We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful and Unique Penthouse”
other travellers have booked this property
The cantilevered staircase tower has lots of charm!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The cantilevered staircase tower has lots of charm!
Your kitchenette has microwave, mini-fridge, coffee-maker, kettle, toaster - but no stove. Your make-up station with lighted mirror.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
The cantilevered staircase tower has lots of charm!
Your kitchenette has microwave, mini-fridge, coffee-maker, kettle, toaster - but no stove.
Your make-up station with lighted mirror.
Bedroom with the wall opened for full view to the TV room.
The main gallery is built on the original rooftop water cistern.
Vintage stained glass window.
Bedroom with king bed.
Bedroom wall closed - seen from the TV room.
Close the 'invisible wall' at night for privacy or to use the air conditioning.
Bedroom has air conditioning and ceiling fan.
Kitchen
Closet with lots of space.
Mosaic in the walk-in closet.
Bathroom overview.
Bathroom has urinal - no fights over 'seat up' or 'seat down'!
Double sinks with large mirror, make-up mirror, hair dryer + towels.
Shower opens out to terrace garden.
your shower seen from outside - don't worry, its still very private!
Don't worry, the birds aren't real... but you will see lots of birds from the terrace.
Body wash, shampoo and conditioner are provided.
The 'hidden' toilet is behind a unique sliding door.
You have a locked door at the top of the stairs to your penthouse.
Historic House in San Juan Arts District - Penthouse suite is the entire top floor!
The lobby.
Front Door has a bulletin board with what's going on in San Juan!
Ground Floor Lobby has coffee/tea station & 'emergency rum' just outside the museum and art gallery.
Entrance to the art gallery is under the carnival mask - entrance to the stairway is to the right.
The other side of the lobby with folk art horse.
We provide beach towels, guides, first aid, yoga mats in the lobby.
Musem of folk art on the first floor of the building.
Join the curator for a glass of wine and museum tour during your stay!
Ellie Pruess Gallery is located at the end of the lobby.
Lobby with antique floor tiles.
Antique floor tiles from 1915 - a unique hydraulic cement technique that still looks new!
Lobby: there is a box of quarters if you need to make change for the bus.
You pass through the second floor dining room on your way up to the penthouse.
Stairs from the dining room up to the penthouse.
Stairway from the second floor dining area up to your penthouse.
You have your own key to the locked door to the stairway.
Abradacabra Arts 'Counter-Café' is just next door to us!
Abracadabra has frequent arts events and Jazz every Friday night.
Your next door rock band practice a couple times a week - but they rarely practice later than 10pm.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
San Juan, Puerto Rico

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
zakry3323
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Unique Penthouse”
Reviewed 5 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

It's so difficult to write a review about this amazing space. The location was excellent, very convenient to the local bars, clubs, great food, and museums. Old San Juan is a short bus ride away, and taking one was a lot less stressful than having to deal with trying to find parking.

The space itself was immaculately clean, creatively renovated, and very comfortable. When closed off, the air conditioning helped provide a cool, relaxing, (Mosquito Free!) space within the master bedroom. My wife and I found ourselves staying in a bit more than we had planned, it was just so easy to relax within this wonderful space.

Perhaps the most delightfully surprising aspect in staying here was our renter, Richard. Richard went far beyond being a typical renter, and was much more like a welcoming host and guide. He gave us a tour of the main-floor level museum, dedicated to native hand-carved Virgin of Montserrat and Three Kings Santos. After we had some time to settle in, he then took us on a tour of the neighborhood, giving us all the insider tips on what to see, where to eat, and how to get around. It became clear to us that Richard was very involved and passionate about Santurce, and his excitement was infectious.

Without any reservations, we would very highly recommend staying here.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Curious30...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful. Relaxing. Just wonderful!”
Reviewed 17 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I booked the casita and was pleasantly surprised with an upgrade to the penthouse. Thanks, Richard! The apartment is well-situated in the funky Santurce area with easy access to anything you want to do (beach, restaurants, Old San Juan, restaurants, music, art). Richard really knows the neighborhood and started off my stay with a nice walking tour. Do yourself a favor and book this apartment!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space and the solitude.
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nessmirel...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 26 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Richard is very hospitable and had a lot of very good information and suggestions, we are planning on going back for sure. If you're interested in visiting PR and seeing it the way the locals do, this is the place to stay.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSDarrell
Fredericton, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great apartment, very pleased with our stay.”
Reviewed 29 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
4
people found this review helpful

My wife and I spent 15 enjoyable days in mid-January at 456 Calle Saldana Santurce. Richard met us upon arrival and took us on a walking tour of the neighbourhood pointing out street art, cultural features, places to eat, stores, bars and the community market area that offers a variety of locally produced goods.

We had the 3rd floor penthouse apartment and found the open design to be very functional and relaxing. The 2 large ceiling fans and the sliding doors (with bug screens) ensured that the place was always breezy and comfortable no matter how hot the day was. The shrubs and plants around the perimeter of the rooftop patio provided shade and privacy that really disguised the fact that we were in the city. The fountain was also great at masking the traffic and assorted city noises. We enjoyed watching the several small lizards that patrolled the area looking for mosquitoes and bugs. At night, closing the sliding wall panels and heavy curtain between the sitting/TV room and bedroom, and closing the patio doors allowed the AC unit to cool the bedroom down for very comfortable sleeping. We liked the open concept. The kitchen was fine for a vacation rental (large fridge, microwave, electric frying pan, coffee maker, toaster, blender, dishes & cutlery). The combination pantry/closet has ample space for hanging up clothes to keep things wrinkle free.

The wifi is certainly adequate for email and web browsing, but struggles with video streaming. I was able to use my VPN encrypted connection for online banking with no problems. We had connection problems one morning, but Richard worked all day to ensure it was fixed by that evening. The TV had lots of channels, but we only turned it on once.

Santurce is an interesting area with the street art and eclectic architecture. Spanish is definitely the predominant language, but it was almost always possible to find people who speak English if necessary. Santurce seemed a bit sketchy after dark, but high on our 3rd floor patio, we often sat out late in the evening enjoying the stars and the warm air. The evenings and mornings on our private patio were our favourite times of the day. Sometimes the mosquitoes would find us, but there was usually enough breeze to keep them moving along.

Richard's well written document describing the building and neighbourhood answers most questions that come up, and it's a good idea to read it through if you are going to be staying for a few days. We found him to be very available and responsive to things like a clogged drain, internet connection and answering questions of how to get to the mall, etc..

We made many visits to the Ocean Park beach which is about an 11 minute brisk walk away. The beach is beautiful with nice sand and often very large waves. There are no washroom facilities and that is a bit inconvenient. There are places to rent chairs, but we just took beach towels and that worked out fine. Richard has some folding camp chairs, but we never bothered to carry them over to the beach. There are lots of people walking up and down the beach selling cold beer or water for $3 each, or you could just buy a 6 pack of cold beer for less than $6 on the way at the gas station on Calle Loiza (2 blocks before the beach). We decided one day to walk to Isla Verde Beach as it didn't look that far on the map. It's far, so take a bus (75 cents) or a cab ($16).

We tried each day to have breakfast and one other meal in the apartment, and went out or ordered takeout for the main meal of the day. We especially liked the black food truck across from the High School on Ponce de Lyon, but they tended to run out of things by 1:00 pm. We did most of our grocery shopping at the Pueblo supermarket that's a couple of blocks away, but be prepared, Puerto Rico has high prices. It seemed that almost everything would cost the same or more US dollars as it would at home in Canadian dollars. With the current exchange rate, that means the cost for most items is about 42% more than it would be in Canada.

We certainly enjoyed our visit to San Juan and would definitely recommend 456 Calle Saldana as a great place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The layout of the apartment and the patio
Liked least: The 11 - 15 minute walk to the beach
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judybusy
Minneapolis
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“The only place to stay in San Juan”
Reviewed 16 September 2015 for a stay in January 2013
3
people found this review helpful

My partner and I have stayed with Richard several times, and will be going again January 2016. We absolutely love the penthouse apartment. It's beautiful, quiet, and Richard is a great host. The neighborhood is interesting, and the Museum of Puerto Rican Arts, the Mercado, and a large upscale grocery store are all within five to fifteen minutes' walk. Old San Juan is an easy bus ride away. We don't do the beach in SJ--that's what Vieques is for--but you can walk to the beach in 15". We've also stayed one night in the first floor--cute, but we like the spaciousness of the third floor. Book early, as this gem fills up quickly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The decor and the private balcony with decorative pool.
Liked least: It gets booked quickly. We had to stay elsewhere one year.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryne B
Jonestown, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The honeymoon of our dreams!”
Reviewed 16 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
5
people found this review helpful

I'll start with Richard. What an amazing host! The price we paid for our week in the Penthouse would have been a reasonable price to pay for Richard's guidance and advice alone! From the moment we contacted him to inquire about a rental all the way through our stay, we knew we could count on Richard. Whether it's this location or somewhere else, if he is your contact, book with confidence!

We chose this location for our honeymoon rather than the typical resort where you are confined to one location. This allowed us the flexibility to really explore the island, immerse ourselves in the culture and, most importantly, sample the food!

Upon arriving at the house, Richard greeted us warmly and showed us around a bit. We then went for a walking tour of Santurce. Richard is a wealth of information of his area and the entire island. During our walk, he pointed out the grocery store, gym, bars, restaurants and other key points of interest. He also pointed out important cultural and architectural landmarks. At the end of our tour, he dropped us off at a local restaurant and left us on our own to explore!

Our time spent in the house was always extremely relaxing and awe inspiring. Due to a late cancellation, the second floor unit was vacant and Richard was gracious enough to allow us to use the full kitchen. This saved us lots of money, as I was able to whip up tasty breakfasts for the Mrs. right at home! In addition, Richard allowed us to use a homemade batch of sofritas he'd made! The Penthouse is beautifully laid out. The bedroom and television room are large and the design is very open. We spent a fair amount of time relaxing on the peaceful balcony, as well. The bed was super comfortable and the a/c cranked to make our overnights feel like home.

Every suggestion Richard gave us was on the money. Rather than getting into all of them, I'll suggest my favorite. If you rent a car, definitely take Richard's advice on visiting Luquillo! The Kioskos are amazingly diverse and a cultural cornucopia! From the road they look like an old run down strip mall. But up close, you'll find an elderly Puerto Rican woman selling homemade candy in one unit, next to a trinket store, next to a dive bar, next to a fine dining restaurant! It's incredible and best of all, there is a beautiful public beach directly behind the Kioskos. The beach was very sparsely populated while we were there and the water was clear, calm and warm. On the way home, make sure to stop by El Verde BBQ (another Richard suggestion) and pick up delicious Puerto Rican food by the pound to eat during your stay!

I could go on and on, but the picture is clear. Book a stay with Richard and you will not be sorry! Thank you, Richard!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The host, the neighborhood, the beautiful decor, local food!
Liked least: Had to leave. :(
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing