We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Hotel!”
Review of Da House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Da House Hotel
Ranked #26 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A Great Hotel!”
Reviewed 6 February 2010

I stayed at Da House for one night with my boyfriend and 4 of our friends. We really liked this hotel! I have a hard time understanding why someone who needs a hotel with many amenities would book a very inexpensive hotel in an old city without thoroughly researching it. If you are considering staying at Da House, read a number of the reviews here on Trip Advisor and you should be able to easily tell if this hotel is for you. It is certainly not for everyone, but for less than half the cost of many other rooms in the city, it can be a great choice!

LOCATION: The location of the hotel is great...it is close to many, many great bars and restaurants and popular sites such as the forts. We stayed out late and did not feel unsafe in the area at all.

ROOMS: The rooms were clean and comfortable. They were not especially large, but were more than adequate for our needs and what I would expect staying in a city hotel. We also enjoyed the art by local artists. As other reviewers have mentioned, there is no shampoo, lotion, etc. in the bathrooms, so you'll have to bring that with you or purchase it at the many stores in the area around the hotel. There is definitely noise at night, but at least in our room (304) it was about the same level as if someone had a tv on which I can fall asleep to...especially after a long day of walking around the city!

HOTEL STAFF: The staff were friendly and helpful. They had no issue holding our bags until check in with no charge and called cabs for us to take us to the airport after checkout so we wouldn't have to wait on the street. Check in and check out were quick and painless.

GENERAL HOTEL: As other reviewers have mentioned, there is no elevator and no bell boy so you'll have to bring your luggage up the stairs yourself. As we travel light, this was not a problem for us at all. We enjoyed the rooftop area. It is open 24 hours and the hotel staff told us that we could bring any beer, wine, etc. up there to enjoy. The jacuzzi is just a jacuzzi, not a hot tub, so it's a little chilly to use late at night.

Overall, this hotel is clean, comfortable and in a great location in Old San Juan. If you're looking just for a clean, convenient, reasonably priced place to sleep each night, then this is definitely the hotel for you. If you are looking for room service and someone to carry your luggage, then you will need to spend more money and stay somewhere else. We don't need any extras in a hotel, so for us, Da House was perfect!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mau_nj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    234
    105
    43
    39
See reviews for
27
357
52
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2010

This has been the worst hotel we have ever stayed in till today. we travel regularly and have been living in 2 star to 5 star hotels. This is the first time we did not get any sleep. The only reason we chose this hotel was beacuse it is in Old san Juan very close to our cruise pier.

First of all, there is no elevator!
The reception is on first floor (almost 2 modern floors due to long ancient staircases). We had to carry our heavy luggages ourselves.
The receptionist were not so helpful.
There is no restaurant. So no breakfast. The streets are scarry in the night especially if you eat late.
The worst of all .... there was loud music playing all night long. We heard loud music, people using abusive language on the streets below, screams, ambulance sirens, etc, etc. all night long. We could not sleep at all.
When we were in the room, in the evening, somebody suddenly entered in the room. (probably some other guest). When we contacted the receptionist, she did not even apologise and stated that the other receptionist might have given our room key to someone else by mistake... ridiculous.
All the furniture was very rickety.
bathroom was too small.
And they told us there is jacuzzi on the terrace... it was a small tub with full of sand and dirt inside.. unbelievable.. i do not understand how they can even tell the guests to use this jacuzzi.
And for all this ..... around 100 $....DISGUSTING

PLEASE AVOID USING THIS HOTEL

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ramkamat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2010

The location was very good and the room kind of cute. But the noise was terrible even with good earplugs. There were not any drinking glasses in the room, let alone shampoo in the bathroom. We asked the desk for ice--and they recommended we go to the supermarket to get some. We asked for a wine opener and they couldn't even find one to loan us. They also charged $5 to store our bags for a couple of hours. I definitely would not recommend Da House.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingtwo-3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2010

I found Da House on TripAdivsor when doing research for my trip to Puerto Rico. The majority of the reviewers seemed to be very pleased, and based on the very affordable rates, my boyfriend and I booked the hotel. Being young and on a rather tight budget, we were not disappointed. We were smack dab in the middle of Old San Juan; which is, without a doubt, where you want to stay.

No transportation is needed from this hotel. You are literally walking distance away from charming shops and wonderful restaurants. The hotel itself was very nicely decorated, with a plethra of local art displayed. The style, although fairly sophisticated and "bohemian", was a bit cold for my taste. The floors are all a very practical, visually appealing, but not so comfortable, tile. The furniture was more for display than lounging. It was truly a place to sleep and not much else--this worked out well for us, but not for the traveler who enjoys their lounge time.

The real issue was the leak coming from the shower, which caused a very unpleasant mold odor. We did our best to air the room out, but there wasn't much circulation considering how open everything is. Upon checkout, we informed a young man at the desk. Somehow, I doubt any action was taken towards repairs, based on his look of disinterest.

When it came down to it, the bed was doable (no back or neck aches), the staff was friendly and fairly helpful (check-in/out was a breeze), the price was extremely reasonable, and the location was aces.

While you're there, visit the restaurant (sorry, forgot the name) across the street from Da House. They make a Pina Colada topped with Bailey's that will make you say "Mas, MUCHO Mas!"

For future reference, our room was 312, Heriberto Gonzalez.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hattie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2010

Clean but club next door is very loud until about 4am. Bring toilet paper as they do not provide any if you run out. Staff is detached at best. No elevator so if you are out of shape stay at the Sheraton. Watch out for small transitions in floors. Two people fell while we were there, one sprained an ankle.

  • Liked — not much
  • Disliked — noise at night
  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lash99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tacoma
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2010

Da House is in a great location in Old San Juan and has clean, pleasant rooms with tile floors. There is a hot tub on the roof and a helpful front desk staff. However the noise issue often discussed here is real. We stayed in room 408 and still had problems with earplugs. If noise is a concern of yours, I don't think I would stay here.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Archivist1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2010

My friends and I (eight of us) stayed here for two nights on the second floor. We got three rooms and two of the rooms have windows that overlook the street. Those two rooms have extremely poor sound insulation as the noise and music from the salsa bar directly downstairs and the street outside was easily heard late into the wee hours of the morning. However, the staff is helpful and friendly and the place is nicely furnished. I'd stay in the inside rooms further upstairs if I were to stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teohwp85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan
0.0 mi away
Hotel Milano
Hotel Milano
#35 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cervantes
Cervantes
#23 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Terraza de San Juan
La Terraza de San Juan
#10 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
0.3 mi away
Decanter Hotel
Decanter Hotel
#3 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.0 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#8 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Da House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Da House Hotel

Property: Da House Hotel
Address: 312 Calle de San Francisco | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901-1720, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Da House Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Old San Juan, above legendary cafe teatro The Nuyorican Cafe, we offer clean, comfortable, eclectic accommodations in a friendly, vibrant setting that is reminiscent of the character of hostels in great European cities like Amsterdam, Paris or Barcelona. In the 1970s this beautiful four story building in colonial Old San Juan housed the Centro Nacional de las Artes. The Centro was an artist collective that ran an art gallery and workshops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Da House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Da Hotel San Juan
Da San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing