We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun, Artsey Place!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Da House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Da House Hotel
Ranked #27 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
St. Croix
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fun, Artsey Place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

I was greeted at the Hotel by one of the owners, Gwen, who ran me through the routine with the doors ect. She was super friendly and nice. The location is perfect, right across from a church and a pretty plaza. Close to Plaza Colon and Parrot Club. The upstairs lobby where the internet is available was really sweet, with antique type of furnishings. It's a lovely, charming old building. I paid extra for room 202, an interior room because I had read about the noise factor. There was a "Mohito Party" on the rooftop that night which was super fun, it's gorgeous up there, don't miss it! My room was surprisingly very quiet, nice and clean and comfy with cool artworks on the walls. The whole place has a super great vibe. Perfect hotel if you want to be in the heart of the party and join in. The next door salsa club is WAY FUN, so don't miss it!

Room Tip: Interior rooms are best for a good sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kindred_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    232
    104
    43
    39
See reviews for
26
351
51
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

We flew into San Juan the night before our cruise and were just looking for some place to sleep. Every where else I looked was 2-3 times the cost or required a 2 night stay. Didn't need anything special but a bed and bathroom. This place was perfect. The only thing I would have liked was a hair drier in the room. I didn't pack one since there was one on the ship. The guy at the front desk was really helpful in keeping our bags so we could see Old Town before heading to the ship and made a great lunch suggestion.

- They do not have an elevator. If you can't carry your own bags, don't stay here.
- They do not have resort amenities. If you must have your pool and other luxuries, don't stay here.
- They do not have TVs or Wifi. If you have to be connected, don't stay here.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Krista M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

This hotel was suggested to us by neighbors as a funky place to stay. Price was great and they were very accommodating to give us rooms close by for us and our kids. Decor was cool, the roof deck was nice, and the artisan shop downstairs was neat. The location was in a fun area of town. But, if you want to get some sleep, this is not the place to stay. The bar downstairs, Nuyorica, has live music every night until the wee hours, so if your room is on the exterior, you will experience the music and the audience for a long time. We did know that going in, but were still a little surprised at how long it lasted and how loud it was. But, we still enjoyed it!

Room Tip: An interior room will mean less noise. Our kids didn't even hear the music.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1028VanessaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffersonville, Vermont
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

Reserved three rooms for our Puerto Rico family vacation, we were not disappointed. Interesting decor, beautiful art, clean and comfortable rooms, helpful staff, right in the center of Old San Juan. Everyone in our group enjoyed the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SandiMarriott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern Ontario
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

Just got back from San Juan and took time to review recent Da House posts. I am amazed that people who have complained did not do their research first. This is not a hotel where you can put your feet up and relax. This is a genuine old town hotel that is right smack in the middle of old San Juan and it is right above a Salsa Bar, just as advertised. We did the research and knew what we were getting into. So, we knew we had to either enjoy the salsa nite life, (you ARE in San Juan) or you can complain about the noise and go somewhere else.

You can walk from here to the port to catch your cruise, a slew of unique restaurants and standard tourist type shops. You can also walk to the old forts. Its true, there is no elevator, yet they never claimed to have an elevator. Its true, the rooms are small, yet the photos show small rooms, its true that the hot tub looks filled in, they never claimed to have a hot tub. The views from the roof top are great though. You can even store your luggage there if you have to check out before your cruise leaves. So, enjoy Da House, you wont find a better price, or better entertainment.

Be aware of what you are looking for and you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 2041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Onyx
Level Contributor
103 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

First off, I really hate to write negative reviews, unless seriously warranted. Da Hotel, in Old San Juan, Puerto Rico needs some serious help.

Let me start with the amenities: for a room for two, there is one wash cloth and one hand towel. There are no, I mean NO water glasses supplied, so if you get thirsty, you pretty much have to wrap your lips around the faucet in the sink. That do not have an ice machine anywhere in the building. Although they tout their roof-top deck, it consists of couple of broken-down lawn chairs and a hot tub that appears to have been boarded up for years. I personally would not put up my dog in this place.

No televisions, no refreshments, and without doubt, the noiseiest hotel I have ever stayed in. Seriously noisy!! Last night, there was hooting and hollering until 4:00 am - no exaggerating at all. And the noise wasn't like it was down the block -- it was in the ally right next door.

I am going to try to find the owner tomorrow morning and give him a wake-up call. This was totally assinine, and if I can prevent someone from making the same mistake as me, then I have served Trip Advisor properly. If you are a non believer, I can do nothing but pity you!

Room Tip: Skip this hotel entirely!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank RogerF679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

I booked this from a Southwest Airlines deal. They should be ashamed for offering the deal and anyone booking it should be warned that this is strictly for party animals. Complaints:

*The room had no soap or shampoo or plastic cups.
*The room was on the 4th floor and no elevators.
*No help with the bags up or down when leaving.
*The hotel is above a Salsa Bar - huge noise level IN YOUR ROOM until 4AM.
*The room was dusty and dirty.

Although we had prepaid two nights, we left after one night and got a decent hotel in Condado.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms. They are all above the Salsa club.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan
0.1 mi away
Hotel Milano
Hotel Milano
#34 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cervantes
Cervantes
#23 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Decanter Hotel
Decanter Hotel
#9 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Terraza de San Juan
La Terraza de San Juan
#11 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
0.0 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#8 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Da House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Da House Hotel

Property: Da House Hotel
Address: 312 Plaza San Francisco | Old San Juan, San Juan 00927-5812, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Da House Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Old San Juan, above legendary cafe teatro The Nuyorican Cafe, we offer clean, comfortable, eclectic accommodations in a friendly, vibrant setting that is reminiscent of the character of hostels in great European cities like Amsterdam, Paris or Barcelona. In the 1970s this beautiful four story building in colonial Old San Juan housed the Centro Nacional de las Artes. The Centro was an artist collective that ran an art gallery and workshops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Da House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Da Hotel San Juan
Da San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing