We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, but beware of city view rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
Ranked #4 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Falmouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, but beware of city view rooms”
Reviewed 20 March 2011

We stayed for one night (after 6 nights in northwest Puerto Rico) and were overwhelmed by the noise. We made the mistake of trying to save some money and booked a one bedroom suite with a city view on the--bad mistake! The rooms face busy Ashford Avenue and the bars there blast music until 6 a.m. No matter how tightly we closed our balcony slider and even though we were on the 11th floor, the noise coming from the street was overwhelming. Too bad because the bed was super comfy and the room quite cool-- but no relaxation for any of us! The worst $350 we have ever spent on a hotel room. I am sure having an ocean view room would have made all the difference in the world, but this was our experience.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CTorruella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,191
    2,007
    633
    244
    173
See reviews for
1,601
2,877
188
677
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,303)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2011

We came to La Concha after high recommendations from friends/family and positive Trip Advisor reviews. The hotel itself is very clean and modern which I appreciate. The outdoor areas are beautifully designed with tropical features that were really pretty and serene.
There were plenty of sitting areas outside that ranged from couches to chairs and even some beds. The pools were quite small and none of them were heated which made the water pretty cold the days we were there. The beach was the biggest disappointment. The beach was small and the sand was muddy. The water was very rough and we were advised not to swim in the ocean. Which meant that we were stuck by the pool for our stay which was overly crowded (beach chairs an inch apart). The morning is a struggle to find a chair and when you do, you only get a small window of sun as around 4pm the sun gets hidden behind the palm trees and with the high winds, it gets cold.
The bar service beach and poolside were terrible. With the drinks priced so high, you would think they would be pushing them but the 1 time we saw a server it took him almost 40 minutes to return with our drinks. The restaurants at the hotel were mediocre and overpriced. Definitely worth venturing out of for food, there are plenty of options nearby though the 1 that the concierge suggested was not good at all. The view from the oceanfront room was amazing and I highly suggest this upgrade. Even though there is no balcony, the door opens all the way and you hear the sound of the ocean which was great. The hotel is on a main strip with bars, restaurants and stores and only 15 minutes or so from the airport. The staff was all very nice and friendly, though I'm not sure that I trust their suggestions for food nearby.
Overall, we had a nice time but was more of a relaxing business hotel than a leisure resort for me.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NyNeedsAVacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2011

I had the pleasure of staying at the La Concha March 14-17, with 2 other friends and what a blast of a time we had! Everything went quite smoothly from check-in to check out. I arrived before my other two friends, and I checked in with Natalie. She was able to find my reservation, only thing is is that she wasn't able to find the request that I wanted such as high floors, beach view, double beds, etc. She was going to initially put us on the 4th floor but since I told her we wanted a hight floor she put us in a suite, which had a king size bed, and a sofa bed and kitchenette! It also had a balcony view and it was gorgeous! We ended up getting room 978(new tower) which over looked the pool area and ashford ave. It was very quiet, and that could of been since we were there doing the week. With that being said, it was a very large amount of people there.

Didn't get a chance to eat at La Perla but we did eat at the pool bar twice and the food was really good(burgers, steak, drinks, etc). The pool area was very beautiful and the beach area was very relaxing! My friends and I got really good tans! For dinner the second night we ate at The Latin Star down the street near Walgreens. Let me tell you, the food was cheap and good, including their drinks!!! Sometimes the best food is the cheapest food. MInd you my friends and I are all college graduates that have just peaked 30 and we are into having the best.

I wouldn't recommend renting a car, but taxi rides can add up, 13-15 each way. We stayed pretty much in the area unless we went to old san juan. Food was pretty good at Aquaviva in old san juan and its very lively. Oh, and if you do a bike tour, Rent the bicycle with Nancy and Tony is the best ever!!!! They went out of their way from the pick up from the hotel to even going over the tour time. We had a blast with them!! All in all, I am already planning another trip back to PR and La Concha is a must do again!!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank texasg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2011

This is an amazing hotel, with great amenities and great design. It is a great balance between hipness and laid back. We had a little trouble finding the right temp for the room (the A/C blasts quickly and then turns off so it is a bit uneven)....but this was a very minor issue. Our stay was elevated from great to amazing because of the staff, in particular the concierge staff. We arrived at La Concha after spending 3 nights at a hotel in Old San Juan. We had already researched and eaten at many of the authentic and delicious restaurants in the San Juan area and wanted to make sure we didn't miss any good food during our last two days. Francisco (Frankie) spent forever brainstorming and helping us find the best culinary experiences possible for our remaining two days, including arranging a trip to Guavate to get the island's best roast pork. Louise also spent a long time making sure we didn't waste a meal. These two were incredible, and by far the best concierge I have ever encountered. Frankie and Louise helped us the most, but I saw another member of the concierge staff help a family of four research and plan their meals as well. For us, we wanted to eat well, but they seemed equally knowledgeable about any type of experience you might want during your stay. Be sure to use this incomparable resource while at the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zed100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery Village, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2011

Arrived March 13th for 5 nights and was greeted out front by Felix who set the tone for the trip-very friendly and welcoming-took care of our bags until check-in. Staff at LaConcha were all very friendly and helpful, always greeted guests which made you feel welcome. The Tower Suites oceanfront rooms are spacious and very clean. Pools are very nice but could use more seating. Beach area is great - chairs free to LaConcha guests. Had a few nice lunches around the pool. LaPerla restaurant is excellent in service, atmosphere and food-worth the $$-try for a window table. Lobby/bar area is very chic and inviting. Felt safe walking around the area, especially in evening to go a few blocks for dinner. Hotel a short taxi ride to Old San Juan, etc. The Concierge Lounge is the best
we have encountered-the staff there is fabulous. Hotel property is beautiful and well maintained, all staff encountered were gracious. Recommendations from staff about restaurants, sites, etc. were very good. Can't wait to go back again - happy we picked LaConcha.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maryel53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 March 2011

After a warm and efficient welcome from the hostess Jannise, what a pleasure to sit on the veranda overlooking the pool area and be able to establish a wireless connection with no hassles. The buffet choices, the good selection of juices, hot coffee or exotic tea were all at hand whilst catching up with emails and waiting for members of my extended family to join me for breakfast. Thank you to the La Concha breakfast team for the great start of 4 days.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irmabirchall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2011

We stayed for 4 nites, arriving Sunday. Upon early arrival, our room wasnt ready yet. We got something to eat at the outdoor cafe by the pool, then went back to the desk to see if anything was available. The desk clerk went on and checked a few rooms, and found one in my room choice that was ready. We got in pretty quickly. We knew it had been renovated in the last year or 2, and it looked very upscale. White marble, clean and modern
The staff all seemed very nice, and accomodating, the concierge was always helpful. The room we thought was a decent size, even though no balcony, but still an ocean view. Linens and towels all clean and abundant.
Food prices at hotel were of course a bit much, and there are many choices outside if you just look around. I would go back again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank perigard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
0.2 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.9 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 46 in San Juan
6,755 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 46 in San Juan
2,644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
4.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#6 of 13 in Isla Verde
3,110 reviews
0.2 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort

Property: La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
Address: 1077 Ashford Avenue, San Juan 00907-1128, Puerto Rico (Formerly La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel)
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in San Juan
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#6 Family Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the La Concha Resort experience, the stunning renovation of one of San Juan's most elegantly chic properties. On a sun-drenched corner of Caribbean beachfront in San Juan's most prestigious Condado district, La Concha is an icon of modernist architecture replete with spacious exhilarating decor and detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Concha Hotel Renaissance
Renaissance San Juan
San Juan Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing