We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spectacular views, and attention to the finest detail... LOVED THIS HOTEL!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
Ranked #3 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Brantford, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Spectacular views, and attention to the finest detail... LOVED THIS HOTEL!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

I absolutely loved staying at this hotel. The view from our ocean view room on the fourth floor was spectacular! I could lie in bed and see the ocean crashing and near the incredible soothing sounds of the water. The Perla Restaurant was delicious and stunning in its remarkable beauty. The indoor/outdoor pools were infinity pools with no end and you just felt the peace and tranquility... even when crowded. The food was awesome... a must try are the deep fried bananas with chocolate sauce! Serious addiction! Their guacamole was rocking and the drinks delicious! I could have stayed another week and been absolutely delighted. The location of this hotel is in the heart of San Juan so you have the urban feel on one side of the hotel, and the ocean, surf and sand on the other.... something I have not experienced before...and I loved it! A big shout out to Felix Perez who would greet us daily at the door and his wonderful charming attitude, smiles and pride for his job was remarkable! La Concha, you truly have a gem in this outstanding doorman. I'd love to return to San Juan and visit again! Five star and a must visit!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SpicyJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,164
    1,994
    624
    236
    170
See reviews for
1,580
2,854
187
673
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,288)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

We loved the hotel.The staff was fantastic. We never had a single problem. They gave us great hints about the surrounding area and some day trips. The hotel is in the middle of the city but once u step in it is exciting and relaxing at the same time. I didn't know what to expect and we had family with us .I was pleasantly surprised. A lot of restaurants were within walking distance. All in all we wanted to stay longer and will come back soon.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

2nd time staying at this location. Upon arrival, reserving the room via Marriott website was easy. Check in was a breeze especially being that my flight was delayed and my bf had to check in before me. All I did was make a call to Marriott then confirmed w the hotel. Room was very clean, no hair anywhere (my pet peeve) and the bf was impressed as well. Room service was great evenings the minor mistakes (employee in training). Only con was service cut off is 11pm. Really? Weekends too? No bueno. Beach access was amazing. No fees for chairs, tables, or umbrellas. Staff everywhere went above and beyond to assist. Oh, being an elite member, we went to members only lounge. NOTE: you cannot take fruit out of there being that in the past guests have claimed food poisoning. Funny thing was that the same worker that told me I could not, watched a lady stuff fruit in a cup an exited. Interesting. Pools were axing, gym, full of modern equipment. Personal trainer included. All in all, you cannot go wrong with this location minus a few minor hiccups.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Prettyteeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

We just returned from an 8 night stay at La Concha. We have passed through San Juan many times but have never stayed more than a night. We were thrilled with La Concha. From the moment the front door staff opened the door of our taxi to the folks at the front desk. Everyone could not have been more welcoming. Alfonso brought our bags up to the room and took the time to explain all the features of the room and told us never to hesitate to call if we needed anything.

Our room was quite nice and well appointed (a 1 bedroom suite city view in the suite tower). Everything you would need to make breakfast or have “hora feliz” in your room before dinner. We never had an issue with noise as other posters have commented on. However we did use earplugs as the AC fan was very loud.

Housekeeping was always prompt. We only experienced issues on the weekend when they have a high turnaround of guests. Sometimes items were not replaced in the room like coffee, water, face cloths or bath mats but a quick shout out to another housekeeper working in the hall was more than eager to help out. Special thanks to Margarita.

Dinner the first night in La Perla was outstanding. It is such a romantic setting and the service provided by Marya was top notch. We had lunch every day at Solera. Items were generally well prepared and served promptly.

Most days were spent on the beach where there were ample chairs and towels if you showed up at any time of day. No need to run down and save chairs like at other resorts. Nestor on the beach was very charming and always had time to chat.

We travel to Mexico generally at this time of year and wanted to change things up. There was so much to do in and around San Juan and the other restaurants we visited for dinner were quite good. We can’t wait to come back and hope to see many familiar faces soon.

Thanks La Concha for a great vacation!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ywgtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

We just returned from spending 4 days at this beautiful resort. We had a very relaxing and positive experience. The check is was quick and easy, staff is very friendly and very accommodating most of the time. We had some minor issues but nothing worth complaining about, and the staff addressed them to our satisfaction. The resort is beautiful, clean. The best thing is all 3 pools are open 24/7 and they're heated!! We stayed at the Suite Tower, had a spacious room, ocean view balcony. That's the only way to go here. The city views are far from pretty. The beach was beautiful. The only real complaint we had was the waiter service at the beach, slow is an understatement and getting their attention proved to be a challenge. Other than that everything was great. We had dinner at Perla, highly recommend it!! Ahmed the bar tender very friendly, can recommend great restaurants and makes great drinks! We had a very late flight out and they let us have a very late check out, which let us enjoy the resort the entire last day. We greatly appreciated it!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Had a great time. The staff were amazing and made us feel so welcome. The rooms were clean and the Perla restaurant was out of this world. Our maid was also top notch! Located within walking distance of Old San Juan.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Boyd D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dallas, tx
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel pre and post a cruise out of San Juan. It is a very clean and modern property. The room was nice with a modern and minimal decor. We had an ocean facing room so one wall was all glass with a sliding door. Multiple layers of curtains kept the morning sun out if you wanted to sleep a bit longer. The room was well appointed, clean and in good condition. This hotel is also located right on the beach and has excellent pools and hot tubs. Several restaurants and bars make is a fun scene. On the downside, the hotel is very busy. You are often waiting for a elevator and service can be slow, but this is a also a trend in San Juan itself. All of us reserved 2 double bed rooms in advance, but they tried to give us one king bed. They seemed to be trying to do that with everyone. The lobby was very busy with music and parites on Saturday night, so if you are looking for quite, not sure this is the place. If you are looking for a fun, happening scene with great pools and beach access this is a good bet.

Room Tip: Splurge on an ocean front room...it's a great view and worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rainer49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
0.2 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.9 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,671 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
4.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#6 of 13 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,078 reviews
0.3 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort

Property: La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
Address: 1077 Ashford Avenue, San Juan 00907-1128, Puerto Rico (Formerly La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel)
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in San Juan
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#6 Family Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the La Concha Resort experience, the stunning renovation of one of San Juan's most elegantly chic properties. On a sun-drenched corner of Caribbean beachfront in San Juan's most prestigious Condado district, La Concha is an icon of modernist architecture replete with spacious exhilarating decor and detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Concha Hotel Renaissance
Renaissance San Juan
San Juan Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing