We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
Ranked #3 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

La Concha was recommended by friends who visit P.R. 2 times a year. The hotel is in a great location with casual and upscale stores and restaurants right out the front door. Check in was easy, however, our rooms were not ready until 5:30. The tower rooms are all suites and very spacious and clean. The lobby is lively with a large bar and lots of different seating areas. There are many eating options at the hotel. Out the back toward the pool area is beautiful with hundreds of potted flowering plants! There are 4 seperate pools with plenty of seating. We were a little dissapointed in the very small pools, especially the one by the beach which was dirty all week. We were told it was from suntan lotion, however, another worker said the motor was not running correctly. They should have closed it as the water was brown with frothy liquid. The workers were all very nice and attentive. Great service by the pool and the beach. The ocean is extremely rough. Prior to our trip we read about multiple drownings at this paricular beach. On our 6th day we unfortunately heard screaming from the beach as there was almost another drowning. There are no life guards and it is a public beach. Definitely recommend staying at La Concha for a great hotel in a great location!!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis R, General Manager at La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and submitting your review. Our goal is to provide you with a memorable guest experience and I'm sorry we were not able to exceed your expectations with our pools. I will share your comments with our staff so we can focus on improving. Thank you for the recommendation. I hope you will join us again soon.

Saludos,

Luis R. Rivera
General Manager
lrivera@laconcharesort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,164
    1,994
    625
    237
    170
See reviews for
1,579
2,856
187
673
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,289)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Just returned from a six day stay at La Concha in San Juan. Can't say enough about the staff, especially Michael Tischler, who was so helpful, and always ready to assist us. Jonathan the bartender in the lobby bar was so nice, friendly and made the best drinks. Rachael our server at the pool was also friendly and attentive. This is our third time in Puerto Rico, we usually stay at the El San Juan but we will definitely return to La Concha. Great location, beautiful pools and lovely beach.

Room Tip: Tower suites are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mfrr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Bend, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

We just got back from a week in puerto rico and spent the last half of it at La Concha. The grounds/pools and facilites were beautifully maintained and the view of the ocean is fabulous. What made the stay especially enjoyable was how friendly the staff was from the moment we arrived until we left. Valet, wait staff and maids and desk were all very personable with the highlight being Felix Perez (valet) greeting us and our children with high fives each morning when we were leaving to see the island. You will not be dissapointed here.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gcarrier2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

My first time in Puerto Rico and it was one to remember. The hotel is located in the heart of San Juan and at the tip of the beach.

Before arriving at this hotel i spoke with Michael Tischler to arrange a special night at the hotel I was proposing to my girlfriend. My stay was for a week and when i spoke to Michael he made everything seem very easy and it was like a weight was lifted off my shoulders to have to plan something.

Even though he was not there the mastermind behind the whole plan was him. He assured that someone would be on staff to assist with the setup and everything went smoothly. He followed up through email and phone to make me feel like everything was going to be good. I am a very intricate planner and i like to be on point and he made it very easy and calm. Jeffrey who was on staff at the time got the plan from Michael and he executed it with perfection. Even when my girlfriend was with me talking with us he played it off good. Without his help and recommendations this experience would have never been possible. The proposal went fantastic and the experience was once in a lifetime.

HOTEL ROOM -
The view from the room ocean front view i received was memorable and fantastic. The room i received had a balcony which was great for just relaxing and you can open the windows to get some fresh air (The AC will turn off if you do this). The shower contained a dual head shower which was nice. The bed was very comfortable and for some reason i think they maids clean your room like twice a day. The room has a SAFE and alarm clock and, ipod dock and music player for people with CD/Bluetooth. The TV has connections in the back if you are one of those people that like to play movies from your computer (Bring your own connections).

HOTEL GYM -
I went to the gym once in my whole stay and it is a decent size gym with CLASSES. i didn't end up going to the classes but they were doing YOGA. The gym had weights, and general exercise equipment and enough for it not to be crowded with all the guest working out. They all have mini TVs and they supply you with headphones if you forget to bring yours. Workout towels to workout and staff on hand to assist you with any questions about the workout equipment.

HOTEL -
Once you arrive in this hotel you are greeted with smiles and the great customer service. As you walk into the hotel you see water everywhere and pools and lights and a nice bar. On the right you will notice a small but good enough casino which i won money in!! Parking lot is also located on the right side in a side entrance. As other reviewers have said the there will be no early check in. That was not a problem for me since i had a car and was able to explore OLD SAN JUAN. (What a beautiful place). They will supply you with a pager or call you when you room is ready. The hotel is situated with a CVS and Walgreens ( 2 Blocks away) a wendys and Subways near the hotel and other shops where you can buy like liquor, beers, and cigars. Right outside you will have access to car rentals if you would like and instant access to taxis who are waiting to take you to anywhere you want. Taxis speak english and if not the hotel staff can assist you on where you want to go. The hotel itself has two restaurants which i ate breakfast in the morning. The service and attention you receive in the hotel is phenomenal The hotel pool consist of 3 pools and a WHOLE beach for guests and the water is warm! There is a TOWEL HUT (Stand) situated) in between the pools which supply guests with large beach towels. There are tons of chairs you can sit on and even beds you can use to tan outside with small cabanas and you can request additional chairs and umbrellas from the hard working staff. I heard other people reviewing about noise and staying on high floors from parties or music playing but i didnt hear any loud music any of the 5 nights i was there. If they did play music it was not loud enough that it would bother someone from sleeping. I was on the 9th floor and i believe the hotel has 11 floors. The concierge is also VERY helpful in finding recommendations and booking reservations and excursions for you. I saw ALOT of people waiting for their excursions to pick them up. Meaning it must be popular and good. If you are ever hungry they have food that you can order pool side as well as in the hotel. In the mornings just before everyone wakes up they are cleaning top to bottom. People here work VERY hard and keep the hotel looking good. We woke up pretty early in the mornings to beat the lines for the attractions and saw the staff cleaning the pools, beach, floors, bars, i mean EVERYTHING.


Hotel Parking -
I rented a car and i ended up parking in the SELF parking lot. I believe valet cost a bit more...
Im not sure how much self parking is but i got a rate that included free parking. (You will need to have them validate your ticket and you will use the same ticket to go in and out of the parking lot (Unlimited)).

Driving to the HOTEL-
Driving to the hotel is VERY EASY since you can punch the address into any GPS or you can use google by typing LA CONCHA. It is very easy walking and driving (2.5 miles) or less from old san juan. Driving to other areas of San Juan/ Puerto Rico is very convenient (El Yunque, Rio Camuy, Bio Bay) Those are the 3 main attractions that i went to and driving there was a breeze because it was so close to the highways. It is also VERY close to the airport about 4 miles.

Unfortunately i have nothing to compare this to in terms of resorts since this is my first time in a resort but i would say that being someone that travels a lot and stays at hotels this is definitely a must stay hotel. They also have an Elite line for guest who have some status. If you plan on visiting San Juan i would highly recommend this hotel and their staff.

Room Tip: I would choose a room in the corners that way you get a nice view from all sides. View of streets a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kevin l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

I love that hotel and the people. The place is amazing and clean. The people are so friendly, well except for 1 person, the male Concierge, he's not helpful, we asked him if he can book tours for our family, we choose the rainforest tour and right away he said it's full and we can't take the tour, he didn't even bother to help us look for another tour or at least tried to call other tour agencies to check. That's how a Concierge should be, he should go beyond and provide excellent service to guests. Guest relations are more accommodating and friendly than the Concierge.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Miggytoykoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Washington, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

After having a bad experience at one property in PR, I decided to try la Concha which I do not regret! This place has everything under one roof! The beach is literally apart of the hotel. As soon as you take a step out of the back door you are stepping in sand from the beach. The pool is absolutely breath taking and the staff is accommodating and very nice. This place is perfect for gamblers as there is a fully functioning casino on the first level.

On our next trip to PR I will definitely be staying at the La Concha!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SaLoneStarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

The perfect holiday resort. We had a great suite, stunning view, 8th floor with a balcony overlooking the ocean. We ate in all the restaurants, not a single complaint for the whole stay.

Just one word of advice... Do not book through lastminute.com!
We chose the suite with sea view including breakfast, we paid an extra £270 on the booking just for breakfast (£30/day). There was no mention of breakfast on our booking confirmation & we arrived to find it was not actually included. Lastminute.com have literally stolen £270 from us & the hotel. When I contacted them to complain they said said unless I had a screenshot of the booking to prove I chose the option with breakfast they would do nothing. (Who on earth takes a screenshot when booking a holiday?) As a matter of principal we've eaten breakfast out every morning, which is a shame because the hotel's restaurants are great but there are also plenty of other perfectly good restaurants nearby.

No fault whatsoever of the hotel's & I will never use lastminute.com to book another holiday. Highly recommend La Concha for anyone looking for a chilled out beach/pool/sun holiday.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank OZLIGHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
0.2 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.9 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#18 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,677 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
4.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#6 of 13 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,080 reviews
0.3 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort

Property: La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
Address: 1077 Ashford Avenue, San Juan 00907-1128, Puerto Rico (Formerly La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel)
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#2 Business Hotel in San Juan
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#6 Family Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the La Concha Resort experience, the stunning renovation of one of San Juan's most elegantly chic properties. On a sun-drenched corner of Caribbean beachfront in San Juan's most prestigious Condado district, La Concha is an icon of modernist architecture replete with spacious exhilarating decor and detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Concha Hotel Renaissance
Renaissance San Juan
San Juan Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing