We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Consulat, Ascend Collection Hotel
Ranked #42 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Reviewed 24 March 2014

My room was large one on third floor.
The front desk service was excellent. The two people I dealt with were doing a very good job in handling problems. Such as I needed a towel for swimming, coffee maker had no sugar or creamer, my door key often would not open. All these minor problems were handled well and with courtesy.the coffee maker was a great addition to the room
The hotel is near the beach, restaurants and a good hours walk into old San Juan... Taxi only 10 mins or a free bus.
I think the problem might lie with the cleaning staff who don't seem to have a checklist as often things were forgotten in my room, thus I give this small hotel , which is a good price a 4 which is a "very good"

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnsteele507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (314)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 314 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2014

This hotel is with inwalking distance from lots of shops, restaurants, and the Condado beach, the hotel it self is clean and the people at the frt desk are nice and helpful.The only negative is that none of the safes in the rooms work.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ubouu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Options for cheap lodging in San Juan are in short supply, but of the less expensive options this hotel should certainly be on your list. They have a lovely little pool out back and is walking distance from lots of shops, restaurants, and the Condado beach. We got a big suite with 2 queens, a huge TV, and AC at a reasonable price. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful finding us dinner options and a taxi in the morning. They lost some points with me over the bed sagging a bit in the middle, but otherwise the stay was very comfortable.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

The hotel itself is updated and comfortable, close walking distance for you to go get a bite from the many restaurants in the area or do a little souvenier shopping. The bar down the block is a fun place, but a younger crowd ( 20's) my hubby and I are 40's but had a lot of fun! The hotel itself is very clean and the STAFF WAS VERY ACCOMODATING!! We would definitely stay here again. Got the room for $85 Priceline. Next time we will look them up.. It's a 2 &1/2 satr room but we would say it deems at least a three star rating;) WAS NOT dirty or rundown or in a bad/unsafe neighborhood. we walked around until midnight and NOT ONCE did we feel unsafe!;)HIGHLY RECOMMENDED, oh and the bed was the best for our final night of our 5 day trip ( the resort we satyed at in Culebra didn't even have this comfy of a bed!

Room Tip: we were on the first floor and were extremely happy with our plaement;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

This hotel is comfortable enought but rather tired. The room was plenty big enough and also had a chair and desk in, but the furniture had seen better days. The drawers were on their way out and wouldn't push in properly. The bathroom was also clean and plenty big enough but the hot water seemed to have a mind of its own. There was always plenty of hot water, but the shower seemed to be either hot or cold, so you had to time the washing off of your soap to avoid getting scalded! Hair dryer and coffee machine were in the room, also a flat screen TV and safe. The staff were very pleasant and helpful and keen to show us the best places to go. The only down side was the noise. This wasn't the noise of hotel doors etc, but voices of people chatting in the corridor in the night - maybe staff, or at least the member of night staff on the desk in discussion with someone else. One night there was quite an argument going on (possibly a guest or member of the public off the street), but it was quite worrying and very loud. We had a ground floor room which meant we got a little outdoor seating area with sunbeds to ourselves. It's around a 3 mile walk to the old town, but this is very do-able. Otherwise staff will help you with how to catch a bus.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors may be quieter as they will be away from the reception area. However, if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2509Jill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

The hotel is a clean , functional business class hotel situated a block from the beach and bars and restaurants of Condado. It's a 10 minute/20 dollar taxi ride from the airport , old town and cruise ship docks . Our room was a decent size and simply decorated with white walls, dark wood and tiled floor. I felt it was quite expensive at $130 per night but Puerto Rico isn't a cheap place to travel in. The staff were friendly and helpful and the hotel served its purpose as a one day and night stop over in San Juan.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LS13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

One night after a cruise, got in early and they got us the first available room before check-in. We compensated for the time in their pool, nice and shaded in the heat of the day. I managed to get locked in the ice machine room....be mindful that the door opens and may lock you in to an outside alcove with no way out unless you can climb a 12 foot wall....Central to downtown and restaurants galore...supermarket was a 15 minute walk where all noshing was available....worth the walk. Beach is a bit over 200 yards across the main drag....great waves abound.....will say this is a great little hotel....please remember to open your door and insert the key , then open the latch and then close the door behind you....the doors will have to be slammed otherwise....good ac, big shower....

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank b l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#31 of 47 in San Juan
351 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Canario by the Lagoon
El Canario by the Lagoon
#22 of 47 in San Juan
345 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Condado Hotel
Casa Condado Hotel
#33 of 47 in San Juan
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Coral Princess Hotel
Coral Princess Hotel
#13 of 47 in San Juan
940 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandy Beach Hotel
Sandy Beach Hotel
#40 of 47 in San Juan
321 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Juan Condado
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Consulat, Ascend Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Consulat, Ascend Collection Hotel

Address: 1149 Magdalena Ave Condado, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range: £57 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Consulat, Ascend Collection Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Le Consulat, Ascend Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascend Collection Le Consulat
Ascend Collection San Juan
Clarion San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing