We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday 3:18 AM”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
Ranked #6 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 March 2014

If one can ignore the fact I am writing this review while a loud band is playing at 3:18 AM then the resort is very good. However since I am indeed writing this at that time with music still blaring throughout the property I can't ignore it. Nice pools and property but do not come here for a relaxation. Check in was also a mess as we arrived early and were given a pager which never did go off. After checking twice we finally demanded a room when we saw others being given rooms after we had been waiting four hours. Management here is obviously interested in running a bar and party scene and not a resort. Do not stay in the Cabana rooms if they try to give one to you. I would have given only one star but the pools and grounds are indeed nice. Have stayed here before and enjoyed it but never again!

Room Tip: Do not accept any room that is near the main bar area!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ApexCruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eduardo R, Front Office Manager at La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear PATRICIA,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our Guest Satisfaction Survey and sharing your experience with the La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort. I apologize that your recent stay was not satisfactory and appreciate your feedback.

You’re a valued customer; everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. Please be assured that we are taking immediate corrective steps to avoid such problems in the future. As a gesture of our good will, compensation has been issue.

Once again, please accept my apology. We would like to regain your trust and we hope you will allow us an opportunity to provide you with an exceptional guest experience when your travels bring you back to this area.

Sincerely,
Eduardo RIVERA
Director of Guest Services
La Concha Resort
erivera@laconcharesort.com
787-721-7500

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7,595)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,981 - 3,987 of 7,595 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2014

We just got home from our fantastic stay at la concha resort. The hotel was beautiful, bedrooms were spacious and nicely updated. The pool area was gorgeous and very well kept. Josep was our bartender in the pool area and he was so nice to us. He made our stay just perfect. He served us so quickly and gave us a lot of info about the area. The lobby of the hotel was very contemporary with live music on some nights . Abel was very accommodating and so pleasant to talk to. He gave us a rundown on the weeks events happening at the resort.

Room Tip: We had an ocean view room and it was just breathtaking !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LISAFARMINGDALE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Stayed there for two nights post cruise. has to wait 4 hours for a room so we chilled out on the nice padded patio chairs and had lunch at the grille. Rooms are very spacious and plush beds but lack enough outlets at the bed on both sides. Balcony overlooked beach and shallow pool. Nice breakfast buffet. eat there twice but the price for weekday jumped unbenonced to me. Service was top notch. My only complains was the noise around the pool made by the yuppies demonstrating their drinking skills and on the hunt for you know what. We stayed with Marriott points, but not sure I would repeat for what they charge for cash.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kbrobeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

My husband and two young children were excited to return to La Concha for 6 nights during February school vacation. We had stayed there for 2 nights 2 years prior and all were impressed with the hotel on every level from the moment we arrived until our departure. This trip was different from the moment we arrived...no overly gracious greeting by bellman or desk staff but fairly expeditious as our flight was delayed due to snow. We were shown to our ocean view room in the suite tower which was the exact same room we stayed in 2012. Room 8054. The smell of dampness and mold were overpowering. We immediately called front desk and someone came and sprayed "febreeze" throughout. We hoped that by opening slider to balcony the smell might dissipate. No luck. My husband went to front desk the next morning and was told there were no other ocean view rooms but they would send someone up to change filters. I guess they did but this didn't help as there was white mold covering the springs of the pullout sofa bed. My husband phoned again the day before we left and asked if they could do anything for us and hey offered breakfast voucher. We already had breakfast included in our room so that was not great. When pushed hey gave a $50 credit for a meal. The property itself is beautiful and clean. I want to go back but the management really must address the mold. It is not a febreeze fix it will require mold removal and replacing carpet, etc. I'm sure they realize this. Another difference we noticed was the food and beverage service was not nearly as attentive as our prior visit. With the exception of Ruby who was a gem both trips.

Room Tip: Other reviewers recommend ocean suites or tower suites on high floors just make sure no mold
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank feastorfaminema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eduardo R, Front Office Manager at La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Mr. FeastorFaminema,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. I appreciate your loyalty in always selecting our hotel when you come to Puerto Rico.
Our property and brand goal is to exceed our guests’ expectations--and I am disappointed that we were unable to meet your expectations for your stay with us. In your review, you bring up some great points that I will personally share with our Operational Team.
Again, please accept our deepest apologies for the inconveniences you and your family endured.

Thank you again for sharing your experience. I do hope to have another opportunity to serve you, if your travels bring you back to our area. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back.

Eduardo Rivera
Director of Guest Services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

My wife and I stayed at this property for seven days mid-February. Liked the openess of the lobby area and the layout. The entire staff was very welcoming and friendly. Wherever we went, we were met with a hello, how's your stay going, anything we can do for you? The staff at the beach would do anything to make sure your lounge chairs were set to your needs. The food staff made their way around to make sure you had drinks and food as needed. When they had the time, especially at the end of the day, they would "sweep" the beach to clean up what inconsiderate guests would leave behind.
The pool areas were tight, but had no problem finding lounge chairs in the sun. The two pools facing the beach had limited sun after 11:00am. Once again, plenty of staff to take drink/food orders. Food at the beach and pool areas was good and plentiful.
As a platinum member, we used the lounge provided for breakfast, snacks, and drinks. Ate a Perla on evening, see separate review.
We had a room in the tower with a full ocean view, the way to go.....beautiful view. The funiture was modern, but not very functuntional. The couch was not confortable to sit on. As posted in other reviews, it's time to change out the mattresses. Had difficult time sleeping unless you were in the "groove". Housekeeping service was timely except for Sunday, when all the cruise people left the hotel and the major changover of rooms had to be completed. The bathroom has much space for your travel items. Shower with half door takes some getting use to.
As to some of the comments that the grounds were dirty, blame that on inconsiderate/lazy guests. Many people would leave their cups, food containers, towels, etc on the beach or pool side. I guess it's beneath some to clean up after themselves....you had to walk past the towel hut and trash containers on the way back to the hotel.
Overall we would stay at this property again as the people and the cleanliness make it worth the stay.

Room Tip: Try to obtain a room on a higher floor in the tower, beach front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bonesthetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

This is a Renaissance property. It's a higher-end hotel (probably 2nd only to the nearby Ritz Carlton) and has high-end amenities and clientele but with the "island vibe" instead of the formal "stuffiness" sometimes found at traditionally high-end properties. La Concha is "old school" Miami with its art deco architecture and a very friendly and helpful staff. I saw another review about noise in rooms. However, I had no such issues. The room views of the beach are BEAUTIFUL, and the location is perfectly located for the beach and exploring nearby out-of-hotel restaurants. For business travel, the free WiFi was fast without interruptions. The in-hotel restaurants are very good (but at expected "hotel" prices). I highly recommend the churrasco (skirt steak) and fresh tropical chips (potato, plantain & maranga). The casino is good by Puerto Rico standards, but don't expect anything "Vegas-style." In short, a wonderful hotel with great staff and pleasant Caribbean attitude.

Tip: In short, I recommend La Concha for the hotel and the Mariott Casino for the casino.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are beach-front...but ask just in case. You DEFINITELY want a view of the bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlanfromIndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We absolutely loved our stay at the La Concha, a midcentury modern resort that was beautifully restored recently: the funky lobby sets the tone for this attractive yet relaxed hotel. Every staff member we encountered was friendly and helpful, our room was excellent, the food was great and the location can't be beat. We stayed in a Tower Suite on the 11th floor. The full ocean view rooms were sold out when we booked so we went with a partial ocean view: we were rewarded with not only a great view of the ocean from our balcony but a priceless view of the city and the mountains beyond. The suite had a funky, european look, with an adorable kitchen area straight out of an ikea catalog. The bed was super comfortable, and the suite had a generous sized bathroom with Aveda bath products that were restocked daily (I'm making a note of this, as another contributor suggested that they skimped on the toiletries). Our favorite hang out spot was the tower suite Adults Only infinity pool overlooking the beach, but there are many other nice pools and sitting areas around the hotel, including comfy "beds" to lounge on in the shade and the sun: the beach is really nice too - clean and well maintained, especially considering it is a public beach. We were really impressed by the quality of the food at the hotel: the sushi in particular was outstanding. Hotel dining is pricey, but there are many great restaurants right outside the hotel; the Ben and Jerry's really IS a great breakfast and lunch place, next door on the Plaza Ventana del Mar. One block in the other direction is a cute little cafe, Punk, that had good breakfasts as well, and around the corner try Oceanos, right on the beach: one of the best meals we had in San Juan, and down the street is a 24 hour Walgreens with a full market, where we stocked our little kitchen with some staples (beer!). Overall, we were delighted at the level of service at the La Concha and plan on returning soon. The entire resort was clean and well maintained, the staff went above and beyond at every encounter, and we enjoyed a truly relaxing and stress free visit.

Room Tip: Tower Suite facing the ocean or facing east (farthest from elevators). Ask for a high floor (8 or a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SGKlausner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
0.2 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.9 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#18 of 47 in San Juan
7,204 reviews
14.9 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 47 in San Juan
2,763 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
17.0 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort

Address: 1077 Ashford Avenue, San Juan 00907-1128, Puerto Rico (Formerly La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel)
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#2 Business Hotel in San Juan
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#6 Family Hotel in San Juan
Price Range: £177 - £400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the La Concha Resort experience, the stunning renovation of one of San Juan's most elegantly chic properties. On a sun-drenched corner of Caribbean beachfront in San Juan's most prestigious Condado district, La Concha is an icon of modernist architecture replete with spacious exhilarating decor and detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Concha Hotel Renaissance
Renaissance San Juan
San Juan Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing