We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“under-furnished, appalling breakfast, Shameful price for no amenities”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Cervantes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cervantes
Ranked #23 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“under-furnished, appalling breakfast, Shameful price for no amenities”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

It's rare to find a hotel that doesn't have a mini-fridge in the room, but a phone? cups? even enough beds to accommodate the amount of guests advertised for? That's unheard of. From the off this hotel was a disappointment, at check in, the agreed booking price was exceeded by $180; the so called 'presidential' suite was more suited to the president of a community centre netball team thats what at first springs to mind. All of the above items were absent, there was a television at the side of the only bed (advertised as a room to sleep 6) with a bath facing the bottom of the bed also, just to ensure there is no privacy whatsoever. The poorly fitted doors provided a murderous squeal whenever moved further than 30cm. When we turned on the air conditioning, it somehow managed to reset the Air con units in every other room, resulting in a maintenance man clumsily shuffling his way around the suite at midnight, much to our delight. The shower had no working light, the toilet broke, and the main seating area directly faced the entrance door. And the breakfast continued the trend of disappointment the following morning. A selection of bread. That was it! If you don't plan on seducing somebody else's mistress whilst your brother keeps a sentry on the door from the comfort of an armchair, i would recommend you find alternative accommodation.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Dickie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CervantesprGM, Front Office Manager at Cervantes, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dickie C,

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to write this thorough review. Let’s start off clarifying the first problem you encountered once you arrived for check in. When you made your reservation on Booking.com for the Presidential Suite at $573 per night the website clearly stated that the price did not include taxes or fees. This was also on the email you received confirming your reservation. It was also on the confirmation we received and showed you once you arrived. Our Presidential Suite fits perfectly six people by accommodating two on the King Sized Bed, two on the Sofa Bed and two more on the extra mattress. When you booked your reservation, you clearly stated that an extra cot would be great for your child , if not she could sleep with you. Housekeeping did not set up the extra cot but once you arrived and made it clear that you needed one, we did not hesitate to provide you with one. Our complimentary Continental Breakfast includes a variety of items like croissants, whole wheat toast, cinnamon rolls, yogurts and much more. If our guests are looking for a more complete breakfast, our staff gladly suggests our local favorites. We truly apologize for the inconvenience with the AC in the hotel and appreciate that you kindly let us into your room to resolve the issue. Again , we apologize if the hotel and Presidential suite was not up to your standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    168
    50
    32
    31
See reviews for
99
288
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

Our stay at the Cervantes was ok, but we found a few problems that keep the rating down. I don't believe I would stay there again. The room was well decorated, but there were only two rather meager pillows on the bed, the decorative pillows appeared to be soiled, and the bedskirt had a large stain that looked like oil. The carpet had numerous lint/hair balls that the vacuum had not picked up. The bathroom was very clean, but had a shower with no place to put soap, shampoo, or washcloth except the shower floor - yuck. There were two bath towels provided, but only one hand towel and one washcloth. On the positive side, the two desk persons were very helpful and friendly, the hotel is right next to some very nice restaurants, and it is easy to get around to all of old San Juan from the Cervantes. It's a bit hard to find and parking across the street in the parking building was very expensive - $50 for one night!! With a little attention to details, this hotel could be much nicer and result in higher reviews. We travel often, and found the Cervantes to be a boutique hotel with potential, but falling short.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Robyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CervantesprGM, Front Office Manager at Cervantes, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Robyn L.,
We appreciate you taking the time to review your stay even though it wasn't up to your standards. We will definitely be taking into consideration all your remarks to make it a better and more pleasant stay. We apologize for the inconveniences you encountered. Thank you for the lovely words about our staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Great location In old San Juan. Restaurants very nearby. Trolley stop steps away. Hotel has gorgeous rooms. Slept in until 11 am. Unfortunately the restaurant in the hotel was not open when I was there in February. However, so many places to eat up and down the street. If you want to traipse around Old San Juan, this is the hotel. And the staff is so accommodating. Worry-free hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandraPatafio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CervantesprGM, Front Office Manager at Cervantes, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
SandraPatafio,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. We certainly agree that our location and proximity to the free Trolley stop and many other attractions is one of our best features. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

Our room was beautiful and well maintained over our 5 night stay. The hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful and made us feel absolutely at home. The hotel is located near Plaza de Colon, the entrance to Old San Juan and next door to a string of restaurants with outdoor seating. There's so much to do in Old San Juan that we didn't spend a great deal of time in our room, but the time we did spend there was relaxing and comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Justin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CervantesprGM, Front Office Manager at Cervantes, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Justin V,
Thank you for taking the time to review your 5 night stay and posting great pictures. We're thrilled that you enjoyed your stay in one of our beautiful Cervantes King Suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
69 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

Our stay at Cervantes was excellent. Our host Michelle was a sweet and helpful person. She was a plus to the nice stay we had here the day before our cruise. We will go back because of the warm friendly staff. Thank you Michelle so very much. You were the spark we needed on Saturday morning to get over our rough trip on Friday to get us in the vacation mood.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank mic289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CervantesprGM, Front Office Manager at Cervantes, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Mic289,
Thank you for the review. I appreciate the generous and loving words about how I made your stay an excellent one. It is what I thrive for at my job. Hoping you had a great time and we will see each other again at Chateau Cervantes!

-Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allyn, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
141 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

It was better for us to fly to PR, then to St. Thomas. So we spent 2 nights at Cervantes. The location was perfect. Very good restaurants within walking distance. Cab from the airport for 3 was $25. Judy and Anna were very helpful. Arriving at midnight was very easy. Great place to stay.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CervantesprGM, Front Office Manager at Cervantes, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Jan D,
We appreciate your great review and pointing out some of our best features like our location and staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

Booked Cervantes for an after cruise stay and couldn't have been happier! The hotel is located a short walk from the Carnival port. Anna and Michelle were wonderful and very helpful. We arrived early and left our luggage and then wandered around the area until our room was ready. The suite (5th floor) we booked was beautiful and roomy. The bed is heavenly, made up with nice linens. The bathroom was huge! Nice double sinks, large marble shower an seperate toilet and bidet. We stayed on a Sunday night and didn't hear any noise from the street as some have complained about, the trash was collected before we went to bed so not really a problem. We loved the feel of Old San Juan and the hotel itself is romantic and charming. Our breakfast was delicious: coffee, yogurt, muffins, bagels, cinnamon rolls and juice. We can't wait to go back and stay longer at the Cervantes!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ElusiveDream_524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CervantesprGM, Front Office Manager at Cervantes, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
ElusiveDream_524,
Thank you for the great review on your stay at our hotel. We will share the kind words with our staff. Already looking forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.3 mi away
Decanter Hotel
Decanter Hotel
#3 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Milano
Hotel Milano
#34 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Terraza de San Juan
La Terraza de San Juan
#8 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel
0.1 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#9 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cervantes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cervantes

Property: Cervantes
Address: Recinto Sur #329 | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#10 Family Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cervantes 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cervantes boutique hotel at the gateway to Old San Juan is for sophisticated travelers that appreciate the fine art of hospitality. Inspired by the intimate 'town hotels' of Europe, rooms and elegant suites feature contemporary luxury designed by NoNo Maldonado. Exclusive penthouse suite with private terrace, spa-bath and keyed elevator access. Concierge-level service, free continental breakfast, flat-panel TVs, free Wi-Fi in the Lobby and public parking garages are nearby. Enjoy creative international cuisine at our acclaimed Panza Restaurant. We are 5 minutes away form cruise dock 1,2,3,4. We are in the heart of Old San Juan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cervantes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cervantes Hotel San Juan
Cervantes San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing