We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok hotel for short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Consulat, Ascend Collection Hotel
Ranked #42 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights,after our cruise. It was all right for that short stay. I wouldn't like stay longer.Room was clean, it had wardrobe only,without any shelves,drawers,etc. We kept most of our staff in suitcases. Air condition was very noisy all the time,the most irritating it was at night time. Nice and helpful receptionists.
Location is very good-close to the beach,bars and restaurants. This hotel is ok,if you are going to spend one or two nights before going somewhere else,not for longer,relaxing staying.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanna Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (314)
There are newer reviews for Le Consulat, Ascend Collection Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 314 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2014

I really wanted to like this hotel, but in the end the only thing I liked was the price and location. To start, this hotel is in a great location. It is close to many restaurants, bars, and a block from the beach. There is also a Walgreen's a block away where you can get everything you need for a short trip. The front desk staff was also very friendly and helped me with any questions I had. However, the hotel fell short on my expectations in two areas 1) room cleanliness, 2) room maintenance. Specifically, during my stay the safe was broken, the faucet was loose, there was a hole in the wall near the electrical outlet, the shower was not working properly (both water pressure and temperature), the door-key quit working, along with many smaller cosmetic issues. I feel that this hotel has a lot of potential given its location, but they need to invest some money into maintenance and upkeep of the rooms before I would recommend it to my friends or family.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank puravida888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

This hotel is in a very good location, at the heart of Condado, close to good restaurants and fairly close to the beach.

The hotel seems a bit old and the rooms could see some improvements, specially the shower (not much shower pressure) and A/C, which can get pretty noisy. Also, the rooms were spacious but weren't the cleanest I have ever seem.

The hotel offers parking for $5 a night, but it's around the block at Ave. Ashford (about a 5 min walk from the lot to the hotel). Hotel staff are really nice and helpful.

There might be better options in the area but this hotel had a good price, and we stayed after a cruise on New Year's so it gets busier and more expensive in this area.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joseotavio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

The best thing about this hotel is its location. Staff is friendly and helpful, The bed is comfortable, one downside is the a/c, it can get noisy if you set 'constant fan' on all the time, and the shower has room for improvement too, as the water flow doesn't get too strong. Also, notice that It takes quite a bit of walking (about 5 min) from the parking (at the back) all around the road to the hotel and is $5 per day (valet).

Room Tip: Room 302 has two windows on two sides.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henry Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

Hotel is ok. Lobby is clean and staff really nice. The area in general is loud and guests make lots of noise all night. The rooms are not that clean and feel moist. The air conditioners are loud as well.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Playero1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

I stay here with my boyfriend through a deal we made in Hotwire. At first we weren't sure it was going to be good because it was not a recognize brand hotel. But, fortunately the service, location, and everything was nice! The only thing I didn't like was that the bed was can a noisy and the checkout was at 11:30 instead of noon. Also, there were no tag for privacy. Finally, I would like to highlight the hotel location because there is a pharmacy, restaurants, beach and in a good neighborhood. The parking is small but free!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Letzibeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

After just about every other aspect of our holiday being screwed up by the agent, we were expecting very little when we checked into this hotel for four nights on the last leg of our holiday.We could not have been more wrong. Although small and cozy, it was large on atmosphere, service quality and general facilities. It's at the lower end of the cost scale in San Juan but delivers good value for money. The pool is small but is open from 8am until 11pm. Wifi is free (a little on the slow side) and there's a fridge on each corridor with an ice machine. The staff were very helpful in every way and the hotel is well situated for nightlife though far enough away from the noise. It's only a short walk (7 minutes) from the main beach in Condada. I'd have no problem recommending it as a budget hotel

Room Tip: Ask for one on the ground floor for best access to the pool (we had room 108 right beside the pool)
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#31 of 47 in San Juan
351 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Condado Hotel
Casa Condado Hotel
#33 of 47 in San Juan
295 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Canario by the Lagoon
El Canario by the Lagoon
#22 of 47 in San Juan
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Coral Princess Hotel
Coral Princess Hotel
#13 of 47 in San Juan
938 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandy Beach Hotel
Sandy Beach Hotel
#40 of 47 in San Juan
320 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Consulat, Ascend Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Consulat, Ascend Collection Hotel

Address: 1149 Magdalena Ave Condado, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range: £54 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Consulat, Ascend Collection Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Le Consulat, Ascend Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascend Collection Le Consulat
Ascend Collection San Juan
Clarion San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing