We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great local bakery, meeting spot, great coffee.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kasalta

Kasalta
Ranked #2 of 7 Bakeries in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: Caribbean, Latin, Cafe, Spanish, Soups, Puerto Rican, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Wheelchair Accessible
Nyc
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great local bakery, meeting spot, great coffee.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

I've been a hundred times and will always go back. Great bread and bites. Pretty good breakfast and nice dinner at a communal table. Good wines, cheeses and tapas. Not cheap and a little uneven.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SeanGreene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    345
    267
    118
    36
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food but not cheap”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Wonderful restaurant in Ocean Park. The prices were not cheap and they have a photo of an Obama visit a few years ago so its not exactly an undiscovered spot. There is off street parking (which is a plus in this neighborhood) and valet parking as well. The bakery section is AWESUM!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camarillo, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent Desserts and Big Selection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stopped by to purchase desserts for take-out. Kasalta has a very large selection of pastries and desserts, as well as a deli and cheese counter. Lots of seating for people desiring restaurant service. Prices for pastries was very reasonable and the quality and appeal was excellent. Located near Ocean Park Beach. They have a small parking lot next to restaurant.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LARCOCAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Local spot, great prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Breakfast was great. we had our first mallorca there, fresh pastries, good prices! We ate here several times and liked it all. They also sell liquor!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank KitKatBar12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
08054
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Only wanted coffee”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

We asked for two coffees was asked if I wanted sugar, said yes. Total was $2.68 sat down and it had milk in both coffees. My mom was ok w it but I wasn't it. I went back and asked for black coffee and that I didn't ask for milk. She stated black coffee cost an additional 80 cents. Are they serious? I paid it but it didn't make sense.

Helpful?
1 Thank Luz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kasalta also viewed

San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Kasalta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing