We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An affordable way to stay a block from the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Coqui del Mar Guest House
Ranked #5 of 29 San Juan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An affordable way to stay a block from the beach”
Reviewed 19 June 2013

I loved my time at Coqui Del Mar. I was visiting San Juan for vacation and the location is great. It takes just a few minutes to get to Coqui Del Mar from the airport - and its not far from the tourist spots (if that's what you are looking for). The apartments are comfortable - with lots of great features (we had an Apple TV in ours). Wifi was good too which is great for planning your excursions.

I stayed part of my time without a rental car - and part of it with a rental car (so that I could drive into the Jungle) and parking was a snap.

The manager (Noyda) is super friendly and has great recommendations for restaurants.

I can't wait to go back - and I will definitely stay here!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hieggelke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    386
    76
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
76
204
39
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Crystal Lake, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at Coqui Del Mar the first week of June 2013. Noyda and her staff were phenomenal and took great care of us. The hotel isn't in downtown Old San Juan, it's a $ .75 bus trip or $12-ish taxi trip, but that's exactly what we wanted. There weren't a lot of tourists in the hotel's immediate surroundings so we got to hear a lot of Spanish although everything at the hotel was in English. The beach is a block from the hotel and isn't very crowded. We preferred staying at the beach by the hotel as opposed to going closer to Old San Juan because it was so much quieter.

We stayed in the La Concha room and had a great bathroom, very comfortable bed, and nice kitchen area. Beach towels were provided so don't waste the space in your suitcase by packing your own! I would definitely recommend buying breakfast supplies just to save some money and to use the amenities provided.

I would absolutely recommend this hotel to families, couples, friends, anyone--and I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: The hotel is very small and I think most rooms were pretty quiet. The La Concha room was on the seco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lgroat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

I took a group of five students to Puerto Rico to do volunteer work at Save a Sato and I am so glad that the organization recommended Coquí del Mar to me. It was everything I was hoping for. The rooms are super clean and you couldn't ask for more hospitality. I didn't get to know Noyda well because she left on vacation the day after we arrived, but I had the privilege of getting to know both Rob (the owner) and Estee (the housekeeper) and enjoyed long chats with both of them. I don't think I've ever stayed at a hotel that cares this much about the guests' experience with them. It felt like we were staying with friends. It's also great because it is about a two minute walk to the beach. Because the property is behind a locked gate, I felt very comfortable letting my students hang out in the courtyard or use the jacuzzi at night, knowing the were safe even when I was in my room.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElenaConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

My daughter and fiancé and many of their friends stayed here during their wedding festivities. Many, many thanks go out to Noyda and Robert and Etsy for making everyone comfortable and happy and stress-free during a very busy time. The place is lovely and spotlessly clean. Rooms have everything you need to feel at home. The residential neighborhood is shaded with trees and only a very short walk to the beach. Only wish I had stayed there as well! But I did spend a lot of time there pre and post wedding and can say it helped make our special occasion very memorable!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BjAaTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 June 2013

What an incredible place to stay if you want to live amongst the natives and get a first-hand awareness of a true San Juan. Noyda, the manager, was more than helpful with great information on tours and excursions. Lots of fun things to do here. I know my family is going back. Thanks Noyda.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lawrence Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worms, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Noyda and the team at Coqui del Mar were very friendly and accomodating. I stayed for a week in a very busy season so had to move around a bit. They helped me with my luggage and even let me use their laundry facilities. Great recommendations on things to do in the area.

Room Tip: Go with el Pesco...simply the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RDC739
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Best guest house experience I had in my life.

I stayed in the "El Sol" package from April 21st to April 29th with 8 other people. All I have is good things to say about Noyda, Robert, and Etsy from Coqui Del Mar.

I spoke with Robert via email and he answered my MANY questions quickly, always in professional manner. NEVER did I get any sass during our emails.

Noyda was like a gift from heaven. She was such a great part of the stay at Coqui Del Mar. Her personality and service was better than any 5 star hotel I've been to. She is in charge of the Guesthouse and all its glory.
Noyda is all of these traits: sweet, helpful, humble, warm, friendly, love-able, professional, understanding, and much much more. I plan to come at least once every other year to share the cozy environment they offer.

Etsy is the amazing housemaid that cleans the ENTIRE guesthouse. She is extremely hardworking and never misses a spot. She is the 2nd sweetest person (first being Noyda) at Coqui Del Mar. Etsy made sure all 9 of us were happy and that we had clean sheets and towels whenever needed. She even gave me and my party advice on places to go during our stay.

The guesthouse was very clean. Even the jacuzzi was kept tidy at all times. My personal favorite part of the stay was being able to wash my clothes in the laundry room. The guest house has a great location in a small gated community where the beach, supermarket, and park are all a 5 minute walk away.

One great thing I should mention about Noyda is her ability to multitask. Noyda was always hard at work BUT always managed to aid me at any time. She knows her business well and gave me helpful answers at any time.

Going to Coqui Del Mar has to be the best part of my stay in Puerto Rico.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MePache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
2.2 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
1.5 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
1.3 mi away
TRYP by Wyndham Isla Verde
TRYP by Wyndham Isla Verde
#3 of 13 in Isla Verde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
2.0 mi away
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
0.6 mi away
The Dreamcatcher
The Dreamcatcher
#2 of 29 in San Juan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coqui del Mar Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coqui del Mar Guest House

Property: Coqui del Mar Guest House
Address: 2218 Calle Gen Del Valle, San Juan 00913-4514, Puerto Rico (Formerly Coqui del Mar Guesthouse)
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Coqui del Mar Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you want to experience Puerto Rico like a local while still having all the conveniences of home, this is your place. We make you feel at home. You have private personal space (all rooms have private kitchens and private bathrooms), while in a beach side neighborhood setting away from the crowded tourist areas. You will experience some of the best Puerto Rico has to offer while living like a local, visiting the restaurants frequently visited by locals (no chain restaurants near us). We are in the Ocean Park beach area of San Juan, in between Old San Juan and the international airport. We are 3 minutes walk to the nearest beach. Ocean Park beach is one of the locals's favoites, and also a preferred spot for kite surfing and windsurfers. We are 5 minutes walk to the tourist bus route (which goes to the casinos and to Old San Juan) and walkable to restaurants and grocery stores. Each of our units have full kitchen, free WiFi, cable TV/DVD, Apple TV, in room safes, and an Ipod player. We strive to provide more than expected, and I think you will find that with us, from the beach chairs, or bicycles to the in room safes, there are never extra charges. One of the best things about us is our live in management, Noyda and Neal, who call Coqui del Mar home and welcome you as if it is your home as well. They are local experts and can help you find a great restaurant, plan a special event, or enjoy a chat. Our courtyard, bar-b-que and jacuzzi are great for meeting other guests. If you are looking for personal service and a unique, eco-friendly (we have solar hot water supplemented by electric, ceiling fans supplemented by ACs, and offer recycling), and a clean guest house for a reasonable price, then check us out. We are not a Marriott and offer our own unique sense of quirky and intimate Puerto Rico. Come join us. *Our free parking is on a public street in front of our location. Not difficult to find a spot, but it is not designated parking for our guest house and is open to all. * Airport transportation acknowledges that there is taxi service from the airport. **Free parking is on street parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Coqui del Mar Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coqui Del Mar Hotel San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing