We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel that could use a few minor changes - and be ready to spend $$$”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
Ranked #5 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Wallington, NJ
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great hotel that could use a few minor changes - and be ready to spend $$$”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I just got back from a 5 day, 4 night stay at La Concha. I figured I'd just bullet out some of my key findings so its a bit easier for you to read.

*Check in - we arrived at 12:30 in the afternoon and our room was ready! That was HUGE as I had read from many that check in went way later than the 4pm time - so we were really lucky for that.

*Room - We had a Junior Suite Oceanview - the view was worth the extra money. It was sooo nice to open the door and have the waves and wind as you relaxed. The suite had good amount of space, we never felt cramped. After a couple days the room started to smell really musty - like wet and old. We then realized that there were NO HOOKS in the entire room so you couldn't hang any towels to dry, any wet bathing suites etc...so after a few days of them "drying" over chairs, the smell really got to us. That would be my 1 major suggestion about the rooms - add a few simple hooks to the back or the doors. You could hang them out the balcony but it was really windy and you didn't want to risk losing anything!

*Pool/Grounds - Perfect! My hubby and I are not beach people, so we loved having the option of 4 pools and many many different areas so sit and lounge. That was great! When it was cloudy or rainy, we parked ourselves under one of the covered outdoor couch areas and just read for hours with a couple glasses of wine. That was true relaxation. THe pools were heated so they didn't provide any relief from the sun.

*Location - Great location to walk around find tons of places to each and drink. 10 min from Old San Juan but $15 each way. We didnt plan well and went on 3 different nights, making that almost $100 in taxi's alone! I wish we looked into a bus.

*Food/Drink at hotel - Ok - wasn't amazing, but was totally decent. But its SO EXPENSIVE!! $8 for not even a full beer, $14 for a glass of wine, $19 for a burger....no thanks. Like others suggested, walk 1 block to the left of the hotel and stop in the Walgreens - pick up some snacks, cases of water, wine and beer. While we came back broke from the trip, having some of those items stocked in our room made us not have to give up our 1st born to pay off the credit card bill :)

*Bar/Lounge - The Hotel is apparently the "hot" spot of the area - at night the lobby turns into a nigh club and its definitely on the trendy side. My cute Target sundresses didn't really fit in the with Gucci clad guys wearing sunglasses inside and gals with their tata's hanging out while they were sipping on $15 cocktails :)

*Local eats
Breakfast - Walk to the right of the Hotel and hit up Ben & Jerrys (yes, like the ice cream) They do a great breakfast for like $10-$12.
Punk Burger Bar - Walk to the left. While it says Burger Bar, they do have breakfast for like $8!
Marmalade in Old San Juan. If you are looking for a special, fancy and not cheap night out, take yourself to this restaurant. It was one of the best meals we have ever had.

I think that sums up some of the major points of the trip. Its a great spot, but I don't think we'll be staying there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Amy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eduardo R, Front Office Manager at La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Hola Amy P,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel and rating us to be clean, comfortable, and friendly but also giving us some points that we can improve since our guest are our eyes and voice for years to come.

I truly hope that for your next visit to Puerto Rico you would give us another opportunity to be of service and show you all that we have to offer. If I should be of any assistance to you, please contact me at erivera@laconcharesort.com. It would be great to have you stay with us once more.

Eduardo Rivera
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,467 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,328
    2,051
    653
    250
    185
See reviews for
1,666
2,957
199
697
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,357)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

From the time we walked into the lobby to sadly leaving five days later, we experienced excellent service, amenities, food, drinks, and accommodations! The bellman at the front entrance were top notch. They remembered all of us and were extremely helpful with suggestions of places to go, see, eat, drink, etc.

The check-in process was fantastic. We upgraded to a suite and loved it! The pools were great and the beach was very nice. The food at the hotel was fabulous. We ate lunch at the pool bar area and had dinner at Voga, the Italian restaurant that was one of my best meals I have had. Everywhere you turned, the service was excellent.

The hotel is located in a great place- easy to walk to restaurants, bars, shopping. It is also a quick cab ride to go to Old San Juan, which is a must see! When we returned from our trip, we were ready to plan the next back to San Juan and stay at La Concha!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CincinnatiTara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guaynabo, Puerto Rico
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

2 times staying in the hotel and coordinating workshops for our employees, Excellent staff attendance from the Banquet group. Special thanks to Mario Giménoz from banquets, he went the extra mile to please us, a group of 26. Front desk, housekeeping staff always with a smile. Definitely will do business again with them. Highly recomended.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HumacaoO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brantford, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

I absolutely loved staying at this hotel. The view from our ocean view room on the fourth floor was spectacular! I could lie in bed and see the ocean crashing and near the incredible soothing sounds of the water. The Perla Restaurant was delicious and stunning in its remarkable beauty. The indoor/outdoor pools were infinity pools with no end and you just felt the peace and tranquility... even when crowded. The food was awesome... a must try are the deep fried bananas with chocolate sauce! Serious addiction! Their guacamole was rocking and the drinks delicious! I could have stayed another week and been absolutely delighted. The location of this hotel is in the heart of San Juan so you have the urban feel on one side of the hotel, and the ocean, surf and sand on the other.... something I have not experienced before...and I loved it! A big shout out to Felix Perez who would greet us daily at the door and his wonderful charming attitude, smiles and pride for his job was remarkable! La Concha, you truly have a gem in this outstanding doorman. I'd love to return to San Juan and visit again! Five star and a must visit!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SpicyJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

We loved the hotel.The staff was fantastic. We never had a single problem. They gave us great hints about the surrounding area and some day trips. The hotel is in the middle of the city but once u step in it is exciting and relaxing at the same time. I didn't know what to expect and we had family with us .I was pleasantly surprised. A lot of restaurants were within walking distance. All in all we wanted to stay longer and will come back soon.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

2nd time staying at this location. Upon arrival, reserving the room via Marriott website was easy. Check in was a breeze especially being that my flight was delayed and my bf had to check in before me. All I did was make a call to Marriott then confirmed w the hotel. Room was very clean, no hair anywhere (my pet peeve) and the bf was impressed as well. Room service was great evenings the minor mistakes (employee in training). Only con was service cut off is 11pm. Really? Weekends too? No bueno. Beach access was amazing. No fees for chairs, tables, or umbrellas. Staff everywhere went above and beyond to assist. Oh, being an elite member, we went to members only lounge. NOTE: you cannot take fruit out of there being that in the past guests have claimed food poisoning. Funny thing was that the same worker that told me I could not, watched a lady stuff fruit in a cup an exited. Interesting. Pools were axing, gym, full of modern equipment. Personal trainer included. All in all, you cannot go wrong with this location minus a few minor hiccups.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Prettyteeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We just returned from an 8 night stay at La Concha. We have passed through San Juan many times but have never stayed more than a night. We were thrilled with La Concha. From the moment the front door staff opened the door of our taxi to the folks at the front desk. Everyone could not have been more welcoming. Alfonso brought our bags up to the room and took the time to explain all the features of the room and told us never to hesitate to call if we needed anything.

Our room was quite nice and well appointed (a 1 bedroom suite city view in the suite tower). Everything you would need to make breakfast or have “hora feliz” in your room before dinner. We never had an issue with noise as other posters have commented on. However we did use earplugs as the AC fan was very loud.

Housekeeping was always prompt. We only experienced issues on the weekend when they have a high turnaround of guests. Sometimes items were not replaced in the room like coffee, water, face cloths or bath mats but a quick shout out to another housekeeper working in the hall was more than eager to help out. Special thanks to Margarita.

Dinner the first night in La Perla was outstanding. It is such a romantic setting and the service provided by Marya was top notch. We had lunch every day at Solera. Items were generally well prepared and served promptly.

Most days were spent on the beach where there were ample chairs and towels if you showed up at any time of day. No need to run down and save chairs like at other resorts. Nestor on the beach was very charming and always had time to chat.

We travel to Mexico generally at this time of year and wanted to change things up. There was so much to do in and around San Juan and the other restaurants we visited for dinner were quite good. We can’t wait to come back and hope to see many familiar faces soon.

Thanks La Concha for a great vacation!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ywgtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
0.2 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.9 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#20 of 47 in San Juan
7,035 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 47 in San Juan
2,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
4.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#7 of 13 in Isla Verde
3,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort

Property: La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
Address: 1077 Ashford Avenue, San Juan 00907-1128, Puerto Rico (Formerly La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel)
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#2 Business Hotel in San Juan
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#6 Family Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the La Concha Resort experience, the stunning renovation of one of San Juan's most elegantly chic properties. On a sun-drenched corner of Caribbean beachfront in San Juan's most prestigious Condado district, La Concha is an icon of modernist architecture replete with spacious exhilarating decor and detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Concha Hotel Renaissance
Renaissance San Juan
San Juan Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing