bagels, cereal and coffee. We will definitely be returning to Cervantes again (in-season) to try some of their tasty cuisine; if its anything like the high quality service form the staff or the beautiful suites, I know that the meal will be enjoyable!! Thanks for such a wonderful experience, your hotel was a key factor in us truly enjoying our Old San Juan vacation!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Naheelah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CervantesprGM, Front Office Manager at Cervantes, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Naheelah,

Wow!! Thank you for the kind and honest words about our hotel and your stay. We're so glad that only did you enjoy your stay in our hotel but in our island. Please make sure to come back during our High Season ( November-April) to enjoy an outstanding meal in our restaurant, Panza. We promise it will not disappoint!
Again, we appreciate this review very much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Stayed the Friday before our cruise. We arrived in San Juan early and was able to check into our room. Great location and walking distance to anywhere in old San Juan. The three of us stayed in a mini suite with one queen and pull out. Both were very comfortable. The room had a Small veranda overlooking a back street. Quiet, except for when a restaurant closed, they decided to party on the street,throwing garbage and talking loud. The staff was pleasant and very helpful. We did not eat in the restaurant, but it looked very nice.

Room Tip: Stayed the Friday before our cruise. A great location, walking distance to everything in Old San Jua...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sherwood D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CervantesprGM, Front Office Manager at Cervantes, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

SherwoodD,

Glad you had a great stay at our hotel before boarding your cruise. We look forward to your next stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Plan on staying here again! Great customer service, friendly staff and excellently location for a visit to Old San Juan. Small Boutique hotel within walking distance of great shopping and restaurants. Rooms are small but lots of character and very comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jmollo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CervantesprGM, Front Office Manager at Cervantes, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Jmollo 77,

So glad to hear your stay was worth 5 stars and can't wait until your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We had one night in San Juan prior to our cruise and wanted to pick a hotel that was close to the port and also the key attractions in old san juan.
The location of this hotel was perfect. It was not even a 5 minute walk to the cruise port and also was very close to the best places to eat in old san juan and literally a step away from the "trolley" that takes you around the city.
Hotel staff were friendly, we had the suite which was nicely furnished, bathroom was great, and the place was clean. Only criticism would be that there was the smell of disinfectant in the room but would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank N H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CervantesprGM, Front Office Manager at Cervantes, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

NH,

Thank you for the kind words!
We do recognize that our hotel is perfect for cruisers because of our strategic location that is close enough to the dock and local attractions.
We hope to see you again and hope you had a fabulous time cruising!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.3 mi away
Decanter Hotel
Decanter Hotel
#3 of 47 in San Juan
230 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Terraza de San Juan
La Terraza de San Juan
#8 of 47 in San Juan
773 reviews
0.1 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#5 of 47 in San Juan
964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan
0.1 mi away
Da House Hotel
Da House Hotel
#28 of 47 in San Juan
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cervantes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cervantes

Address: Recinto Sur #329 | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#10 Family Hotel in San Juan
Price Range: £104 - £455 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cervantes 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cervantes boutique hotel at the gateway to Old San Juan is for sophisticated travelers that appreciate the fine art of hospitality. Inspired by the intimate 'town hotels' of Europe, rooms and elegant suites feature contemporary luxury designed by NoNo Maldonado. Exclusive penthouse suite with private terrace, spa-bath and keyed elevator access. Concierge-level service, free continental breakfast, flat-panel TVs, free Wi-Fi in the Lobby and public parking garages are nearby. Enjoy creative international cuisine at our acclaimed Panza Restaurant. We are 5 minutes away form cruise dock 1,2,3,4. We are in the heart of Old San Juan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cervantes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cervantes Hotel San Juan
Cervantes San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing