We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gem of a Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Da House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Da House Hotel
Ranked #26 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
brooklyn, ny
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Gem of a Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012

Gem of a Hotel. Not expensive and in a great part of Old San Juan. Near all the restaurants. Nice Bar/Music Venue downstairs. a 24 hour rooftop with a hot tub. Helpful front desk. Noisy at times, but it didn't bother us. In general Old San Juan is a sleepy place at night. Glad we found this place

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hmhchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    233
    105
    43
    39
See reviews for
27
355
51
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

If you don't mind being in the center of things -- including above a salsa spot (but they have rooms facing the courtyard which are very quiet) this is the place to be in the PR. For the record, the salsa club (Nuyorican cafe) rocks! They had amazing live bands, and wonderfully experienced dancers to watch. It was tight but not too crowded; I would recommend checking it out!

The hotel showcases great artwork on their walls. It was neat to stay in a hotel/gallery. The rooms had high ceilings and shuttered windows. They were very clean and comfortable, as well as stylish. The staff was incredibly nice. They were happy to make recommendations of local restaurants or things to do. Overall the ambiance was very inviting.

There is a cute roof deck with a hot tub if you want to hang out in the hotel in the evenings. The location is very central ... overall this spot was great and I'd head back any time.

Only caution -- If you want to go to bed at 10 pm or have kids, this is *not* the spot for you! I would imagine it would be very loud and uncomfortable.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Aida82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

Magical place with lots of character. Artistic and tasteful decor together with old detailing of colonial architecture create an incredible charm that transport a traveller into another era. Even the famous noise from the club downstairs can become a part of the ambience and cease being a bother at all. Hot tub on the roof is a cherry on top. Great location, very friendly and helpful staff. The only comment I can make on the negative side is that internet service is irregular and wi-fi is only availabe in the lobby, however the lobby is very beautiful and pleasant.

Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Itille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

We chose Da House because it was very cheap. The staff were friendly and the room was basic but everything that we wanted and, honestly, great for the price. We knew that the hotel had some potential issues with noise, so we selected a room listed as 'mostly quiet' - room 409. In truth, the room was mostly noisy and we did struggle with getting to sleep. If you are intending to be up late in San Juan, this is a great hotel option. If you are intending to be in bed before 2am, you might be more interested in somewhere a bit quieter!

Room Tip: Room 409 is on the way to the roof, so people can be walking by late at night when something is goin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlistairWard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

It is A destination. I enter in a time capsule and the imagination caresses images of old times... Either business or pleasure, Da House is MY PLACE when I go home to Puerto Rico. I am in a quiet alley that turns into a fun and vivacious corner of Old San Juan at night. The magic sights of colonial times are in every step you take thru the old town.

Room Tip: If you want quiet, interior rooms far from the party. If you love the street scene, get a room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SEYBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
106 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

Fantastic little boutique hotel. Beautifully decorated with artwork all around the rooms and building. Great stay for pre-cruise and don't miss the view the hot tub on the rooftop. No tv in the rooms and the water pressure was on the weak side. Bed was amazingly comfortable and the staff is very nice.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EverywhereAndBack01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

Pros:
This hotel has a lot of character and is located in an excellent spot in Old San Juan. It is within walking distance of everything there is to see in OSJ and is also close to the taxi stand and bus terminal. The front desk staff is generally helpful and give good suggestions.

Cons:
However, be very sure you do not want to change your reservation when you are booking your stay because the fee to modify or cancel is $100. This is not stated anywhere in the reservation receipt or on their website, but it is what it is. For example, if this hotel gets too loud for you, and you want to shorten your stay, there will be a $100 fine.

We stayed in Room 306. We paid $120 for it instead of a regular $100 room because the picture showed a beautiful sitting area. The sitting area was an absolute misrepresentation and not worth the extra $20 at all. The biggest problem with the room was the air conditioning which was non-adjustable and set on Arctic temperatures. We called the front desk twice to adjust it and nothing was done. My boyfriend loves freezing at night, but it was too cold, even for him. Shivering compounded with the unbelievably loud music coming from outside (we live in NYC and sleep soundly every night with the windows open) made sleeping, even with their famous purple ear plugs, absolutely impossible. FYI, the music doesn't stop until 5 am and starts again just before 10 am!

The floors were not very clean, the towels were stained and thin, and the shower would not stay at one temperature. These things did not bother me but others might be concerned.

If you're planning a day trip or tour that requires waking up in the morning. Do not stay here. If you are coming to PR for a vacation to relax - stay at a beach resort! We stayed here the night we wanted to go out in Old San Juan and did not have to get up early the next morning. It worked perfectly for us, but think carefully if it will for you. There is no way I could have committed to staying here for our entire vacation.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank powered_by_moogie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan
0.0 mi away
Hotel Milano
Hotel Milano
#34 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cervantes
Cervantes
#23 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Terraza de San Juan
La Terraza de San Juan
#12 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
0.3 mi away
Decanter Hotel
Decanter Hotel
#3 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.0 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#9 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Da House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Da House Hotel

Property: Da House Hotel
Address: 312 Plaza San Francisco | Old San Juan, San Juan 00927-5812, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Da House Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Old San Juan, above legendary cafe teatro The Nuyorican Cafe, we offer clean, comfortable, eclectic accommodations in a friendly, vibrant setting that is reminiscent of the character of hostels in great European cities like Amsterdam, Paris or Barcelona. In the 1970s this beautiful four story building in colonial Old San Juan housed the Centro Nacional de las Artes. The Centro was an artist collective that ran an art gallery and workshops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Da House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Da Hotel San Juan
Da San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing