We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we expected”
Review of E Franco & Co

E Franco & Co
Ranked #11 of 102 Restaurants in Mayaguez
Restaurant details
Sevilla
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Not what we expected”
Reviewed 13 December 2012

Based on the hype in Lonely Planet we made the trip out to this place (which was a bit of a challenge to find). The food on offer was mediocre and expensive (& despite LP's claim, they do NOT give you a complimentary Brazo Gitano with lunch).

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TrotamundosBetis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    24
    7
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cabo Rojo, Puerto Rico
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Solo”
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Service is as bad as it can get. The waiters look at you as if you owe them something, as if they were slaves trying to get out of this slavery. they don't want to serve you, but they have to. They are even challenging. This is a cafetiria type of restaurant where you get an exclusive type of pastry famous in Puerto Rico. They also serve food.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Amadeo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good!”
Reviewed 6 May 2012

In the past they used to have more variety of "Brazo Gitanos" flavors, but the place and service good as always.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank David Rene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“If you are a woman, don't expect good service...”
Reviewed 2 May 2012

I went to eat with my best friend at lunch hour. The guy that took our order was very rude when my friend ask for the beverage they had. When the food arrived, it was in small portions, similar to a decadent wedding buffet. I haven't finish eating and the server rudely took my plate and put it under another dirty plate and took it out. he was very impertinent , rushing us with his attitude to leave the restaurant. This was not the case of the other table in where two men were gladly enjoying their meal without any rushing by the server and a smile on his face. The place was only with 4 tables occupied in the salon area. When I went to talk with the cashier about the situation, including that my friend came with another girlfriend some tiem ago and receive the same treatment. The cashier told us it was not the first time that a customer has a comment about the attitude of the servers and she was going to talk to Dona Elena about it. However, she charged me the complete meal without any type of discount for the incovenience. It is a pity that such a historic landmark goes to waste for bad service and food unsupervised.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Atlantic_dollar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Authentic local fare and atmosphere”
Reviewed 18 April 2012

This is a great place to grab lunch while visiting Mayaguez. Their Brazo Gitano is world famous!! Be sure to try some, and you'll likely want to take a few home to family and friends--and to have yourself :) Cream, cheese, and guava are popular flavors but if you're feeling adventurous, carrot and pineapple are also delicious.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VBeeDDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed E Franco & Co also viewed

 
Mayaguez, Puerto Rico
 
Mayaguez, Puerto Rico
 

Been to E Franco & Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing