We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Violet your the Best”
Review of Dragonfly

Dragonfly
Ranked #61 of 1,033 Restaurants in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$100
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Description: At Dragonfly's, our candlelit atmosphere is calming and provides for intimate spaces within the restaurant. Our romantic restaurant serves plenty of vegetarian and meat dishes and has two dining areas, a lounge, and two bars. We also offer our customers a communal noodle bar. Dragonfly's sexy, ruby red, and gold interior is transporting and designed to resemble an old opium den in tropical Asia.
New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Violet your the Best”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Thank you to the Manager Violet your the best thanks for taking care of myself and guest also thanks for making sure my previous guest ate well i'll see you soon. Tamara Lucky

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tamara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emilio F, Owner at Dragonfly, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
We're glad that you and your guests could stop in and see us, Tamara! Thanks for taking a moment to share some love with Violet -- she'll definitely appreciate your kudos. Hope to see you again soon.

Thank you for letting us be part of your story,
Emilio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

832 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    447
    221
    95
    31
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great spot”
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

This is a great restaurant for eclectic palates. The cocktails are great, food fantastic and a great vibe. A must see restaurant when in old San Juan...

Helpful?
Thank gjv12474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emilio F, Owner at Dragonfly, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Your recommendation means the world to us -- glad that you could spend an evening in Old San Juan soaking in all of the good vibes.

Thank you for letting us be part of your story,
Emilio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“LV Caliber Dining!”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

A lot of travelers that I bumped into paid high regards to this restaurant, hence our visit. Yep, the reviews were on the money & we enjoyed a Las Vegas high caliber sushi dinner. The spirit selection was of high caliber as well. Clearly, if you're on budget do not come here as the prices are par for the course, yet cheaper than Europe, for any tourist destination in Latin America. The staff was beyond welcoming & always offered a smile. The interior decor is quite impressive as I felt I was in the 90210 vicinity. Well done DragonFly! & mil gracias coño!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LatinaGlobeTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emilio F, Owner at Dragonfly, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
I'm happy to know that we lived up to your expectations. Thanks so much for taking the time to spread the word and let us know what we're doing right. Your kudos mean a lot to us!

Thank you for letting us be part of your story,
Emilio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Lion, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Tremendous”
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

Our specialty drinks were great. The sushi was excellent. I recommend the threesome. For entree I had the Asian steak. Amazing. Atmosphere; very chill. Deserves a much higher ranking than current.

Helpful?
Thank Kevin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ct
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back!”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We were brought here by friends that live in San Juan while we were in port on a cruise. We had very limited time so we were only able to enjoy a cocktail and some appetizers. Fantastic! We had the duck nachos which is a very creative and delicious combination. The calamari dish melted in our mouth and the wasabi crab cakes were excellent. We also ordered the specialty sushi rolls and they were some of the best I have ever had. I can't wait to return for a full meal!
The atmosphere is comfortable and as others have mentioned it is on the dark side, but this was not a problem for us at all. Definitely recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lightsdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emilio F, Owner at Dragonfly, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
I'm glad that you could join us even if only for a short time during your port in San Juan. Your recommendation means a lot to us and we're happy that everything from the duck nachos to the sushi was such a hit. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you make it down!

Thank you for letting us be part of your story,
Emilio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dragonfly also viewed

San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Dragonfly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing