We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to find but worth it!”
Review of Ikebana Sushi Bars - Isla Verde - CLOSED

Ikebana Sushi Bars - Isla Verde
Price range: US$15 - US$45
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Description: Ikebana Sushi Bars & Japanese Restaurants have been serving the best Sushi and Japanese cuisine since 2002 in Puerto Rico. Our loyal clientele has become like family and our staff welcomes most by their name. Service and quality of all our dishes are distinctive to the Ikebana name. The interior of our restaurants reflect the ancient culture of Japan, with our trademark silk Kimonos on the wall creating an authentic atmosphere. Our Guests can choose to dine at the Sushi Bar, where our Master Sushi Chefs will prepare in front of you the choice of delicacies you selected from our extensive menu. By and far, Ikebana Sushi Bars & Japanese Restaurants stand out as one of the best Japanese restaurants in Puerto Rico as our many awards received demonstrate. We are not trendy or in fashion; we have consistently and continuously been leading the trend and the fashion of the Japanese cuisine in Puerto Rico. If you love Sushi or Japanese food, you owe it to yourself! Visit us at Ikebana.
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I walked from my hotel to the address on a dead end street and found a grocery store and a parking lot. It took some time to figure out that the restaurant is on the second floor, adjacent to a post office in a brightly lit hallway. Once inside, the ambiance is much better, and the menu has a local flavor twist to classic sushi. I ordered the J&J Salad, and it turned out to be a wonderful blend of Thai-like flavors - sweet, salty, spicy with crab, shrimp, a chewy smoked calaramari, coconut, mango, and mix of sauces that really made for a great dish. There was a nice size serving of very fresh maguro sashimi on the side.

I highly recommend trying this restaurant!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DeanfromSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hector R, Owner at Ikebana Sushi Bars - Isla Verde, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear DeanfromSeattle,

We thank you for your recent visit to our restaurant Ikebana Sushi Bar - Isla Verde.

As you commented, we are the best choice for sushi in the Isla Verde area, and our price/value is excellent!

We hope to see you again in Puerto Rico, and to greet you at any of our restaurants.

Domo arigato!

Hector Rivera
Managing Director
Ikebana Sushi Bars

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2014

Great atmosphere considering the dim lights and cozy decor. Delicious, fresh sushi and great overall menu. BUT, even though I keep coming with family and friends because we love the food, the service has always been VERY POOR. If your dining with a group but it is not complete the staff will show they are not comfortable with that and will not provide a table until everyone is in. The point is they will tell you in a unfriendly manner. If you ask for separate checks (which we always do before ordering), they will still put it all on one account and on top become angry because we ask for a split at the time of closing it. FOR SOME REASON I DONT UNDERSTAND, THEY WILL ALWAYS CALCULATE YOUR TOTAL WITH THE TIP ALREADY INCLUDED, THIS PRACTICE IS ILLEGAL IN PUERTO RICO. I work in the F&B industry and will never leave a restaurant without gratuity, but I feel is disrespectful for Ikebana to include it and almost force me to pay for it, even when service is so poor!! Again if you question this action the staff and manager will become upset and will let you know! During last two visits I had items on my check that I never consumed and on both ocassions the manager removed the items in a very bad attitude. I will definitely consider another sushi place where service and hospitality are the priority.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Reyes B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hector R, Owner at Ikebana Sushi Bars - Isla Verde, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Dear Reyes B:

We read your recent review in Trip Advisor regarding your visit to Ikebana Escorial. First, we apologize for any inconvenience occurred during your visit.

At the same time, we would like to clarify you, for your benefit, some key points in your review:

1. Whenever there is a group reservation for a table, we strongly suggest to call the restaurant for a table reservation. As you know, our restaurant does not have extended seating and our priority is not to have customers waiting for a table, when there is one table that all guests arrive late.

2. We do not get angry for the way the customer request to pay (split accounts, etc)

3. In our guest checks, we do not include gratuities or tips as mandatory, it is voluntary for the customer to pay for it. We present the customer with a copy of the guest check so he could verify if the account is correct for all items. The gratuities are suggested in the total and the following message is printed in your check before you authorize and provide your form of payment: "15% Gratuities suggested and applied for your convenience. Please modify the total tips at your discretion for your final receipt. Thanks for your patronage". As you see, the message is clear for the instructions on how to pay your bill and tips for the server, if any. If the service was poor as you are mentioning, then I would think you adjusted the tips in the bill voluntary and requested to speak to the Manager on Duty.

4. I could assure that if you spoke to our Restaurant Manager, Denis Collazo, at Ikebana Escorial, she will never have a bad attitude towards a customer.

We are happy to know that you consider our sushi the best. For your next visit, please contact Mrs. Denis Collazo at Ikebana Sushi Bar - Escorial, at 787-776-1175 and she will be glad to hear your comments and make your experience more enjoyable.

Thanks anticipated!

Hector Rivera
Managing Director
Ikebana Sushi Bars

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Extremlely noisy. Bad service, you have almost to sream to get some attention. Food poorly prepared. More than sushi it seem like a chunck of fish. There are better sushi places in town. Not worth the price. People in the Guaynabo area should go to Daimajin at Esmeralda avenue, run by a very gentle japanese.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jeroma43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hector R, Owner at Ikebana Sushi Bars - Isla Verde, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Dear Jeroma43:

We received your recent comment about your last visit to our restaurant, Ikebana Sushi Bar - Guaynabo. We apologize for any inconvenience as you stated in your review.

However, we will need from you additional information regarding your visit. Please provide us with the date and time of your visit so we could research the issue and answer you with all the facts.

Thanks anticipated.

Hector Rivera
Managing Director
Ikebana Sushi Bars

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Fresh sushi, delicious, service was good. Only a little pricey. Overall good. I also have tried the carry out order and it resulted perfectly handle.

Thank ALR-PR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hector R, Owner at Ikebana Sushi Bars - Isla Verde, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

Dear ALRPR

Thanks for your recent rating and comment about your experience at Ikebana Sushi Bars!

We are proud to serve the best and freshest sushi in Puerto Rico. Our prices might be a little bit
higher than the competition, but rest assured that your order got seafood that is 100% Sushi grade and the rest of the ingredients are prime rated.

That is why we had been selected the best Japanese restaurant in PR by the prestigious
Sal! Award; for 2011, 2012 and now 2013!

Thanks again for your rating and we hope to see you soon !

Domo Arigato!

Hector Rivera
Managing Director
Ikebana Sushi Bars

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

This is for you're location at San Patricio. Stop today order to go and looks it was for ever the wait to long for one order and for disappointment hair on sushi roll, miso soup not as usual lettuce old not fresh only thing was.great were the dumplings. When things like that happen is hard to trust them hard if I go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DSJDADDY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ikebanasushibarpr, Owner at Ikebana Sushi Bars - Isla Verde, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2013

Dear DSJDADDY:

We recently reviewed your post at trip advisor and we would like to apologize if your experience was as you mentioned. We at Ikebana not only we are considered the best in Puerto Rico for our high quality standards of food but also for our personalized service. Since you mention San Patricio, we will assume you are referring to our restaurant located in Guaynabo.

We process the To Go orders as we receive them and we prepare the order at the moment so you will receive the freshest sushi that you requested. From the time of your order, and depending the previous orders that may be before yours, it could take between 45 to 55 minutes. Our staff always inform the customer the expected time for the order completion, so the customer could wait either at our cocktail bar or terrace.

We verified with our Restaurant management if there was any complaint reported with your details but we did not received any complaints on that particular day that you mention. We will assume that you decided to post your experience in the forum instead to call directly to the restaurant management.

We apologize again for your experience and we would like to make it right to you. Please call Ikebana San Patricio at 787-782-6901 and ask for Mr. Isaac Reyes, our assistant Restaurant Manager, so you could provide more details about your To Go order. After verifying the details of your order, he will provide you with a courtesy discount for your next visit or reorder for you, free of cost, the item you claim was not to your standards and ours.

We take the opportunity to inform you about our online To Go service, which is our fastest way to order at any of our restaurants, the web link is www.ehungry.com/ikebana

Thanks again and we will wait for your call!

Hector Rivera
Managing Director
Ikebana Sushi Bars

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ikebana Sushi Bars - Isla Verde also viewed

 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing