We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the Money”
Review of Hotel Colonial

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Colonial
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Mayaguez
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 April 2013

I am a frequent business traveler and will definitely recommend this hotel to anyone. Good Hotel for a short stay- quaint small rooms, nothing spectacular nor fancy, but the price is right for what you get. VERY CLEAN rooms AND bathrooms. Cleaner than most major brands I've stayed. Continental breakfast included. Walking distance to one of the best bakeries in the Island (Ricomini) which serves typical Puerto Rican Food, Sandwiches and bakery sweets as well. It is located at the heart of the town of Mayaguez, so within a new walking minutes you can walk everywhere around the town, the Plaza, the Church and other locales for food, Ice Cream and Coffee Shops. Highly Recommended.

Room Tip: AC Window units but are new and quiet. don't be discouraged by them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IGNDJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heribertorosas, Owner at Hotel Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Thank you for your review, we thrive in offering you, our guests, the best affordable hotel you can find.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2013

We are three adults and a toddler traveling around PR and stayed in the hotel for one night. This is the 2nd year we stay in Colonial for our yearly PR vacation. The rooms are very basic, a bit dark in the 1st floor, but everything is very clean, great quiet AC and excellent/friendly service (Noemi and all staff is great!). Fridge provided in room, used microwave in shared kitchen area, which was great to heat milk for my toddler. Parking is easy in their gated parking lot. The town square is just a few blocks away for a short walk and sitting/relaxing while enjoying natural fruit ice creams, food snacks, some music during the night. We easily drove to Cabo Rojo Beaches and the Faro and I definitely recommend the hotel for the budget conscious.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank denise728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

If you are looking for a safe, clean and friendly place to sleep this is it. Was recently there with a party of 11 and we were accomodated with no problem. Staff was great. A special THANK YOU to Noemi Sanchez (an asset to this establishment) and to the gentleman (my apologies for not remembering your name) who was at the front desk on the evening of 1.13.13. Would definately stay again !

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor have no windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Iris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012

We stayed for the 2012 december mayaguez offshore. The hotel was great. Excellent and very friendly staff, always giving great attention to all details. Rooms very clean including the.breakfast area. Great price$$.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Arnaldito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2012

Hotel Colonial used to be many moons ago a convent. As such the rooms are compact and spartan, but clean and efficient. Prices are as low as $57.00 per night, if you book a few days in advance. That is what I paid for my 1 person room and stayed 2 nights.

The building layout is as it was in 1920, but maintained in very nice pastel colors. It is smack in the middle of the town of Mayaguez, within a few steps from the historical Plaza, Mayaguez Cathedral, City Hall and downtown shopping.

The hotel has gated parking for several cars in the hotel's patio with a wrought iron gate, operated by the front desk, so your car will be safe during your stay.

Hotel Colonial has a free continental breakfast from 6:00 AM to 10:00 AM if you are in a hurry.

The room I had was clean with the sink next to the bed, instead of in the bathroom, funky but it worked. The AC was a wall unit that was small, but sufficient to cool the room quickly. An extra with this kind of unit is that you can have the fan to run continuously, and that helps to keep outside noise down somewhat.

I'm 6'2" and the bed was so small that my feet hung on the end. I had to sleep at a 45 degree angle. So if you are as tall, you may think about this.

The room faced the front street and at 7:00 AM the traffic noise, truck horns and other vehicular movements made it difficult to stay sleeping past 7 am if you are a light sleeper.

This is a low cost alternative to the $100+ per night accommodations in Mayaguez, so don't expect chain hotel facilities. There is no pool or room service.

The staff is friendly, helpful, the rooms and hotel are clean, in a safe neighborhood with free parking and continental breakfast. In my book that makes the Hotel Colonial a good choice for business traveler and budget conscious travelers, and the best hotel bargain in Mayaguez.

Room Tip: If you want to sleep in late, ask for a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank clirizarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Muy limpio y bien ubicado. El personal es muy amable y diligente. Perfecto para pasar la noche.
Barato y hay seguridad.
Very clean and well located. The staff is very friendly and diligent. Perfect for overnight.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MariaEsther_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2011

Very good for the price (we paid $75 per room). Great location if you want to be in the city, just a block from the plaza. Old hotel, so it looks a bit tired but at least it's clean. Road noise was loud, I'd ask for a room that doesn't face the road next time. It took several minutes of running the shower until hot water came, but it did. We had rooms 2 and 4, the latter had a much better looking bathroom with newer tile, the other one needed updating ASAP. Overall satisfied, great value if all you need is a bed for the night.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Ernesto R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heribertorosas, Owner at Hotel Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2012

After viewing your review I proceeded to add two new solar water heaters and room number two's bathroom was completely remodeled. Thanks a lot for your review. Heriberto Rosas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mayaguez
0.0 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Downtown Mayaguez PR
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Mayaquez & Tropical Casino
72.5 mi away
Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico
Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico
#30 of 47 in San Juan
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Combate Beach Resort
Combate Beach Resort
#1 of 8 in Cabo Rojo
699 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mayaguez Resort & Casino
58.1 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colonial

Address: 14 S Iglesia Street, Mayaguez 00681, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Mayaguez
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Mayaguez
Price Range: £47 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Colonial 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Colonial of Mayagüez is Located in historic downtown Mayaguez, it is the perfect destination for travelers looking for relaxation and comfort. Whatever you are looking for, the Hotel Colonial is the perfect hotel choice for your visit to the west coast of Puerto Rico also known as Porta del Sol. The Hotel Colonial is just steps away from some of Mayagüez finest attractions. The hotel is walking distance to fabulous restaurants, pubs, shopping, museums and the famous Mayagüez Campus of the University of Puerto Rico. It is also close to the Juan Rivero Zoo, the best zoo in the caribbean.Loaded with comforts and amenities, the Hotel Colonial is an outstanding value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing