We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Deal - Great Location”
Review of Da House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Da House Hotel
Ranked #29 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Reviewed 20 April 2009

Me and my girflriend, in our mid 20's, stayed here for two nights. I had done my research before hand and new what to expect and the guy at the front desk also informed us of the noise that would be going on at night. However we loved being close to the nightlife and enjoyed the ambiance of the club and this hotel. Roof top was a great place to go to and relax. Location of this place is awsome you can easily walk to all of the great places in old san juan, and the price is very reasonable. Dont go here expecting to spend a lot of time in your room, this is not the place for you. This is a great place for those who are looking for a great value and a great location, def geared for a younger crowd. Would def go back here. Wouldnt probably stay though more than 2 nights as the rooms are relatively small and can get cramped with luggage and anything else.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank simonie83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (606)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

455 - 461 of 606 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2009

We arrived at Da House Hotel around 1:30 a.m. on a Saturday night. So the salsa club next door was in full swing when we got there, and were greeted by a friendly crowd of "clubbers". The guy at front desk said the club is usually open till 4 or 5 in the morning. Being a light sleeper we had chosen room 401 (Carlos Irizarry), and it was not noisy at all. I could lightly hear the beat of the music but I didn't even need my earplugs.
The room was great. Nicely decorated, a/c, and comfy bed. Great value for what we paid in the heart of Old San Juan. We would definitely stay here again. We stayed here precruise and they held our bags for us for the day ($5) while we explored Old San Juan. It was an easy 5-10 minute walk with our luggage to the cruise terminal. The only downside of our stay here was the rooftop hot tub wasn't working, but beautiful views from up there; there was no shampoo/conditioner for the shower - just a bar of soap; and the hall was a little noisy outside of our room in the morning. Which I guess is to be expected with tile floors and high ceilings for sound to travel off of; and the 4 flights of stairs can either be seen as a bother or a workout! All in all it was a great stay. We loved it!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunbeam_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2009

The Good
Bed was very comfortable. Small room (#304 Manolo Diaz), tight bathroom, but functional.
Easy foot access to all of Old San Juan.
Great restaurants mere blocks away.
They held our bags for free until our room was ready when we arrived.
Cheaper than many other places.

The Bad
Not terribly clean.
A/C had two settings: frigid and off!
Unbelievable noise! We didn’t go to Old San Juan to hear two nights of Techno noise/music. Partying, yelling, cursing (and at least 1 fight) started around 7PM, and continued to 4 AM. Some drunken girl was practicing her F-curses above the din for 30-60 minutes the first night in the early hours of the morning. Then the clean-up guys banged chairs and tables out in the alley until 4:30. Peace and quiet until 6AM, when someone fired up a pressure washer to clean (various liquid substances from the night before?) from the alley. When we asked for a different room for the second night, they said they were all booked up, and gave us earplugs.
One floor walk-up to the lobby, and then one or more floors to the rooms. If you plan to stay there prior to a cruise as we did, think about humping all your suitcases up and down by yourselves.

The Ugly
Upon check-in, the guy behind the counter took our information, including credit card, but then wanted us to sign a completely blank credit card receipt. He explained that, since Da Hotel fancies themselves as part hotel, part art gallery, they wanted something for security, should a guest choose to steal or deface the “art” in the room. Upon check-out, after inspecting the room, they would tear up the blank card pressing. I offered to sign if they wrote down something like “$250 refundable damage deposit”, but he refused. As we were getting ready to walk out, he said that there was another alternative. We could leave one of our passports in the hotel safe. Since this is a standard practice in Europe, we agreed. At the end, we had about 1 hour between check-out time and the time we needed to get a cab to our cruise ship. They insisted on $5.00 to hold our bags for that time, which we had no choice but to pay. P.S.: They never checked the room before returning my passport.

Despite the comments about noise, we chose Da House for its location and price. We decided to take a chance after another traveler on TripAdvisor commented that the music was loud, but he liked it. We were anticipating Caribbean music, but boy were we wrong! Try putting on some Techno music with the pulsing bass for one night at home until 4:30, and see whether you can sleep. If you can, and can live with the other issues above, or want to be one of the drunks making noise outside the windows, this might be your kind of place. Oh, and the art? My wife is a professional artist. Neither she nor I were impressed with anything we saw anywhere in Da House. I’ve posted a couple pictures of the priceless treasures in our room. You know, the ones that would have required our signing a blank credit card receipt!

Two restaurants in the area bear mentioning. Around the block from Da House is Café San Juan. Try the Mofongo for lunch. Also, just around the corner is a little bakery/coffee shop, the Mallorca Café. They make a wonderful breakfast sandwich (called a “Mallorca”) on a sweet roll that is out of this world.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank russknan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2009

Nothing could convey our excitement as my girlfriends and I walked into this hotel. The posh check in area, the no frills, super friendly attitude of the staff. Everything was perfect. We arrived very early, before the rooms were ready, and we were able to store our luggage and change in a room that was not being used - we came from New England in jeans and sweaters! When we came back to head to our rooms. One word. Speachless! They were stunning! Minimalist, but beautifully decorated and apointed with local art.

The rooftop deck and hot tub was a total bonus, I only wish we were able to use it more than we had time to! It was great for a morning sun and wake up.

We had an excellent stay. However, I do digress as I personally had a rough time sleeping due to the night club outside, but we knew this going into it, so no big deal. Nothing a little rum and some ear plugs couldn't cure!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KrysyGT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2009

We stayed at La Caleta Guesthouse, owned & operated by Da House. The location is absolutely fabulous, down the street from El Convento on caleta de las monjas, in a quarter of OSJ that is charming, historic, quiet & really, really beautiful. Our rooms/apt(#16, not all the rooms are ready yet) was 3 flights up, with a balcony that overlooked a cobblestone street, beautiful colonial homes, a tiny park with swaying trees, a monument, & an expansive view of the bays which was a stones throw away. The building itself is lovely & when fixed up will be a gem. However, the building is, (and we were informed of this), a work in progress. It did not bother us that the stairs were stripped of carpet or that they were paint stained, or that the air/light well space of the bldg's interior area was filled with hanging wires & wood & stucco in disrepair. What was difficult was the lack of any onsite person, & with no phones (our cells were inoperative) when something was a problem (the AC dripped water, there was no working electric outlet for a lamp next to the bed, there was no light in the closet, we needed another pillow etc), we had to go to da house to talk with someone. The price was amazing for the location & space (a bedroom w/ a queen bed, a bathroom, a tiny & really not developed or equipped enough kitchen to do much beyond make tea, and a living room/dining area with that amazing balcony. We worked around the problems, we slept on a double futon couch in the living room to avoid the dripping AC, & we spent a lot of time enjoying our balcony view. Once finished & fully functioning (with staff etc) this place will probably cost a fortune. Would i recommend this place? Yes, provided you know what the current limitations are. And of course, in time i am sure, given how artful & well run Da House is, this place will be amazing.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bluetigereyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2009

So we took the chance due to price and location and gave Da House a try. We have a 3 year old and 6 year old. We asked for an interior room to avoid the noise. On Sunday night we went to bed at 9 PM and there was no music. We woke up around 1:30 AM to a light bass sound of music, kids slept through it no problem and we fell asleep quickly. Monday night we heard nothing.

We loved the location, close to everything. We walked to the piers by the cruise ships, walked to El Morro, walked to the San Jose de Bautista. It is a great location for getting around.

The rooms are not the cleanest, not dirty though. The roof was wonderful for sitting with a drink while the kids played in the cold tub. (someone else called it a hot tub, when we went up the water was about 70-75.) Our AC did not work right, it was too cold and we could not get it adjusted. The stairs are steep.

As others have stated, if you want a unique experience in the heart of it all, Da House is great. It will have some quirks but that is what I expect for a place at this price. If you need pampering, keep looking.

Side note, we found a nice restaurant, Mirabueno that was one block to the north, great Mofongo and Mojitos. We recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank badger_red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed at Da House for a few nights in mid-March and we loved it - it was the perfect location for exploring Old San Juan - close to the sights and great restaurants. We especially liked being next to the salsa club - we listened to live music and danced every night, and then went upstairs and crashed. We had a room on the second floor and the noise didn't bother us at all - I guess we're heavy sleepers. The room was the cheapest they had and pretty basic, but clean and well-maintained. We also enjoyed the hot tub on the roof with the views of Old San Juan.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz0998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan
0.1 mi away
Cervantes
Cervantes
#25 of 47 in San Juan
531 reviews
0.0 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#5 of 47 in San Juan
969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Decanter Hotel
Decanter Hotel
#3 of 47 in San Juan
232 reviews
2.8 mi away
Coral Princess Hotel
Coral Princess Hotel
#14 of 47 in San Juan
940 reviews
2.6 mi away
El Canario by the Lagoon
El Canario by the Lagoon
#21 of 47 in San Juan
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Da House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Da House Hotel

Address: 312 Calle de San Francisco | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901-1720, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range: £77 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Da House Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Old San Juan, above legendary cafe teatro The Nuyorican Cafe, we offer clean, comfortable, eclectic accommodations in a friendly, vibrant setting that is reminiscent of the character of hostels in great European cities like Amsterdam, Paris or Barcelona. In the 1970s this beautiful four story building in colonial Old San Juan housed the Centro Nacional de las Artes. The Centro was an artist collective that ran an art gallery and workshops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Da House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Da Hotel San Juan
Da San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing