We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Home Away from Home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Coqui del Mar Guest House
Ranked #5 of 30 San Juan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 1 August 2012

My experience at Coqui Del Mar was incredible, Neal and Noyda were some of the nicest people I have ever met. They were very helpful with everything from our needs in the room to helping us plan our day trips. The Beach was just right around the corner and everything else was easily accessible. We stayed in the "La Concha" room which was very nice, it has a kitchen with everything you need and a very nice bathroom with 2 shower heads which can come in handy. The AC was nice it kept the room cool all day. But, overall the thing that made Coqui so great was the management, they where very welcoming and made the place feel like home, which I think is hard to find when staying abroad. I will definitely be staying at Coqui Del Mar on my next trip to Puerto Rico, which hopefully will be sooner than later.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (469)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 469 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2012

Our family spent a week here and had a wonderful time. The El Pescado room was large enough for two teens and two adults. Noyda and Neal made us feel right at home. We were walking distance to the beach, shopping and bus lines. I highly recommend Coqui Del Mar.

Gina and Todd Truax

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

We were shocked at how accommodating Noyda and her husband were!
They went above and beyond what we ever experienced or imagined! and they were so down to earth and engaging.
The location was a short block to wonderful beach; and walkable to restaurants. The accommodations erred perfect for our group of six - we had a 3 bedroom apt with outdoor porch. We felt like we were the only guests.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank readytogoMilford_Ct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

If you're looking for a typical tourist resort, this is not the place for you. This is a guest house in a residential neighborhood, far away from the main tourist drags. The managers are extremely friendly and helpful, and the value is excellent. it's literally steps from the beach, and within walking distance of some very good restaurants (both fancy cuisine and local eateries). Nice hot tub in the courtyard, and plenty of beach chairs, boogie boards, coolers, etc. to borrow & bring to the beach.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JimSalad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Stayed at Coqui del Mar. What a great time we had. If you want to be away from the crowds with very few people on the beach which is a hop skip and jump away from the hotel, then this is the place. Are room had a kitchen and the supermarket was just down the road. Very quite area. We will return again soon.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jens F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

A wonderful experience

I was one of six women who just returned from a stay at the guesthouse and we could not have had a better time. You won't find better hosts than Neal & Noyda who went above and beyond to make our visit wonderful. On the first day I had a swollen ankle and Noyda want so far as to drive me to the restaurant and back home again so that I should not injure it further. I thought that was above & beyond the call of duty. The beautiful beach is so close by and we had chairs and towels and there are pails and shovels, etc available. The area is lovely and we six, who are a walking group, enjoyed strolling to different restaurants in the area. The rooms are clean, the kitchen had all the appliance you might need and we could not find anything disappointing the whole of our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 83flowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Coqui del Mar is truly one of the best places I have ever stayed at on vacation! Noyda and Neil, the managers of the guest house, are so warm and welcoming. My friend and I arrived a couple of hours before check-in time, and the room wasn't ready yet, so Neil stored our luggage for us, showed us where the beach and grocery store was (both walking distance), and even gave us beach towels and a cooler with ice and water for us to relax on the beach while our room was getting cleaned up. They also had bikes for us to borrow (complimentary) and we were able to ride down to Condado easily, which saved us a $20 cab ride each way.

This place is definitely like a home away from home. It is located in a residential neighborhood a block away from the beach and literally felt like we were coming back "home" after our adventures. If you are looking for a stuffy 5-star hotel, then look elsewhere because this is not the place for you. This guest house is just that: a B&B style guest house.

Each room is unique and serves varying travelers (details of each room on their website). We stayed in El Cangrejo, which had a full sized bed, a fully equipped kitchen, and a steam shower (YES, a steam shower!). The only thing is there was not enough counter space in the bathroom for 2 girls' worth of toiletries & makeup, but we were able to make due by setting up 2 folding TV trays that we found in the closet (LOL).

Coqui del Mar, thanks for making our stay in Puerto Rico a memorable one! We are definitely planning on visiting PR again with a larger group and coming back to stay with you (in a larger room, of course). Noyda mentioned that there was a family that rented out all of the rooms of the guest house for a wedding. If I wasn't already married, I would highly consider renting out the whole guest house and having a wedding there. I absolutely love this place!

Room Tip: El Cangrejo is perfect for 2 people, no room for a third person unless you don't mind sleeping o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melissa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
1.5 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
2.2 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
1.8 mi away
El San Juan Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#7 of 13 in Isla Verde
3,255 reviews
1.8 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
2.0 mi away
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coqui del Mar Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coqui del Mar Guest House

Address: 2218 Calle Gen Del Valle, San Juan 00913-4514, Puerto Rico (Formerly Coqui del Mar Guesthouse)
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan
Price Range: £70 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coqui del Mar Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you want to experience Puerto Rico like a local while still having all the conveniences of home, this is your place. We make you feel at home. You have private personal space (all rooms have private kitchens and private bathrooms), while in a beach side neighborhood setting away from the crowded tourist areas. You will experience some of the best Puerto Rico has to offer while living like a local, visiting the restaurants frequently visited by locals (no chain restaurants near us). We are in the Ocean Park beach area of San Juan, in between Old San Juan and the international airport. We are 3 minutes walk to the nearest beach. Ocean Park beach is one of the locals's favoites, and also a preferred spot for kite surfing and windsurfers. We are 5 minutes walk to the tourist bus route (which goes to the casinos and to Old San Juan) and walkable to restaurants and grocery stores. Each of our units have full kitchen, free WiFi, cable TV/DVD, Apple TV, in room safes, and an Ipod player. We strive to provide more than expected, and I think you will find that with us, from the beach chairs, or bicycles to the in room safes, there are never extra charges. One of the best things about us is our live in management, Noyda and Neal, who call Coqui del Mar home and welcome you as if it is your home as well. They are local experts and can help you find a great restaurant, plan a special event, or enjoy a chat. Our courtyard, bar-b-que and jacuzzi are great for meeting other guests. If you are looking for personal service and a unique, eco-friendly (we have solar hot water supplemented by electric, ceiling fans supplemented by ACs, and offer recycling), and a clean guest house for a reasonable price, then check us out. We are not a Marriott and offer our own unique sense of quirky and intimate Puerto Rico. Come join us. *Our free parking is on a public street in front of our location. Not difficult to find a spot, but it is not designated parking for our guest house and is open to all. * Airport transportation acknowledges that there is taxi service from the airport. **Free parking is on street parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Coqui del Mar Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coqui Del Mar Hotel San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing