We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So so visit definitely not coming back here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
Ranked #5 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“So so visit definitely not coming back here”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

We came to LA Concha through recommendation of a family member. We were traveling with 3 adults and 1 child, they gave us a room with 1 bed???? Seriously... Had to go back to cs to let them know of the mistake and was told no other 2 bed rooms were available, they decided to give us another room for the night w King size bed and sofa bed. Upon getting ready for bed I realized there were no linens in room for bed so I ask for some to be sent to us, as we open sofa bed we notice it is broken, had to call to them know they offer a air bed, so we had no choice but to accept this. During the night the air bed began deflating due to a slow leak in it. At this point it was 3 am and didn't even bother to call and complain. They ended up sleeping on top of a small sofa bed 4 ft long while the person was over 6 ft tall. So annoyed. We complained the following day and Hector the manager was very apologetic and only offered a very tiny credit nothing compared to the price of the room. We were finally moved to another room w 2 beds. Definitely not a place I would come back to due to the circumstances, if we wanted to sleep on a air bed we would of went camping. Staff should pay attention to the rooms they are giving out to customers. To top it off bathroom doors did not shut properly, room temperature not cold enough, tour desk should have a better display to get visitors interested in all PR has to offer.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Fatima Hector P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis R, General Manager at La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Ms. Fatima,

It was a pleasure speaking with you today. Again, please accept my apologies for not being able to provide you with the requested 2 beds upon your arrival. Please know that our intention was always to find the best options for you and by no means did we want you and your family to be uncomfortable. As I said we are always trying to ensure our entire staff provides our guests with a higher level of hospitality and service. Your comments will be shared with our management staff in order to evaluate all options available to improve our services. I hope that in the future another opportunity can be granted, in order to regain your trust.

Saludos,

Luis R. Rivera
General Manager
lrivera@laconcharesort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,531 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,363
    2,066
    662
    252
    188
See reviews for
1,685
2,972
203
713
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,372)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Castle Rock, Colorado, United States
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We visited for 7 nights, mid June 2014. We stayed in an ocean view room, while our friends had a suite in the other tower. We spent nights sleeping with our sliding door open, enjoying the ocean breeze while sleeping. We were lucky to stay on the 9th floor, so did not have to worry about noise from the lobby, which converts to a popular bar area at night. We were awaken most mornings by a class exercising on plaza just off the hotel breach property. Our friends enjoyed having the small kitchen, cooked some meals & kept beverages cold. Our group loved the beach and spent 3 full days there. We did find the ocean waves very strong, with warning from the hotel that swimming was not advised due to the strong current. We found the beach vendors selling food/wares to be laid back and not intrusive. I would suggest traveling outside the hotel for a few meals, drinks, and for items like sunscreen/snacks. I must say the buffet breakfast was average, we waited a very long time for service once we were seated, & much longer for basic black coffee for the table. We enjoyed breakfast at Pinky's just across from the hotel driveway. Dinner just a few minutes from the hotel at Casita Miramar, very intimate, great watermelon lemonade. Our friends raved about their dinner at Ali Baba. Bar Gitano had great desserts & set up the large screen TV so we could all see the soccer games. The Bacardi Tour was interesting, mostly due to two free drinks per adult. Old San Juan was charming and we certainly found the most interesting people there.

Room Tip: Higher floors to avoid noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trish G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The front desk and most of the people at La Concha were super helpful and nice. In San Juan everything $ double the US and I live in a resort beach town- so do plan to multiply by 2. The hotel rooms are more than clean and the beds are comfortable. The view in Oceanfront room was amazing. The service, value, sleep quality, cleanliness and location were all excellent or very good. Location only very good b/c I was a little bothered by Condom World several doors down and the pitiful dog in the stroller outside of Walgreens, but again this was not the Hotel's issue. Btw- eat at the Ben and Jerry's and run to Dunkin Donuts b/c you will come out a lot cheaper than eating lunch and drinking coffee at the hotel. I overheard one guest checking out complaining about getting charged an additional $13 for taking 5 items from the breakfast bar. Had he only taken 4 items it would have cost him 1/2 as much. So beware... we learned early on after eating 2 meals at the hotel that we were venturing out for cost and quality. Also, buy mini bottles and your own bottles of wine b/c the size of drinks in all of San Juan, PR are pitiful... Weak and small...Beautiful property that is constantly being maintained, painted, everything...Again, very clean and safe environment. I just may have stayed farther out of town and gone into Old San Juan one day had I known how inconsistent the surrounding areas can be... the excursions are near the Rain Forest so may opt for that area if we return to PR.

Room Tip: Ask for higher levels as everyone recommends if travelling with the family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PuertoRicoTrip2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I must say that my recent Puerto Rican vacation was the best I've had compared to other Carribbean vacations. The La Concha Resort in Condada was modern, clean, and beautiful. The pools were warm and wonderful and a couple of them overlook the green ocean. The staff was amazing. Everyone we encountered was nice and helpful. I was so impressed that I've planned another trip for the fall. The food is also amazing. If you are travelling to Puerto Rico, I suggest staying in Condada. This side of the island is fun and there are lot of great stores and restaurants directly outside of the hotel. You will love it!

Room Tip: I suggest getting a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Njeri71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willingboro, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

We decided to come to pr for our honey moon and stayed at la concha. We are a Marriott silver member so we got a good deal! The hotel is so nice and we were greeted with champagne upon arriving! The ocean front rooms had an amazing view an the service was outstanding! Joshua Gonzolas was such a great waiter and we had the pleasure of dealing with him daily! He has tons of knowledge of the surrounding area and things to do! Quick to get drinks and food and genuinely cares that your satisfied! He adds great value to this resort! Now to the bad, the rooms are hot and the ac shuts off when you leave the room because they use motion sensors, also the ac is limited to 68 degrees! The ac didn't work for us on the first night and had to get it serviced at 4 am because it was 85 degrees in our room. The cable went out every day and we had to get the repair man to come daily "who was a true professional and outstanding to deal with". Overall a good hotel just very pricy for food and drinks and we wish we could come Into a cold room after being outside all day! Also cab drivers were the only ones to warn us not to swim on the beach because it's so dangerous , we didn't hear that from the hotel but in some of the receives people have drowned. So be cautious although we didn't have any problems!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S-border
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The beach area is nice and the hot pools are cool, but the long wait for a room and the funky smell that left you with the choice of being too hot with the doors open or mouth breathing was not good.

Also, while I was waiting for a room past check in, lying on a chaise by the pool, I was drenched in water and some kind of cleaner that fell from the drainage in a balcony above, apparently they dont look before they dump.

Helpful?
Thank Travelmom525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, NY
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My husband and I stayed at La Concha in Condado for a five day frolic in late May. We had previously visited the InterContinental in Isla Verde and the difference was dramatic. La Concha was, clean, updated and trendy in the right ways. The hotel room was spectacular with its views of the ocean, the walk in shower, nice, and the storeage and closets were well-thought out. The lobby area was sophisticated and room check-in was a breeze. Everyone was friendly. The pool area was very nice, outdoor dining and drinking added a nice touch. The beach was very nice - much nicer than Isla Verde - and the gentlemen pulled chaise lounges and umbrellas to the spot we chose each day. We enjoyed the casino each night and even the local people were warm, pleasant and welcoming. We ate at the Italian restaurant for brunch twice and the service and offerings were top shelf. We dined for our anniversary at La Perla - and what a delightful experience that was. I'd do this trip all over again - in fact, December sounds like a good time to recreate the memories. Book your stay here - it will delight you, too.

Room Tip: Spend a little extra money for the oceanfront view. Worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeeDel6-2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
0.2 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.9 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#20 of 47 in San Juan
7,119 reviews
14.9 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 47 in San Juan
2,736 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
4.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#7 of 13 in Isla Verde
3,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort

Property: La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
Address: 1077 Ashford Avenue, San Juan 00907-1128, Puerto Rico (Formerly La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel)
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#2 Business Hotel in San Juan
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#6 Family Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the La Concha Resort experience, the stunning renovation of one of San Juan's most elegantly chic properties. On a sun-drenched corner of Caribbean beachfront in San Juan's most prestigious Condado district, La Concha is an icon of modernist architecture replete with spacious exhilarating decor and detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Concha Hotel Renaissance
Renaissance San Juan
San Juan Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing