We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just EXCELENT”
Review of Ikebana Sushi Bars - Isla Verde - CLOSED

Ikebana Sushi Bars - Isla Verde
Price range: US$15 - US$45
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Description: Ikebana Sushi Bars & Japanese Restaurants have been serving the best Sushi and Japanese cuisine since 2002 in Puerto Rico. Our loyal clientele has become like family and our staff welcomes most by their name. Service and quality of all our dishes are distinctive to the Ikebana name. The interior of our restaurants reflect the ancient culture of Japan, with our trademark silk Kimonos on the wall creating an authentic atmosphere. Our Guests can choose to dine at the Sushi Bar, where our Master Sushi Chefs will prepare in front of you the choice of delicacies you selected from our extensive menu. By and far, Ikebana Sushi Bars & Japanese Restaurants stand out as one of the best Japanese restaurants in Puerto Rico as our many awards received demonstrate. We are not trendy or in fashion; we have consistently and continuously been leading the trend and the fashion of the Japanese cuisine in Puerto Rico. If you love Sushi or Japanese food, you owe it to yourself! Visit us at Ikebana.
Puerto Rico
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Just EXCELENT”
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

Ikebana Escorial is by far the BEST Sushi in PR. EVERYTHING IS EXCELENT!
The ambiance, the food, but overall the service. Denis and all the staff are the best.
I have nothing bad to say about this place.
The place is not big, so I suggest reservation, specially on special occasions, but I've being without any reservation and the service is always fast.
The food is AMAZING. Ask for the Alberti, Fusion, Amada... The salads are yummy and to top all that the fried cheesecake, unbelievable!!!
No restaurant is better to Ikebana Escorial. Give it a try and you will never find other sushi restaurant better to ikebana. Thanks Denis and all your staff for your service ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Helpful?
Thank orgulloboricua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ikebanasushibarpr, Owner at Ikebana Sushi Bars - Isla Verde, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear orgulloboricua:

Thanks for your recent review of our restaurant located in Carolina, ikebana Sushi Bar - Escorial.

We are glad that we exceeded all your expectations. That is our goal, everyday, for the past 13 years!

We encourage you to visit our other three locations in Isla Verde, Dorado and San Patricio.

Thanks anticipated and our best personal regards!

Hector Rivera
Managing Director
Ikebana Sushi Bars
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    10
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Hard to find but worth it!”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I walked from my hotel to the address on a dead end street and found a grocery store and a parking lot. It took some time to figure out that the restaurant is on the second floor, adjacent to a post office in a brightly lit hallway. Once inside, the ambiance is much better, and the menu has a local flavor twist to classic sushi. I ordered the J&J Salad, and it turned out to be a wonderful blend of Thai-like flavors - sweet, salty, spicy with crab, shrimp, a chewy smoked calaramari, coconut, mango, and mix of sauces that really made for a great dish. There was a nice size serving of very fresh maguro sashimi on the side.

I highly recommend trying this restaurant!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DeanfromSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hector R, Owner at Ikebana Sushi Bars - Isla Verde, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear DeanfromSeattle,

We thank you for your recent visit to our restaurant Ikebana Sushi Bar - Isla Verde.

As you commented, we are the best choice for sushi in the Isla Verde area, and our price/value is excellent!

We hope to see you again in Puerto Rico, and to greet you at any of our restaurants.

Domo arigato!

Hector Rivera
Managing Director
Ikebana Sushi Bars
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PR
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Ikebana Escorial Experience”
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Great atmosphere considering the dim lights and cozy decor. Delicious, fresh sushi and great overall menu. BUT, even though I keep coming with family and friends because we love the food, the service has always been VERY POOR. If your dining with a group but it is not complete the staff will show they are not comfortable with that and will not provide a table until everyone is in. The point is they will tell you in a unfriendly manner. If you ask for separate checks (which we always do before ordering), they will still put it all on one account and on top become angry because we ask for a split at the time of closing it. FOR SOME REASON I DONT UNDERSTAND, THEY WILL ALWAYS CALCULATE YOUR TOTAL WITH THE TIP ALREADY INCLUDED, THIS PRACTICE IS ILLEGAL IN PUERTO RICO. I work in the F&B industry and will never leave a restaurant without gratuity, but I feel is disrespectful for Ikebana to include it and almost force me to pay for it, even when service is so poor!! Again if you question this action the staff and manager will become upset and will let you know! During last two visits I had items on my check that I never consumed and on both ocassions the manager removed the items in a very bad attitude. I will definitely consider another sushi place where service and hospitality are the priority.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Reyes B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hector R, Owner at Ikebana Sushi Bars - Isla Verde, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Reyes B:

We read your recent review in Trip Advisor regarding your visit to Ikebana Escorial. First, we apologize for any inconvenience occurred during your visit.

At the same time, we would like to clarify you, for your benefit, some key points in your review:

1. Whenever there is a group reservation for a table, we strongly suggest to call the restaurant for a table reservation. As you know, our restaurant does not have extended seating and our priority is not to have customers waiting for a table, when there is one table that all guests arrive late.

2. We do not get angry for the way the customer request to pay (split accounts, etc)

3. In our guest checks, we do not include gratuities or tips as mandatory, it is voluntary for the customer to pay for it. We present the customer with a copy of the guest check so he could verify if the account is correct for all items. The gratuities are suggested in the total and the following message is printed in your check before you authorize and provide your form of payment: "15% Gratuities suggested and applied for your convenience. Please modify the total tips at your discretion for your final receipt. Thanks for your patronage". As you see, the message is clear for the instructions on how to pay your bill and tips for the server, if any. If the service was poor as you are mentioning, then I would think you adjusted the tips in the bill voluntary and requested to speak to the Manager on Duty.

4. I could assure that if you spoke to our Restaurant Manager, Denis Collazo, at Ikebana Escorial, she will never have a bad attitude towards a customer.

We are happy to know that you consider our sushi the best. For your next visit, please contact Mrs. Denis Collazo at Ikebana Sushi Bar - Escorial, at 787-776-1175 and she will be glad to hear your comments and make your experience more enjoyable.

Thanks anticipated!

Hector Rivera
Managing Director
Ikebana Sushi Bars
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not worth it”
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Extremlely noisy. Bad service, you have almost to sream to get some attention. Food poorly prepared. More than sushi it seem like a chunck of fish. There are better sushi places in town. Not worth the price. People in the Guaynabo area should go to Daimajin at Esmeralda avenue, run by a very gentle japanese.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeroma43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hector R, Owner at Ikebana Sushi Bars - Isla Verde, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Jeroma43:

We received your recent comment about your last visit to our restaurant, Ikebana Sushi Bar - Guaynabo. We apologize for any inconvenience as you stated in your review.

However, we will need from you additional information regarding your visit. Please provide us with the date and time of your visit so we could research the issue and answer you with all the facts.

Thanks anticipated.

Hector Rivera
Managing Director
Ikebana Sushi Bars
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great and fresh sushi”
Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

Fresh sushi, delicious, service was good. Only a little pricey. Overall good. I also have tried the carry out order and it resulted perfectly handle.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank ALR-PR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hector R, Owner at Ikebana Sushi Bars - Isla Verde, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Dear ALRPR

Thanks for your recent rating and comment about your experience at Ikebana Sushi Bars!

We are proud to serve the best and freshest sushi in Puerto Rico. Our prices might be a little bit
higher than the competition, but rest assured that your order got seafood that is 100% Sushi grade and the rest of the ingredients are prime rated.

That is why we had been selected the best Japanese restaurant in PR by the prestigious
Sal! Award; for 2011, 2012 and now 2013!

Thanks again for your rating and we hope to see you soon !

Domo Arigato!

Hector Rivera
Managing Director
Ikebana Sushi Bars
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ikebana Sushi Bars - Isla Verde also viewed

 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing