We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“love this hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cervantes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cervantes
Ranked #23 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Emmaus, Pennsylvania
1 review
“love this hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

We arrived early and were allowed to leave our bags at the hotel till our room was ready. we asked fro a place to eat that was close and within reason $ wise. we went to the place she told us to and had a great meal. When we came back and went too our room we were absolutely pleased with it.........great view and lots of room for all four of us. Even my daughter with ocd and a germ issue was happy with this room and it's cleanliness! 5 stars from us and we will come back!
The help was the best here and the breakfast was very good for a continental breakfast!
We absolutely recommend this hotel!
Thank you for making our 2 night visit a memorable and happy one.

Room Tip: any room is good here we had a corner room 4th fl balcony loved it gotta get a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Desiree50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CervantesprGM, Front Office Manager at Cervantes, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Desiree50,
Thank you for reviewing your stay. We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay in one of our balcony rooms. I will make sure to share your kind words about our cleaning with our Housekeeping Department. We look forward to a future stay with us at Chateau Cervantes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    168
    49
    31
    31
See reviews for
96
286
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

We purchased our reservation on a travel website for a per night charge. It was a guaranteed price. The hotel was nicely decorated and was very clean. Breakfast was continental - breads - and they give you sparse specialty coffee. We felt minimized in the portions - like in Europe, and refills were hard to come by. The local taxes are expensive and include tax, room occupancy, and another third possibly "questionable" tax in our view. To explain, we noticed that our bill seemed to add a fee that increased our costs at checkout, and this fee was ambiguous. We had experienced a toilet problem due to the hotels lack of repair of the flush stopper (it did not flush) - so they gave us another room. They advised due to our trouble that they gave us a slightly bigger room, but then when the bill came, this extra fee made us think that this may be a "backdoor" additional room charge rather than an upgrade assistance due to our trouble with the toilet. We did not even ask for the room upgrade, as we are quiet people - we would have been happy with a comparable room. However, this fee was on our bill without explanation or pre-informing us, and appeared to be a tax on top of the other two local taxes - but was listed in a way that made us think it might be a hotel backdoor increased room charge and not a tax. We settled the bill, but will definately re-think staying in old town San Juan Puerto Rico if we visit again. For the same price we ended up paying, we could have gone to the Sheraton or a newer, better hotel, with better overall services.

Room Tip: There was no fitness center and no pool. The wooden front door entrance is there but it is hard to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CervantesprGM, Front Office Manager at Cervantes, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Richard C,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. First, we apologize for the minor toilet issue you faced in our Standard Queen Room. It was resolved the next day. We upgraded you without hesitation or additional charge to a King Suite but first we did ask if you would like to move to another room. You booked through Booking.com, which is our primary booking site. The daily rate was $162.50, without taxes or fees and this was clearly stated on the website, email confirmation and reservation paperwork from Booking.com that we had here at the hotel. The total stay per night with taxes and fees was $216.76. The total for your stay of two nights was $433.52. Our highly experienced and trained staff would’ve gladly explained and addressed any billing concerns. Our daily continental breakfast is complimentary to all of our guests. Also includes local coffee brewed to order without limits of how many cups. Our staff would have gladly provided you with more coffee and breakfast as we do with all of our guests. We pride ourselves in being a Boutique Hotel. Since we do not have the facilities of a pool or fitness center, we provide guests with information on the nearest ones for their convenience. We hope you reconsider coming back to Old San Juan in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

My fiance and I spent a couple nights here before leaving on a cruise. The staff were the nicest people in town. They accommodated us arriving early in the morning by holding our bags and putting us in a room that was available. They told us all the spots to hit and always greeted us with a smile and hello. They even let us keep our bags in the lobby for the day after returning from our cruise so we could get a pina colada before returning home. The room was great and we will return.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Todd D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CervantesprGM, Front Office Manager at Cervantes, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Todd D,
We appreciate you taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. We're so glad the service provided by our staff was the highlight of the trip. Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

Stayed at this property on November 9th, 2013 prior to a Carnival Cruise. Great Property in the middle of Old San Juan. Our room was room 6 on the 4th floor and was very nice. The noise on the streets was not distracting at all. Staff at property was great and the breakfast was wonderful. Less than 5 minute walk to Carnival Cruise port with luggage.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back of property have less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CervantesprGM, Front Office Manager at Cervantes, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Bill B,
Thank you for reviewing your stay. So glad you enjoyed staying in one of our Junior Suites. Hope you had a great time on your cruise. Until next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercer Island, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Started out in suite overlooking main street with view of huge parking garage. After one night listening to loud fan in parking garage, switched to suite on back side which faced quaint, less busy street. Staff was wonderful. Finishes in second room were great, but several things didn't work--bidet was unusable (water ran all over the floor) and after a maintenance person looked at it, they claimed it was a water pressure problem (we think it was the wrong faucet for a bidet), the hair dryer attached to wall was broken (they gave us a portable that worked fine), the steam in the shower didn't work, and the wifi that was supposed to work in the room never did--you have to use wifi in one particular spot in lobby. Breakfast was great (continental with nice pastries) with wonderful coffee. Nice bedding and great location just on the edge of old San Juan.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for room on back side, front side rooms on busy street facing parking garage with lou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Monica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CervantesprGM, Front Office Manager at Cervantes, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Monica R,
We appreciate you taking the time to review us. We apologize for the minor inconveniences you faced during your stay. Our team has been informed and will make sure it doesn't happen again. The bidet in the room has been fixed since it actually was a problem with the water pressure. Also, our WiFi only works in the lobby. We inform that to our guests during the Check In process. Thank you for noting our best features like our staff and location. Hope to see you again at Cervantes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Clair Shores, Michigan
Level Contributor
119 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

Yes, it was just that good. We arrived pre-cruise and wished we could have stayed for days. The hotel is a wonderful boutique hotel right in the heart of San Juan. We were in Room 5 on the fourth floor ... a gorgeous suite with balconies running the length of the front of the hotel. The staff knew we were celebrating our anniversary and had decked the suite out in rose petals (which smelled wonderful!), and left a cheese and fruit plate on the bar.

The room was huge, especially for OSJ standards. We had a full livingroom two bathrooms - one was huge with a walk in shower/steam room, wet bar and three huge French doors leading out onto the balconies.

The staff is a true gem. Incredibly cordial, helpful, just all around terrific. We decided we would stay here every time we're in San Juan. I'll take true OSJ and wonderful customer service over cookie cutter.

Thank you for an absolutely lovely stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SCSTravelJunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CervantesprGM, Front Office Manager at Cervantes, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
SCSTravelJunkie,
We appreciate you taking the time to review us. So glad you chose our hotel to celebrate your anniversary. Our Housekeeping team enjoyed decorating your suite . Thank you for adding those great pictures. We can't wait will your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

This hotel is such a nice, smaller hotel. It is right in the middle of old San Juan and right near a trolley stop. Several restaurants are right outside the hotel door. The people at the front desk were very friendly and super helpful with maps, and info we needed to get around the area. We will definitely stay here again when we come back to Puerto Rico!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CervantesprGM, Front Office Manager at Cervantes, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Katie S,
Thank you taking the time to review us. We're so excited you enjoyed your stay in Chateau Cervantes. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Milano
Hotel Milano
#34 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
0.3 mi away
Decanter Hotel
Decanter Hotel
#7 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Terraza de San Juan
La Terraza de San Juan
#13 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#9 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel
0.1 mi away
S.J. Suites
S.J. Suites
#42 of 46 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cervantes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cervantes

Property: Cervantes
Address: Recinto Sur #329 | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#10 Family Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cervantes 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cervantes boutique hotel at the gateway to Old San Juan is for sophisticated travelers that appreciate the fine art of hospitality. Inspired by the intimate 'town hotels' of Europe, rooms and elegant suites feature contemporary luxury designed by NoNo Maldonado. Exclusive penthouse suite with private terrace, spa-bath and keyed elevator access. Concierge-level service, free continental breakfast, flat-panel TVs, free Wi-Fi in the Lobby and public parking garages are nearby. Enjoy creative international cuisine at our acclaimed Panza Restaurant. We are 5 minutes away form cruise dock 1,2,3,4. We are in the heart of Old San Juan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Cervantes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cervantes Hotel San Juan
Cervantes San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing