We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location and beautiful view!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
Ranked #6 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We picked La Concha from a bunch of options from JetBlue for a “Getaways” package over Thanksgiving weekend and we are very glad we did. We had an ocean view room (in the non-suite building) and the ocean side wall was just one giant window – beautiful! The room was a good size with plenty of room for the bed, a desk and sitting area with a “fainting couch”. The closets were a good size with shelves that made up for the fact that there were only two small bureau drawers per person. There was also storage under the bedside tables. The safe was a big one as well. The room was bright with light walls and bright color accents throughout. There are plenty of lights in all the right places. The one drawback is that the temperature is set at 68 degrees, which you cannot change, and we generally like a cooler room. The bathroom was enormous – with lots of shelf space for all of our toiletries, which so many hotels lack. The shower was on the European model with a half door and removable hand-held shower head – there was also a “rain” shower head. Between the main door to the room (opening from the courtyard side of the hotel) and an interior glass door to the room itself was a small foyer. The bathroom was off the foyer and it also contained the fridge, coffee pot and ice bucket. (Free bottled water every day!). The foyer insulates you from any noise from the courtyard pool area. The room is remarkably quiet we did not hear our neighbors or any of the music from the poolside bar. The resort boasts a relatively large fitness center with glass wall on two sides with one overlooking the beach. The beach has a jetty that keeps the water swirling and great for body surfing, but if you’re not a strong swimmer I’d walk down the beach a bit. It’s not a white sand beach, but nice nonetheless. The lobby was all decked out for the holidays and was tastefully decorated. The pool area was beautiful with lots of plants and couches with umbrellas all over and lots of chairs. The staff were uniformly helpful - even loaning umbrellas on a rainy night. The hotel is in a great location - we walked to Orozco, Bar Gitano, Oceano, Casa Lola, Ropa Vieja and Ben & Jerry’s for our meals.

Room Tip: We had room 711 - ocean view king (in the non-suite building) - with a wall of windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7,595)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,231 - 4,237 of 7,595 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2013

This was a fantastic hotel. The lobby, friendly staff and everything there was perfect.
The pool and beach area were just beautiful. There were plenty of seating areas. We had dinner at all the restaurants in the hotel. We had an incident at one where we actually got up and left for being ignored and people seated long after us were being served where we had not even been said hello to other than by the hostess who sat us. apparently they were short staffed that night and very confused, We went to the other restaurant and had a fantastic meal. All in all it was a fantastic 2day stay before our cruise.

Room Tip: Just a hint. If your a coffee drinker there is a Dunkin Doughnuts across the street. The hotel coffe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

My friends and I went to La Concha for the weekend to celebrate my friends birthday and the experience was amazing. The environment was everything you could ask for. The people were friendly and helpful especially when suggesting where to go. There were two hotel workers that made my experience even more amazing was Felix and Antonio they make that hotel even better then it is. If you go to la concha and you get to meet these guys you know it will be a good stay.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
3  Thank berroaa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We loved our stay here. Our room had a beautiful view of the ocean. The Beach was great, but the waves were very strong. The staff was friendly and helpful.The room was clean and spacious. The lobby bar tended to be very at night.

We thought the location was ideal. There are a lot of restaurants located within walking distance of the hotel. Plus, Old San Juan is a short cab ride away.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NJ76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

My friends, family and I stayed in the suite tower of this hotel for one week. The suite is a little smaller than I expected but it was comfortable, clean and modernly decorated. There are two standard size beds and a pull out couch. The service was great. The staff was very friendly, helpful and very accomodating. I think that this resort is great for the price. The beach, pool and lounge areas are clean and comfortable. The gym is clean with good machines and an amazing view. We all had a great time. There is security that walk along the premises throughout the day and night and the police visited the hotels several times throughout our stay. We didn't eat at the restaurant although we did order food near the pools and while on the beach and everything that we had was good, although pricey but this is common in hotels. The resort is located on the main strip so it is near a lot of stores, hotels, bars and restuarants. We absolutely loved this hotel and would stay again.

Room Tip: Please note that suites do not have an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoyalGrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We arrived around 3pm on a Thursday and not surprising our room wasn't ready. I have been reading reviews on this property for 8 months, so I wasn't surprised. We had booked a spa room, which had a whirlpool hot hub on the balcony overlooking the ocean. Once we did get our room, it was beautiful. Huge walk-in shower, which was a surprise. The spa rooms are very private as the walls are high between the rooms. The hot tubs are under the overhang, so you can be in there and have privacy.

As other people have complained about the price of drinks and food, I can't agree with them. This is a resort in the Caribbean, nothing is cheap. However, I am from San Francisco and I didn't have sticker shock. I am of the belief, if you can be on vacation, then don't worry about the prices. We ate at Perla one night and the food was absolutely delicious. The ambiance there is amazing. Very cool place and you must go. Ask to sit along the windows, as that's the best view. The night we ate there, there was a storm with a great lightening show.

The pools are great, the bar at the pool has fantastic drinks and nice bar food. The workers were very friendly.

My only real complaint about this property is that there is not a spa on site. They recommend the Zen Spa, which is a 3 minute walk down the street, but it doesn't get very good reviews.

Room Tip: Spend the money for a spa room, if you are going to be there for more than one night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmcki60811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Spent a week with goal of relaxing. Sat on the beach and at the adults only pool, enjoyed both. Swam in the pool and took dips in the ocean. It was rough and I could not stay in too long. My husband useD the gym every day and was satisfied. Maid service was spotty, but room was clean.
The hotel is located on a street with many casual restaurants, variety at reasonable prices.
My goal was realized.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mniarhos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
0.2 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.9 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#18 of 47 in San Juan
7,204 reviews
14.9 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 47 in San Juan
2,763 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
17.0 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort

Address: 1077 Ashford Avenue, San Juan 00907-1128, Puerto Rico (Formerly La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel)
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in San Juan
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#6 Family Hotel in San Juan
Price Range: £183 - £409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the La Concha Resort experience, the stunning renovation of one of San Juan's most elegantly chic properties. On a sun-drenched corner of Caribbean beachfront in San Juan's most prestigious Condado district, La Concha is an icon of modernist architecture replete with spacious exhilarating decor and detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Concha Hotel Renaissance
Renaissance San Juan
San Juan Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing