We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gma, Gpa, Kids & Grand Kids”
Review of Cervantes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cervantes
Ranked #24 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Plano, Texas
1 review
“Gma, Gpa, Kids & Grand Kids”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We all had an excellent stay at Cervantes. The rooms are clean and elegant but the best part of the stay was the staff. They gave us great recommendations on restaurants, arranged transportation for 8 people to and from the airport and took care of our baggage. The service and attention to detail was outstanding. This is a 5 star hotel with a great staff!

Room Tip: Try to get the rooms facing the street - they are large and elegant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CervantesprGM, Front Office Manager at Cervantes, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Jeff B,
Thank you for choosing Chateau Cervantes for your recent trip with the family. We really enjoyed having you here in our Cervantes Suites. I will share the kind words about our staff with them. Until next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    170
    51
    33
    33
See reviews for
101
293
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We found Cervantes to be a really neat quaint little hotel. I think that they only have about 20 rooms. Overall we were happy with our stay. We booked our overnight here in PR to prepare for our cruise leaving the next day.

Positives: Cervantes was right in the action of old San Juan, so restaurants, bars, etc, are all nearby. We also found it convenient to the CVS right around the corner. It was also an easy walk to the port for the cruise ships. The service was very good as the front desk ladies were all fantastic. Room was nice and well appointed.

Negatives: Since it was in the heart of Old San Juan, on a Friday night it was pretty noisy on the street til the wee hours of the night. We stayed out late, but the crowd in San Juan stays out really late and they were walking the streets making noise til 4 am. You could hear everything from the balcony doors even 4 floor up. Other than that, it's a sacrifice. Do you want to stay close to everything or stay far away in the more quiet part of town.

If we were to do it again we would definitely stay here again. The good definitely outweighed the bad. Thanks!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank James Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CervantesprGM, Front Office Manager at Cervantes, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
James Y,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay at our hotel. We are so glad you enjoyed everything about it and can't wait to see you again on your next stay. Hope you had a great time on the cruise!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jurmala, Latvia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Location is perfect. Personal is very helpfull. Room was nice, but unfortunally without balcony. For cruise ships passengers - the best choise. Only few steps to terminal. Nice breakfest, good coffee. Thank You!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jelena Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CervantesprGM, Front Office Manager at Cervantes, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Jelena Z,
Thank you for the great review. I suggest for any future stay , to request a room with a balcony and we will try out best to accomodate your request.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmaus, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We arrived early and were allowed to leave our bags at the hotel till our room was ready. we asked fro a place to eat that was close and within reason $ wise. we went to the place she told us to and had a great meal. When we came back and went too our room we were absolutely pleased with it.........great view and lots of room for all four of us. Even my daughter with ocd and a germ issue was happy with this room and it's cleanliness! 5 stars from us and we will come back!
The help was the best here and the breakfast was very good for a continental breakfast!
We absolutely recommend this hotel!
Thank you for making our 2 night visit a memorable and happy one.

Room Tip: any room is good here we had a corner room 4th fl balcony loved it gotta get a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Desiree50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CervantesprGM, Front Office Manager at Cervantes, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Desiree50,
Thank you for reviewing your stay. We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay in one of our balcony rooms. I will make sure to share your kind words about our cleaning with our Housekeeping Department. We look forward to a future stay with us at Chateau Cervantes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We purchased our reservation on a travel website for a per night charge. It was a guaranteed price. The hotel was nicely decorated and was very clean. Breakfast was continental - breads - and they give you sparse specialty coffee. We felt minimized in the portions - like in Europe, and refills were hard to come by. The local taxes are expensive and include tax, room occupancy, and another third possibly "questionable" tax in our view. To explain, we noticed that our bill seemed to add a fee that increased our costs at checkout, and this fee was ambiguous. We had experienced a toilet problem due to the hotels lack of repair of the flush stopper (it did not flush) - so they gave us another room. They advised due to our trouble that they gave us a slightly bigger room, but then when the bill came, this extra fee made us think that this may be a "backdoor" additional room charge rather than an upgrade assistance due to our trouble with the toilet. We did not even ask for the room upgrade, as we are quiet people - we would have been happy with a comparable room. However, this fee was on our bill without explanation or pre-informing us, and appeared to be a tax on top of the other two local taxes - but was listed in a way that made us think it might be a hotel backdoor increased room charge and not a tax. We settled the bill, but will definately re-think staying in old town San Juan Puerto Rico if we visit again. For the same price we ended up paying, we could have gone to the Sheraton or a newer, better hotel, with better overall services.

Room Tip: There was no fitness center and no pool. The wooden front door entrance is there but it is hard to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CervantesprGM, Front Office Manager at Cervantes, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Richard C,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. First, we apologize for the minor toilet issue you faced in our Standard Queen Room. It was resolved the next day. We upgraded you without hesitation or additional charge to a King Suite but first we did ask if you would like to move to another room. You booked through Booking.com, which is our primary booking site. The daily rate was $162.50, without taxes or fees and this was clearly stated on the website, email confirmation and reservation paperwork from Booking.com that we had here at the hotel. The total stay per night with taxes and fees was $216.76. The total for your stay of two nights was $433.52. Our highly experienced and trained staff would’ve gladly explained and addressed any billing concerns. Our daily continental breakfast is complimentary to all of our guests. Also includes local coffee brewed to order without limits of how many cups. Our staff would have gladly provided you with more coffee and breakfast as we do with all of our guests. We pride ourselves in being a Boutique Hotel. Since we do not have the facilities of a pool or fitness center, we provide guests with information on the nearest ones for their convenience. We hope you reconsider coming back to Old San Juan in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

My fiance and I spent a couple nights here before leaving on a cruise. The staff were the nicest people in town. They accommodated us arriving early in the morning by holding our bags and putting us in a room that was available. They told us all the spots to hit and always greeted us with a smile and hello. They even let us keep our bags in the lobby for the day after returning from our cruise so we could get a pina colada before returning home. The room was great and we will return.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Todd D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CervantesprGM, Front Office Manager at Cervantes, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Todd D,
We appreciate you taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. We're so glad the service provided by our staff was the highlight of the trip. Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Stayed at this property on November 9th, 2013 prior to a Carnival Cruise. Great Property in the middle of Old San Juan. Our room was room 6 on the 4th floor and was very nice. The noise on the streets was not distracting at all. Staff at property was great and the breakfast was wonderful. Less than 5 minute walk to Carnival Cruise port with luggage.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back of property have less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 599BillB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CervantesprGM, Front Office Manager at Cervantes, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Bill B,
Thank you for reviewing your stay. So glad you enjoyed staying in one of our Junior Suites. Hope you had a great time on your cruise. Until next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.3 mi away
Decanter Hotel
Decanter Hotel
#3 of 47 in San Juan
223 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Milano
Hotel Milano
#35 of 47 in San Juan
935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Terraza de San Juan
La Terraza de San Juan
#11 of 47 in San Juan
769 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan
0.1 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#6 of 47 in San Juan
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cervantes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cervantes

Property: Cervantes
Address: Recinto Sur #329 | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#10 Family Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cervantes 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cervantes boutique hotel at the gateway to Old San Juan is for sophisticated travelers that appreciate the fine art of hospitality. Inspired by the intimate 'town hotels' of Europe, rooms and elegant suites feature contemporary luxury designed by NoNo Maldonado. Exclusive penthouse suite with private terrace, spa-bath and keyed elevator access. Concierge-level service, free continental breakfast, flat-panel TVs, free Wi-Fi in the Lobby and public parking garages are nearby. Enjoy creative international cuisine at our acclaimed Panza Restaurant. We are 5 minutes away form cruise dock 1,2,3,4. We are in the heart of Old San Juan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cervantes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cervantes Hotel San Juan
Cervantes San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing