We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place in Condado area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
Ranked #6 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2014

It is one of the best locations to be on the beach in condado. It def has a mainland resort hotel feel. Very clean and professional. If you don't mind walking to the beach and smaller rooms there are cheaper places in the area, but this is definitely one of the nicest.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Braxton B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7,604)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,614 - 3,620 of 7,604 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

My now-husband and I had talked about getting married in PR for as long we can could remember, so when we finally got around to making it happen, we chose the La Concha Resort. It was the best decision we could have made especially looking back and wanting to have it at the Caribe Hilton (so glad we didn't). Having a destination wedding can be tough because everything is in the hands of the hotel/resort especially if you don't have the luxury of going to visit throughout the year, but they did not disappointment. When i needed pictures they sent me pictures, when I needed to have a conference call and ask a billion questions they answered them all.

So when the time finally came and we arrived at the hotel, it too, did not disappoint. The hotel is beautiful! Super modern and has 4 pools, open 24 hours! Live music in the lobby every evening and great drinks (a little pricey, but hey you're supposed to be on vacation - try the coconut mojito - to die for!) The beach is literally a few steps outside the lobby and being a public one it is not very crowded in the hotels section. The room we stayed in was amazing. We received an upgrade (ocean view suite) for being the bride and groom, but all of our guests who didn't have a suite still loved their accommodations. Beds, super comfortable, rooms- clean everyday and I can honestly say that everyone i met was sooo nice.

The front desk took care of us. The concierge can book anything you want -zip-line tours, rain forest tours, Bacardi factory tours, whatever! (but i recommend doing it yourself and saving a couple of dollars). There are taxis lined up at the front to take you wherever you want to go. Breakfast was great. Very pricey though. It is one of the nicest hotels on the island but If you are on a budget, there is a Denny's right down the street.

My wedding day was perfect. I got married in a sandy area near the beach and my reception was on the 12th floor with a terrace that overlooked the ocean. All of the staff was amazing. We didn't get to eat our wedding cake, so they boxed it up and put it in our fridge in our room. We're going back every year around that time to stay at the La Concha for our anniversary and to celebrate St. Johns Day.

Amazing trip even after it being our 3rd time going.

Stayed June 2014.

Room Tip: booking a room in the suite tower is probably your best bet if you are a light sleeper. This hotel h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank aifj0621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

From the moment the cab pulled up to the hotel, the staff were never less than accommodating and friendly. The 3 pool areas were all great, as well as the many couches and lounge chairs throughout. Even though the beach is not private, there is not riff raff, and the staff is very helpful with umbrellas and chairs for their guests. Drinks/Food are pricey, but that is to be expected at any hotel/resort, and the casino was small, but not a huge deal. I'm looking forward to returning at some point!

Room Tip: We stayed in the cabanas, overlookignt he pool. nice balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

We came to LA Concha through recommendation of a family member. We were traveling with 3 adults and 1 child, they gave us a room with 1 bed???? Seriously... Had to go back to cs to let them know of the mistake and was told no other 2 bed rooms were available, they decided to give us another room for the night w King size bed and sofa bed. Upon getting ready for bed I realized there were no linens in room for bed so I ask for some to be sent to us, as we open sofa bed we notice it is broken, had to call to them know they offer a air bed, so we had no choice but to accept this. During the night the air bed began deflating due to a slow leak in it. At this point it was 3 am and didn't even bother to call and complain. They ended up sleeping on top of a small sofa bed 4 ft long while the person was over 6 ft tall. So annoyed. We complained the following day and Hector the manager was very apologetic and only offered a very tiny credit nothing compared to the price of the room. We were finally moved to another room w 2 beds. Definitely not a place I would come back to due to the circumstances, if we wanted to sleep on a air bed we would of went camping. Staff should pay attention to the rooms they are giving out to customers. To top it off bathroom doors did not shut properly, room temperature not cold enough, tour desk should have a better display to get visitors interested in all PR has to offer.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Fatima Hector P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis R, General Manager at La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Ms. Fatima,

It was a pleasure speaking with you today. Again, please accept my apologies for not being able to provide you with the requested 2 beds upon your arrival. Please know that our intention was always to find the best options for you and by no means did we want you and your family to be uncomfortable. As I said we are always trying to ensure our entire staff provides our guests with a higher level of hospitality and service. Your comments will be shared with our management staff in order to evaluate all options available to improve our services. I hope that in the future another opportunity can be granted, in order to regain your trust.

Saludos,

Luis R. Rivera
General Manager
lrivera@laconcharesort.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We visited for 7 nights, mid June 2014. We stayed in an ocean view room, while our friends had a suite in the other tower. We spent nights sleeping with our sliding door open, enjoying the ocean breeze while sleeping. We were lucky to stay on the 9th floor, so did not have to worry about noise from the lobby, which converts to a popular bar area at night. We were awaken most mornings by a class exercising on plaza just off the hotel breach property. Our friends enjoyed having the small kitchen, cooked some meals & kept beverages cold. Our group loved the beach and spent 3 full days there. We did find the ocean waves very strong, with warning from the hotel that swimming was not advised due to the strong current. We found the beach vendors selling food/wares to be laid back and not intrusive. I would suggest traveling outside the hotel for a few meals, drinks, and for items like sunscreen/snacks. I must say the buffet breakfast was average, we waited a very long time for service once we were seated, & much longer for basic black coffee for the table. We enjoyed breakfast at Pinky's just across from the hotel driveway. Dinner just a few minutes from the hotel at Casita Miramar, very intimate, great watermelon lemonade. Our friends raved about their dinner at Ali Baba. Bar Gitano had great desserts & set up the large screen TV so we could all see the soccer games. The Bacardi Tour was interesting, mostly due to two free drinks per adult. Old San Juan was charming and we certainly found the most interesting people there.

Room Tip: Higher floors to avoid noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trish G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The front desk and most of the people at La Concha were super helpful and nice. In San Juan everything $ double the US and I live in a resort beach town- so do plan to multiply by 2. The hotel rooms are more than clean and the beds are comfortable. The view in Oceanfront room was amazing. The service, value, sleep quality, cleanliness and location were all excellent or very good. Location only very good b/c I was a little bothered by Condom World several doors down and the pitiful dog in the stroller outside of Walgreens, but again this was not the Hotel's issue. Btw- eat at the Ben and Jerry's and run to Dunkin Donuts b/c you will come out a lot cheaper than eating lunch and drinking coffee at the hotel. I overheard one guest checking out complaining about getting charged an additional $13 for taking 5 items from the breakfast bar. Had he only taken 4 items it would have cost him 1/2 as much. So beware... we learned early on after eating 2 meals at the hotel that we were venturing out for cost and quality. Also, buy mini bottles and your own bottles of wine b/c the size of drinks in all of San Juan, PR are pitiful... Weak and small...Beautiful property that is constantly being maintained, painted, everything...Again, very clean and safe environment. I just may have stayed farther out of town and gone into Old San Juan one day had I known how inconsistent the surrounding areas can be... the excursions are near the Rain Forest so may opt for that area if we return to PR.

Room Tip: Ask for higher levels as everyone recommends if travelling with the family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PuertoRicoTrip2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I must say that my recent Puerto Rican vacation was the best I've had compared to other Carribbean vacations. The La Concha Resort in Condada was modern, clean, and beautiful. The pools were warm and wonderful and a couple of them overlook the green ocean. The staff was amazing. Everyone we encountered was nice and helpful. I was so impressed that I've planned another trip for the fall. The food is also amazing. If you are travelling to Puerto Rico, I suggest staying in Condada. This side of the island is fun and there are lot of great stores and restaurants directly outside of the hotel. You will love it!

Room Tip: I suggest getting a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Njeri71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
0.2 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.9 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#18 of 47 in San Juan
7,207 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Olive Boutique Hotel
Olive Boutique Hotel
#4 of 47 in San Juan
844 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 47 in San Juan
2,768 reviews
14.9 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort

Address: 1077 Ashford Avenue, San Juan 00907-1128, Puerto Rico (Formerly La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel)
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in San Juan
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#6 Family Hotel in San Juan
Price Range: £193 - £453 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort, a stunning renovation of one of San Juan's most elegantly chic properties. On a sun-drenched corner of Caribbean beachfront in the most prestigious Condado district, our hotel in San Juan, Puerto Rico is an icon of modernist architecture replete with spacious exhilarating decor and detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Concha Hotel Renaissance
Renaissance San Juan
San Juan Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing