We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service and Location”
Review of Cervantes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cervantes
Ranked #25 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We stayed at Cervantes just for a night before we traveled to Culebra. We got upgraded to the Presidential Suite which was very unexpected. The room occupied the whole 6th floor with our own balcony and jacuzzi. It was very beautiful!! The hotel staffs were very friendly and helpful and the location was very convenient to everything! The only downside we had was the Wifi service. They only have Wifi at the lobby but none in the room which I think it's very inconvenient...

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sagicaprio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CervantesprGM, Front Office Manager at Cervantes, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Sagicaprio,
We're very glad you enjoyed your complimentary upgrade to our Presidential Suite. Thank you for the kind words about our staff. Our WIFI in only available in the lobby and that is clearly stated on our Booking.com page. We will definitely take into consideration having it available in our guest rooms. Hope you had a great time in Culebra!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (531)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

277 - 283 of 531 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014

What a great location. Perfect for walking to all the historical sites in old San Juan. The room was very large and the bed so comfy. I would stay here again very close to good restaurants and great shops.

Room Tip: Suite was very roomy stay off the front entrance too many late night parties
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Lori R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CervantesprGM, Front Office Manager at Cervantes, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Lori R,
Thank you for this great review about your recent stay. Old San Juan is a beautiful city and were so glad our location is perfect for exploring it. Until next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This was a very enjoyable hotel. We spent the night before our cruise at Cervantes. The room was very nice. The staff was extremely helpful. It is very convenient. There were many good restaurants located nearby. We will definitely stay there again. Even when we returned from our cruise a week later, they stored our luggage for us while we explored Old Town some more before we caught our flight home.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Hersel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CervantesprGM, Front Office Manager at Cervantes, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Hersel,

So glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Thank you for pointing out our best features, our staff and location. Hope you had a great time on the cruise!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I had a quick meeting in San Juan. Booked this hotel based on reviews. It is safe, clean and beds are comfortable...things most important to me. It was larger than any NYC room. No clock or phone in the room. Location is great for seeing this area of the city or if you are coming on or off a cruise ship. Outside noise was gone by 11pm so I got a good night of rest. Coffee was excellent....but not available until about 8:15am. Many eating options just steps away from the front door. I would stay here again.

Staff was friendly and helpful. Was surprised to only find one person working in the morning - tending to check outs, making coffee and preparing pastry plates. Maybe the guest count was low that day.

this is a good value place!

Room Tip: I had a room facing the back of the hotel. Rooms have a balcony door which is attractive but adds to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beth V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CervantesprGM, Front Office Manager at Cervantes, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Beth V,
We appreciate this great review about your recent stay at our hotel. Our complimentary breakfast is available daily from 8:30am-10:30am. We're very pleased you would stay here again. Looking forward to next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Cute, clean, updated hotel in a great location. The staff members are all super sweet and welcoming. Room service even left us an extra beer our last night. The breakfast is great. It is definitely a carb party, but really tasty and the espresso is great.

Room Tip: Rooms are small. Hot water takes a little while to make it up to the 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brydjitte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CervantesprGM, Front Office Manager at Cervantes, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

brydjitte,
We appreciate that you took the time to write this awesome review. Our location is perfect for those who want to explore Old San Juan by foot or on the complimentary trolley. Thank you for the kind words about our staff!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stayed one night in the Cervantes Hotel, in San Juan, Puerto Rico, after returning from a cruise. We were able to walk to the Cervantes Hotel from the cruise port and even though it was too early to check in they held our luggage so we could go out and explore San Juan. The staff was awesome! Jennifer gave us maps of the city, told us about local transportation, that was free, and said they would place our luggage in our room when it was ready. The staff at the Cervantes was very delightful and helpful. They went out of their way to make us feel comfortable and welcomed. Jennifer was always available for any questions or request, and Joan was serving breakfast with fresh coffee. The Cervantes is a very unique and quaint "Boutique Hotel" with a classy style. Wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
4  Thank kissadoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CervantesprGM, Front Office Manager at Cervantes, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

kissadoll,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay in our hotel in one of our beautiful Standard Queen rooms. We will share the kind words with Jennifer & Joan. We hope next time you can stay longer. The pictures are great! Until next time....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

The service was exceptional from front desh staff. Breakfast was lacking fresh fruit or simple eggs, as most of us shy away from the bad carbs: breads, croissants, pastries! Overall cleanliness was fair, carpet in suite was stained in several places. Bed was comfy and bathroom well-appointed. Would return for sure!

Room Tip: Try to upgrade to a suite. No views from rooms other than streets. Walking distance to everywhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mondodigio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CervantesprGM, Front Office Manager at Cervantes, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Mondodigio,
Our Penthouse Suite is a beautiful room and we are so glad you enjoyed it. Housekeeping has been informed about the carpet and they will be working diligently on that. Our complimentary Continental Breakfast includes fresh pastries and good coffee. On the weekends, we add cereal, fruit cups and yogurts. Thank you for pointing out our staff and location as they are our best assets. Can't wait until your next stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.3 mi away
Decanter Hotel
Decanter Hotel
#3 of 47 in San Juan
230 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Terraza de San Juan
La Terraza de San Juan
#7 of 47 in San Juan
773 reviews
0.1 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#5 of 47 in San Juan
964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan
0.1 mi away
Da House Hotel
Da House Hotel
#28 of 47 in San Juan
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cervantes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cervantes

Address: Recinto Sur #329 | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#10 Family Hotel in San Juan
Price Range: £103 - £454 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cervantes 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cervantes boutique hotel at the gateway to Old San Juan is for sophisticated travelers that appreciate the fine art of hospitality. Inspired by the intimate 'town hotels' of Europe, rooms and elegant suites feature contemporary luxury designed by NoNo Maldonado. Exclusive penthouse suite with private terrace, spa-bath and keyed elevator access. Concierge-level service, free continental breakfast, flat-panel TVs, free Wi-Fi in the Lobby and public parking garages are nearby. Enjoy creative international cuisine at our acclaimed Panza Restaurant. We are 5 minutes away form cruise dock 1,2,3,4. We are in the heart of Old San Juan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cervantes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cervantes Hotel San Juan
Cervantes San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing