We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, perfect for a true experience”
Review of Posada Colonial

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Posada Colonial
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the front upstairs apartment with the two beds. It was a great way to experience San Juan. It is within walking distance to several restaurants and stores. Just hop on bus T5 and it will take you to old San Juan for $.75. Easy walk to the beach. The neighborhood does appear a little rough, but we never had any problems at all. Highly recommend.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank Eric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 177 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2014

My family and I stay in Posada for 12 great days,spacious apartment well furnished,good neiborhood,excellent host.The location gives a the travelers choices to go to old san Juan,Condado,Isla Verde or if want to experience Puerto Rico major highways are close and easy access.I have recomended this place to friends who are planning to go to the Island,and to any reader of this review it will be a great experience im going back next year to have more fun

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alexander M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

The Posada is located between Isla Verde and El Condado, the two main San Juan tourist strips, but the neighborhood is working class neighborhood. 15 minutes from the Posada puts you at several beaches, old San Juan, Plaza Las Americas Mall and many great restaurants. The main east/west highway (26) is two blocks away.

All that said, we stayed in the downstairs apartment. It was listed for up to 4 people. We had 3 staying and 2 visiting during the day. We found it tight. There is no real sitting area, the TV is in the bedroom. The kitchen has basic items. You will need to pick up food and paper goods. You are given the sheets and two towels for each person.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank magjek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We stayed here for four nights in the back front apartment. It was spacious, furnished, even had a kitchen and pots and pans and cooking utensils, and silverware and all that. AC was good, it was in a pretty safe neighborhood in Condado/Ocean Park, about maybe 25 min by bus to Old San Juan. You can walk to Playa Ocean Park in like five minutes, which was amazing. There's a very friendly cat on the premises. It was a very comfortable stay, and the hosts/owners were kind enough to pick us up from the airport and drop us off with no extra charge. Only complaint is that the wifi didn't work for our entire stay, and the water pressure in the shower was basically just a trickle, and it was lukewarm at best.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank boogaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

I have to join the other reviewers in stating that Shawn was fantastic - he picked us up from the airport, gave us a short tour, and even gave us a ride home from the grocery store. The location is very close to the beautiful beach and grocery store - walking distance - and the neighborhood is authentic and pretty darn nice. We enjoyed the Puerto Rican experience! I came with me 3 daughters so two of them slept in the bedroom. My other daughter and I slept in the 2 twin trundle beds. To be very honest, I did not sleep well at all. I checked and the twin mattresses are the plastic-covered, inexpensive ones that offer very little support. My daughter agreed. They would be wise to invest in new ones. The other improvement should be the wifi which is very weak. We don't necessarily need to be on Facebook, but we need it to plan and check other details of our trip since we do not have iPhones. All in all, the stay was lovely - great kitchen, great neighborhood, great value, and great hosts. I would certainly recommend.

Room Tip: For two travelers the private room is quiet. If there are more individuals and they are required to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JudyWild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We stayed at the Posada Colonial the first week of June. It was our first trip to PR and we really wanted something off the beaten path. I chose the Posada Colonial because of the reviews. I wanted something where I felt safe yet away from the touristy parts of San Juan. The Posada Colonial was perfect. When we arrived, our host Shawn picked us up from the airport. He gave us a great tour of the neighborhood around the Posada Colonial including the 24 hour grocery store, the public transportation bus stops, lots of great restaurants and bars and also how to get to the beach. The next day, we rented a car so we could see more of the island and Sean was gracious enough to give us a lift to the car rental place. Shawn and his wife, Christiane, were wonderful hosts. We will be returning with other family members in the Fall and I can't wait. We plan to always stay at the Posada Colonial. It has a great location as you can walk to a really fantastic beach, you are close to an exit to get back on the main highway and walking distance to so many restaurants and bars as well. We stayed in the first floor apt that sleeps 4 however there was only me and my husband. The bedroom has the only air conditioner which was great at night. The apt has lots of windows and wonderful breezes. Other reviews spoke of bugs being a problem but not for us. (again we were there the first week of June) There are several cats that live on or around the street. We were adopted by a cat called, "Pillow." I would have smuggled him home if I could have. He was very sweet but never a pest. Overall, I would recommend the Posada Colonial to anyone. The rates are great. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The neighborhood is safe. The hosts, Shawn and Christiane live in the house next door so they are close should you need anything and they are so accommodating. REALLY enjoyed our stay and consider the Posada Colonial our Puerto Rican home. We are talking about moving there when we retire. That's how much we loved it!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank tcloud5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

Stayed here on one of my many trips to PR on business. It was very stylish and comfortable. Sometimes the neighbourhood got noisy, but I expected that. I was able to park on the street. Ocean View is a nice, laid back part of San Juan with easy walking to the beach. The hostess, Christiane was excellent. She was very good with communication before and after my visit, encouraged recycling, and was helpful in every way (although I am pretty self sufficient in PR). The house has been renovated relatively recently but in a very classic Spanish/Puerto Rican style so it feels authentic, but in a stylish and quality way. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank granite_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.2 mi away
Acacia Boutique Hotel
Acacia Boutique Hotel
#33 of 48 in San Juan
646 reviews
1 mi away
Tres Palmas Inn
Tres Palmas Inn
#17 of 48 in San Juan
630 reviews
3.7 mi away
Da House Hotel
Da House Hotel
#29 of 48 in San Juan
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#5 of 48 in San Juan
992 reviews
3.8 mi away
La Terraza de San Juan
La Terraza de San Juan
#12 of 48 in San Juan
780 reviews
3.3 mi away
Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico
Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico
#32 of 48 in San Juan
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Colonial

Address: 108 Calle Perez | Condado / Ocean Park, San Juan 00911-2115, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 26 Speciality Lodging in San Juan
Price Range: £68 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada Colonial 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our goal is to make traveling to the Island Puerto Rico accessible to all. We offer a nice very clean private apartment in a neighborhood near the beach. We are a small family with a house with three independent apartments and we love for people to experience Puertorican life. Includes ac, wireless Internet, cable TV, fully equipped kitchen, washer dryer,(no cost). Once a week cleaning (no extra fee) on request , pickup and drop off at the airport or cruise terminal(no extra fee). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Posada Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Colonial Hotel San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing