We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Late Night Treat”
Review of Basilia - CLOSED

Basilia
Price range: US$8 - US$15
Cuisines: Caribbean, Puerto Rican
Dining options: After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Late Night Treat”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

It was a late night and we were looking for a good place to eat. Basilia was not far from our hotel and the price seemed right. They had free valet parking which was a plus as well. The paella, the codfish critters and the empanadas were delicious. The rum punch had a nice kick to it. The service was good as well. It was an unexpected stop, but worth it. It definitely hit the spot for our late night munchies!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    41
    16
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Comida muy rica!”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I come to Puerto Rico every year (grew up here) and always enjoy the food it offers. I am always searching for some new place to eat, and this one hit the spot. Basilia's just openend next to Bebo's and it's very good! (Both of these restaurants are great!). This is what you would consider home cooking (cocina criolla), good portions, good prices, laid back and casual, full of locals and tourists who come to enjoy some delicious and flavorful food.
I went back twice for the same dish! Arañitas (shredded plantain in the shape of a basket) with seafood in garlic sauce inside. All my companions enjoyed what they ordered too! Will come back.
There are two Basilias, this one on Loiza Street (Condado), and another one in Isla Verde.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda17NewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nyc
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“something different”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

very good Haitian/Dominican restaurant in the heart of isla verde. the prices good and the food is flavorful. i suggest you try the roast pork or bbq ribs with rice and beans.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mrcopa2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very good food in Isla Verde!”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We stopped by here after parasailing on the beach nearby. What great luck we had! The waitress was very attentive and did a great job keeping our glasses full and attending to every need. The food was delicious, especially for the price!!!! I think this restaurant should be ranked in the top 10!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DocDaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, MD
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Reasonably-Priced Yet Excellent”
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

This is a great place for lunch, if you're staying in Isla Verde and the food is terrific. The Ensalada Caribbean is light and very tasty with chicken. The signature dish is the Arroz Con Pollo and that is also excellent, but a little heavy for lunch. The wraps were also good and came with fried plantains. The rum punch was among the best we've had. Service was very good and the restaurant was not crowded. This is a great and convenient alternative to an expensive hotel lunch. I am sure dinner here would be equally nice.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank rugbyroadster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Basilia also viewed

 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing