We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Ceviche - Amazing Service!”
Review of Ceviche House

Ceviche House
Ranked #61 of 1,025 Restaurants in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: Chilean, Peruvian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
North Bergen, New Jersey, United States
Level 5 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Amazing Ceviche - Amazing Service!”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Let me start by saying that I did not go to PR to taste Peruvian food, why? Since I am from the NY area there are plenty of Peruvian places, I was aiming for a more authentic Puerto Rican taste, however due to the reviews on Trip Advisor/Yelp- I was eager to try this place.

First there is Valet parking there is no charge - be sure to tip the the kids that drive your car.

Waiting time on a Friday evening was about 5 minutes, we were seated quickly - the restaurant has a pretty decent menu with a variety of pickings but really who goes to a ceviche house to eat a steak - we got the Ceviche Mixto Grande with a Side of Rice, (really wish places paired ceviche with Rice) we got the Mixed App Plater to share, the platter was amazing all the dipping sauces were delicious we were given 4 mini empanadas (2 ham / 2 cheese) - calamari - and something else but I forgot - then the Ceviche - BOOM! Packed in savory flavor, it was amazing!

Will recommend this place as the food was delicious, waitress was kind and helpful with our selection of Ceviche - the Damage for 2 Ceviche Mixto + 2 Sides of Rice + 1 App Mixto was $65.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Danny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    112
    28
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomfield CT. USA
Level 6 Contributor
271 reviews
242 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Best ceviche I've found-”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Having ad every ceviche dish on the menu over the years, a friend and I decided to share the Paella with a side of mamposteao rice. All I can say is WOW!! We barely were able to finish it. My wife is allergic to fish so she always gets their skirt steak and raves about it. The location is right at the exit of the highway, easy on easy off. If you like ceviche or Peruvian food in general, this is a don't miss.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank goldrush28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best Ceviche”
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Great location, easy access and the best ceviche!!! A bit spicy so be sure to ask for water!!! The place need tender loving care but food is amazing.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RestLoverCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Horrible food....”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The "ceviche" had chunks of processed crab meat....for a place that is named "ceviche house" that is inexplicable. Also the fried grouper was soggy, seemed to have been reheated in a microwave, and certainly did not seem fresh, probably frozen. Do yourself a favor and skip this place, it's a fraud.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SamEHollis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clifton, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A MUST when in PR”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

The atmosphere was friendly which we found to be true throughout the entire island. Ahhh, the ceviche. The marinade was delicious and the fish fresh. This was the best I've ever had. Period!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ceviche House also viewed

San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Ceviche House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing