We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and Charming!”
Review of Da House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Da House Hotel
Ranked #29 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Out of a full week stay in Puerto Rico, Da House was by far my favorite hotel. Very unique and charming with excellent service! If you are the type of person who hates a brand new, standard boring hotel, Da House is for you! The entire place has so much character from the worn wooden accents to the mismatched tiles and funky original art. The staff are quick to help you with anything you need and make great recommendations. Perfect location, too.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hsquiers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (607)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 607 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

The staff was very friendly and helpful. Checked in well after mid night and it was smooth. Great location in the heart of Old San Juan so everything is walkable. Roof top is awesome to chill and have drinks. Unfortunately the hot tube was broke.
Loud. If you sleep light or turn in early do not stay here. There is a party everywhere in OSJ and it goes late.
Rooms were average. Could use some tlc but this wasn't the Ritz so it had character.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mickey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

I have to say - the location is excellent. You can walk everywhere in Old San Juan from there. However, a room for 2 people was fine in size, but we had one towel. We had to ask multiple times for extra towels and washcloths. There is no elevator. I had a very large suitcase and that was a pain moving that. Then (to no fault of the hotel) there was a main water pipe break in Old San Juan. We were asked to move rooms and then lied to about the water situation. First we were told we had enough water for a day and a half. Then another staff member told us maybe a few more hours. I just don't like being lied to. We got a refund for the extra days, rented a car and drove to another part of the island. We had a room already booked for when we were flying out. It was disgusting. And I am pretty sure there was blood on the desk in the room. the shower was filthy. there was hair everywhere. I do not think I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lesliehein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Really nice and helpful staff, they were great! Loved my stay here because it's like being a local in Old San Juan. Really nice vibe, it felt like I was in my house. The Nuyorican Cafe is right next door and the salsa music is so good, it doesn't event bother you at night. It's the most economic place in Old San Juan with the best location!! LOved it.

Room Tip: 402 and 403 are really nice room!! Remember no elevators!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MariPabon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Very nice boutique hotel in the heart of Old San Juan. The ONLY downside was not having an elevator and having a room on the 4th floor. BUT, we had an amazing large balcony patio right off our room. About 4 doors from Da House is a very nice local breakfast/lunch diner and you are right in the middle of everything. The rooms are described when booking based on how quiet or noisy they are. We has the quiet room on the 4th floor, as I also mentioned, with the Huge Balcony/Patio. The room has a small refrigerator, a desk, a sitting area, some storage for clothes and a large shower. We would definitely stay here again! There is a salsa club that is near this hotel and is why the rooms are marked noisy (right next to the party) or quiet (Away from the party). So pay attention when you book. This was also just a 5-7 minute walk all downhill from the Carnival Cruise Pier. We wheeled our luggage down with minimal effort.

Room Tip: Room 402 is the most quiet room and has the Large Balcony Patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

We booked ahead of time and got a good rate. Front desk staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The room is small and the building is a walk-up with no elevator, but the rate, location and friendly staff made up for the shortcomings. I would like the hotel to add just a foldable frame for placing the baggage. We have a room on 4th floor facing inside of the building and noise is not a problem.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Panda2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Reasonable value and good location. Friendly and helpful staff. Wifi limited to shared area. Nice arty decor. No lift. Simple and clean. Acoustics of building and proximity to dance bar will be a real issue for some people.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank ExphilipX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#5 of 47 in San Juan
975 reviews
0.3 mi away
Decanter Hotel
Decanter Hotel
#3 of 47 in San Juan
236 reviews
5.8 mi away
Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico
Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico
#30 of 47 in San Juan
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Acacia Boutique Hotel
Acacia Boutique Hotel
#32 of 47 in San Juan
642 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Wave Hotel Condado
The Wave Hotel Condado
#16 of 47 in San Juan
171 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Terraza de San Juan
La Terraza de San Juan
#9 of 47 in San Juan
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Da House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Da House Hotel

Address: 312 Calle de San Francisco | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901-1720, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in San Juan
Price Range: £77 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Da House Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Old San Juan, above legendary cafe teatro The Nuyorican Cafe, we offer clean, comfortable, eclectic accommodations in a friendly, vibrant setting that is reminiscent of the character of hostels in great European cities like Amsterdam, Paris or Barcelona. In the 1970s this beautiful four story building in colonial Old San Juan housed the Centro Nacional de las Artes. The Centro was an artist collective that ran an art gallery and workshops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Da House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Da Hotel San Juan
Da San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing