We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place to stay in the San Juan area...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coqui del Mar Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coqui del Mar Guest House
Ranked #4 of 30 San Juan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great place to stay in the San Juan area...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2010

Our room at Coqui del Mar was clean, spacious and comfortable. Our host, Noyda, was helpful, attentive and friendly. She is very knowledgable about the area and helped us with tour arrangements and restaurant recommendations. A beautiful municipal beach is just a block away. It's easy walking distance to restaurants and bus stops. If you are unfamiliar with the San Juan bus system, you should know that there is no schedule, you just go to the bus stop and hope for the best. The C-53 line is closest to the Coqui del Mar (about 2 blocks), but the A-5 (four short blocks) runs more frequently. Both go to Old San Juan. Note that the drivers don't make change, so you need 75 cents in coins to get on. Be sure to dine at Inca Chicken, a short walk away. It's inexpensive and informal, but offers a delicious blend of Puerto Rican and Peruvian food.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RLF213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    382
    76
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
75
203
39
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2010

This is my third time staying at Coqui Del Mar Guest House and it was great! All of the condos are neat and clean and very comfortable. I wished that more placed were as nice as this and for the money a real good deal! Great location, great assistance, and great accents! The focus of the place and service and service you get and damned great service! I have stayed at lots of places, but this one steals the cake. Neil and Noyda do their very best to keep you informed of things and offer all kinds of suggestions for things to do and great places to eat! This is the best ever in PR and if you ever come here you should stay at Coqui Del Mar!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Poldog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watertown, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2010

This the 3 rd year that I am my frineds have stayed at this establishment. The facilities and amenities are all excellent and the resident managers, Neil and Noyda were great. You could not ask for more helpful people w/ current and helpful information. We are treated more as family then just "guests." The cost of the room is very reasonable and everything was sooo clean and neat! There is no way that this could have been a better exprerience as the location of the guest house is perfect in a nice residential neighbourhood and only a short walk from the beach. This is a gem and we will be back for many more years to come! Thanks for making my holidays so special!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NoelBL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2010

Great little guest house. Small but clean and comfortable. Noyda and Neal are very hospitable and friendly hosts who make you feel at home. No hesitation in recommending Coqui del Mar! Do print out and take the 'how to find' instructions with you. Our taxi driver had some difficulty finding the place and didn't speak English, so the printed Spanish instructions were a big help.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Golfnuts1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2010

We were lucky enough to get a room here for just one night before a cruise. We wish we had been staying longer! The room was just a bit worn but spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The location was terrific, just one block away from the beach, and within walking distance to several great restaurants, bars, and a park. We loved being in a pretty neighborhood rather than a loud, touristy strip. Neil and Noyda were wonderful, always available with help and advice. We would stay here again in a heartbeat, but next time we would stay longer!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maggiesueb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2010

From the moment we stepped out of the taxi, we new that Coqui del Mar would be just the place for us to unwind and relax in the city. Just one block away from the Isla Verde end of the beach at Ocean Park, this little gem is tucked away in a neighborhood of sweet bungalows on a quiet street and just a 10 minute walk from the delicious cafeteria and bakery, Kasalta's.

Though we had originally attempted to book one of their smaller studio or one-bedroom apartments, we were given the spacious three bedroom apartment with full kitchen, TV/sitting room, two bathrooms, and a private, covered front porch (at the low rate of a 1-bedroom). Glad we thought to pack that Nefflix, as it turned out they had a DVD player! The apartment had everything you needed to cook, eat in, and just hang out; it would be a perfect spot for a group of friends or family to use as a home base for an island-wide vacation.

Our bedroom was clean, quiet, and minimally furnished, like a European hotel room. We left the overhead fan on pretty much all the time we spent there, and that kept it fresh and cool, though we could have turned on the air conditioner if it had been hotter.
The only thing we didn't particularly like were the mosquitos, which ended up being much more voracious here than in the rain forest. (There was a bug zapper on our front porch, but that didn't seem to do much.)

Managers/hosts Neal and Noyda are very approachable and helpful, whether you're after restaurant recommendations, tips on where/how to catch the local bus to the Santurce Marketplace or the University Botanical Gardens, an umbrella, or a taxi ride. They're also eco-minded and make use of the (sometimes ample) rainfall to use as a secondary water supply. (So don't expect taking a long, luxurious shower; this was actually fine with us, as it was functional enough.)

All in all, Coqui del Mar provides great value.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SnorkelGirlMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montevideo
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2010

we stayed just two separeted nights, in El mango and in La luna, and they were more than perfect for what we needed.
El mango is tiny but the space is very well used, perfect for a short 2 or 3 night stay.
La luna is beautiful and there's plenty of space for living there for the rest of your life..
Coqui is very well located, very close to the sea and safe to walk around by night.
Neal and Noyda are super helpful for whatever you need.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lorenaypablo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
2.1 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
1.5 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
2.8 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
TRYP by Wyndham Isla Verde
TRYP by Wyndham Isla Verde
#2 of 13 in Isla Verde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
1.8 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
2.0 mi away
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coqui del Mar Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coqui del Mar Guest House

Property: Coqui del Mar Guest House
Address: 2218 Calle Gen Del Valle, San Juan 00913-4514, Puerto Rico (Formerly Coqui del Mar Guesthouse)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Coqui del Mar Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you want to experience Puerto Rico like a local while still having all the conveniences of home, this is your place. We make you feel at home. You have private personal space (all rooms have private kitchens and private bathrooms), while in a beach side neighborhood setting away from the crowded tourist areas. You will experience some of the best Puerto Rico has to offer while living like a local, visiting the restaurants frequently visited by locals (no chain restaurants near us). We are in the Ocean Park beach area of San Juan, in between Old San Juan and the international airport. We are 3 minutes walk to the nearest beach. Ocean Park beach is one of the locals's favoites, and also a preferred spot for kite surfing and windsurfers. We are 5 minutes walk to the tourist bus route (which goes to the casinos and to Old San Juan) and walkable to restaurants and grocery stores. Each of our units have full kitchen, free WiFi, cable TV/DVD, Apple TV, in room safes, and an Ipod player. We strive to provide more than expected, and I think you will find that with us, from the beach chairs, or bicycles to the in room safes, there are never extra charges. One of the best things about us is our live in management, Noyda and Neal, who call Coqui del Mar home and welcome you as if it is your home as well. They are local experts and can help you find a great restaurant, plan a special event, or enjoy a chat. Our courtyard, bar-b-que and jacuzzi are great for meeting other guests. If you are looking for personal service and a unique, eco-friendly (we have solar hot water supplemented by electric, ceiling fans supplemented by ACs, and offer recycling), and a clean guest house for a reasonable price, then check us out. We are not a Marriott and offer our own unique sense of quirky and intimate Puerto Rico. Come join us. *Our free parking is on a public street in front of our location. Not difficult to find a spot, but it is not designated parking for our guest house and is open to all. * Airport transportation acknowledges that there is taxi service from the airport. **Free parking is on street parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Coqui del Mar Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coqui Del Mar Hotel San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing