We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is a lovely, peaceful, homely, and convenient guest house!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Coqui del Mar Guest House
Ranked #5 of 29 San Juan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This is a lovely, peaceful, homely, and convenient guest house!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2009

This is a lovely place to rent if you are looking to enjoy Puerto Rico without the tourist twist. The Coqui Del Mar is a home away from home. The beach is exactly a few steps away from the guest house, the bus is close and you can walk or ride the bikes to restaurants, the supermarket and nigthlife. Nuyda was an excellent host along with her brother Jr. The accomodations were clean,there is airconditioning, and a wonderful quaint place to enjoy Puerto Rico. I can't wait to return and will recommend the guest house to others. Thank you Robert, Nuyda and Junior...See you very soon!- The Ramirez Group from Virginia.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Orocoviz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    383
    76
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
75
204
39
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2009

As a journalist, I've stayed at many kinds of hotels and this guesthouse was one of the best decisions I've made.

I stayed a full week and loved every second. I stayed in the Pescado Room. Its a HUGE apartment type room. A full sized kitchen and bath, a quaint seperate bedroom, and a sleeper sofa that could hold a couple more people. It's right on the courtyard close to the bbq and lounge chairs. Perfect to entertain, or just to rest with the hum of the fountain outside the window. The best part is the place is seeing some major upgrades. I'm talking about granite countertops, stone bathrooms complete with modern bowl sinks, platform beds and flatscreen t.v.s. For what you pay, it's a real luxury. Not to mention you're just steps from the beach, and a short cab ride from Candado where I stayed most of the time. Here's the kicker: The owners are GREAT! Attentative without being overbearing. I can't wait to get back and see what other great things they have done.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MontroseDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coqui_del_mar, Owner/Marketing Director at Coqui del Mar Guest House, responded to this review, 6 July 2009
We love to have our guests leave reviews....its the best compliment. While we love a flattering review the most, I want to ensure our future guests have the correct expectations when staying with us. We are a budget hotel and while we are renovating, we will not be installing granite kitchens anytime soon. The La Luna and El Mango have new bathrooms, but most of our rooms and kitchens have formica counter tops and 70s style tile. Clean but dated. We do provide flat screen Vizio TVs, WIFI, in room safes and IPOD docks in most units. We try to provide more than expected. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2009

We stayed two nights prior to a cruise, and had friends meet us there as well. There are several varieties of accomodations, however, I loved the space, and feel of a home, without the "hotel" restrictions. We enjoyed a well equipped kitchen, three bedrooms and three bathrooms, living area, and outside terrace.. The easy walk to the beach, surrounding park, and restaurants were convenient for us without a car. We took the bus in to Old San Juan for under a dollar one way, and stayed most of the day, returning that evening. The buses run every day until 9pm except Sundays. The taxi from the airport and from Old San Juan range 15.00-25.00 dollars depending on luggage. We would recommend this to any traveler. The owner and staff are helpful and nonintrusive.
S.Rodriguez, Florida

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank piquete_s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgantown, WV
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2009

Very Nice, Accommodated, and in a great location. I highly recommend it and I will be staying there again when I go back to Puerto Rico.Coqui del .

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gtown1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2009

We stayed at this place for a week and everything was beyond what we expected. There was 7 of us and all the accommations were way more than what we needed. Noyda was extremely helpful and very knowledgeable about everything. She had recommendations on where to go what to do who to talk to it was very helpful. The condo is located less than 5 minutes away from restaurants and shops we walked to the beach every morning which was one street over. The rooms were larger than expected and everything was stocked from plates, towels, soap, glasses, pots, coolers, boogie boards, bikes, air conditioners and fans in each room, etc. It was very well kept and clean, just beautiful. We stayed in the El Sol unit A. You pretty much have nothing to worry about there. We had a parking spot out front and a front and back patio. The back patio has an outdoor shower and you could have a nice dinner in the back with the gas grill and chairs and tables and there was even a little area for someone to serve drinks like a mini bar. We are definitely planning on returning only because we found the perfect place. We all have been in Hawaii for the last 5 months which is hard to beat but Noyda and the condo helped us enjoy our time more in Puerto Rico even with it raining everyday. The only complaint we had was that the male manager was at times negative his comments kind of threw us all off guard. He was not as helpful and seemed to be keeping too close of an eye on us asking what things we were taking for the day or telling us he needed to keep an eye on his inventory. Where Noyda was more trustworthy because we knew we put down a security deposit for a reason and should not have been bothered that way. I would rather say he was a little judgemental. If you need any help I would definitely look to Noyda she takes the time to talk and see what you are really looking for. This place is definitely 5 stars.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donnie131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casa Grande, AZ
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2009

I didn't realize the Coqui del Mar wasa for long term stays with a three night minimum, when I asked for a one-night stay. Since they had a room available, they let me have it for the single night. All the amenities of the room are geared to long term stays. For my one night stay I didn't need a kitchen or refrigerator. But my suite was imaculate and spacious and would have been great for a family of 4. The staff were courteous and kind and allowed me to leave my bags there while I killed a few hours before my flight out.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ACAsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crooklyn
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2009

from the rooms to the people, the location to the price- couldn't have asked for anything to fit us better than this place. it was totally comfortable for our four kids all bunking together, with a great patio for the parents to hang out on. close mellow beaches and great new playground down the block. the caretakers were friendly and helpful. i would stay here if i were single too. striking distance to everything.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eduardorooster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
2.2 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
1.5 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
1.3 mi away
TRYP by Wyndham Isla Verde
TRYP by Wyndham Isla Verde
#2 of 13 in Isla Verde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
2.0 mi away
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
0.6 mi away
The Dreamcatcher
The Dreamcatcher
#2 of 29 in San Juan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coqui del Mar Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coqui del Mar Guest House

Property: Coqui del Mar Guest House
Address: 2218 Calle Gen Del Valle, San Juan 00913-4514, Puerto Rico (Formerly Coqui del Mar Guesthouse)
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Coqui del Mar Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you want to experience Puerto Rico like a local while still having all the conveniences of home, this is your place. We make you feel at home. You have private personal space (all rooms have private kitchens and private bathrooms), while in a beach side neighborhood setting away from the crowded tourist areas. You will experience some of the best Puerto Rico has to offer while living like a local, visiting the restaurants frequently visited by locals (no chain restaurants near us). We are in the Ocean Park beach area of San Juan, in between Old San Juan and the international airport. We are 3 minutes walk to the nearest beach. Ocean Park beach is one of the locals's favoites, and also a preferred spot for kite surfing and windsurfers. We are 5 minutes walk to the tourist bus route (which goes to the casinos and to Old San Juan) and walkable to restaurants and grocery stores. Each of our units have full kitchen, free WiFi, cable TV/DVD, Apple TV, in room safes, and an Ipod player. We strive to provide more than expected, and I think you will find that with us, from the beach chairs, or bicycles to the in room safes, there are never extra charges. One of the best things about us is our live in management, Noyda and Neal, who call Coqui del Mar home and welcome you as if it is your home as well. They are local experts and can help you find a great restaurant, plan a special event, or enjoy a chat. Our courtyard, bar-b-que and jacuzzi are great for meeting other guests. If you are looking for personal service and a unique, eco-friendly (we have solar hot water supplemented by electric, ceiling fans supplemented by ACs, and offer recycling), and a clean guest house for a reasonable price, then check us out. We are not a Marriott and offer our own unique sense of quirky and intimate Puerto Rico. Come join us. *Our free parking is on a public street in front of our location. Not difficult to find a spot, but it is not designated parking for our guest house and is open to all. * Airport transportation acknowledges that there is taxi service from the airport. **Free parking is on street parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coqui del Mar Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coqui Del Mar Hotel San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing