We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, super nice inside, okay room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
Ranked #5 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great location, super nice inside, okay room”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We booked one night at La Concha before our cruise left out of San Juan and I must say we were very happy with our choice! The hotel is in an ideal location, a few miles from the airport, on the beach, and a few miles from Old San Juan and the cruise port. The inside of the hotel is stunning, beautifully decorated and a really cool atmosphere at night. It didn't feel too crowded either.

The food was expensive but excellent, the concierge was amazing. We asked for a restaurant with authentic cuisine and they recommended "Ropa Vieja" and made our reservation- that restaurant was to die for!! Check in was super easy as was check out.

My only complaints were regarding the room- it was not very clean..I found a few hairs on towels, a stain on the toilet, etc. And the view from the room was of some run down old building. I did know that we were booking a "resort view" room and not an ocean view, just hoped the view would be a bit better.
Check in and check out were super easy and fast.
Also, take note that the ocean is VERY rough and they did not recommend swimming in it while we were there. It is not a calm, caribbean beach. It is more like the open ocean with some sand.

Altogether we would definitely stay here again and I think it's a great choice for anyone staying in San Juan!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snoflake117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,531 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,363
    2,066
    662
    252
    188
See reviews for
1,685
2,972
203
713
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,372)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I was at La Concha for 12 days on a business trip. Staying here almost made it feel like a vacation. I opted for an ocean view room, which was great. Several nights I slept with the door of the Juliet balcomy open and enjoyed the cool breeze and sounds of the surf. The room itself had an attractively minimalist and clean design with everything I needed - excellent and comfortable bed, desk, chaise and great closet space (I like to unpack completely and settle in). The bathroom was modern and attractive with walk-in shower rather than a tub, which suited me very well. It has both a rain head and a hand shower - perfect. Good space to unpack one's toiletries. Housekeeping did an excellent job. The staff was unfailingly friendly and helpful (Hugo the catering manager and Esteban in the Concierge Lounge, to name just two.) I appreciated the quiet pool area as the other pools could get a little frenetic and crowded. Beach access is perfect as is accessibility to many restaurants. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ocean view is a full on view. Ocean noise with the door open may be a bit much for some.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hamish P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This hotel is beautiful! There are multiple pools and hot tubes, a beautiful beach, great dinning and creative & fun interior design. The staff was friendly and accommodating! The hotel is a huge part of travel experiences for me and the La Concha Resort helped my friends and I have a great time!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amber G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

The rooms in the Suite Tower are great. The staff was very accommodating and friendly. The food at the hotel was good, but is ventured out to some of the local spots some authentic Puerto Rican cuisine.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank jsharod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

My weeklong stay at LaConcha was amazing. The amenities and staff were top notch. The best parts include the private beach access, the lobby bar, the beautiful infinity pools, and the delicious crab salad and Sparkling Passion drinks served to us poolside by Hector Torres. Hector was very professional and very accommodating. I highly recommend this hotel resort and will be coming back as soon as possible.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Denee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland park
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Stayed here with my sisters. Lots of amenities and excellent service and friendly staff. Loved being seen off and greeted by Felix Perez every day. It made our stay so much more comfortable and relaxing.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jteran136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Very nice, relaxing stay to attend our friends' destination wedding. Food & bev. Is fairly pricey but well worth. One great person to mention is our waiter, Hector. He was by far the best waiter on the island. We had a great ocean view room on the 12th floor and enjoyed all the amenities the hotel had to offer such as the nice pools and live music.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Captainds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
0.2 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.9 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#20 of 47 in San Juan
7,119 reviews
14.9 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 47 in San Juan
2,734 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
4.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#7 of 13 in Isla Verde
3,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort

Property: La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
Address: 1077 Ashford Avenue, San Juan 00907-1128, Puerto Rico (Formerly La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel)
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#2 Business Hotel in San Juan
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#6 Family Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the La Concha Resort experience, the stunning renovation of one of San Juan's most elegantly chic properties. On a sun-drenched corner of Caribbean beachfront in San Juan's most prestigious Condado district, La Concha is an icon of modernist architecture replete with spacious exhilarating decor and detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Concha Hotel Renaissance
Renaissance San Juan
San Juan Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing