We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fairly nice; and decent price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Mayaquez & Tropical Casino
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Mayaguez
Certificate of Excellence
Ile-de-France, France
Level Contributor
155 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Fairly nice; and decent price”
Reviewed 19 November 2007

Stayed there for 10 days on a business trip in september 07. Got a quiet room with some view over the sea (a bit far, but still...), which I recommend since the main road is particularly noisy. Room was fairly large, clean, with free internet access -somewhat unstable though. Bathroom was well equipped and clean as well. The bed was not really comfortable, though. Staff was polite and willing to help, at least for check-in. Breakfast was served on the ground floor since the lounge upstairs was being refurbished; and was disappointing. The restaurant has reasonable price; however the quality is so-so, and got sick one day after eating fish. Finally, the pool is nice as well; and access is free. Overall, considering the reasonable price, this hotel is an option to be considered.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, pool, fairly large & quiet room
  • Disliked — Bed, breakfast, noisy air conditioning system
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank todebald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    96
    57
    13
    13
See reviews for
83
70
15
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2007

This hotel is not on the beach, although you can see the ocean from some of the rooms. The room I had was clean and the bed was comfortable. The restaurant food was also relatively inexpensive for a Holiday Inn. I can’t comment much about the casino as I don’t gamble, except to say that it looked like the casino was more of a hit with the locals than the hotel guests. I didn’t use the pool so I can’t comment on that. The wireless was free, but in my room it was fairly weak and would drop on occasion. The hotel represented a good value for the money.

  • Liked — clean quiet room
  • Disliked — wireless internet
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank MyAdvice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montesano, Washington
Level Contributor
159 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2007

While staying in Mayaguez, my parents decided to treat themselves to Christmas dinner at the restaurant attachted to the hotel. Their whole party (6) was extremely disappointed at the quality of the over priced meal.

Stayed December 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank sun&oil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
puerto rico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2006

just got back from the trip! i had no water in the bathroom, the pressure would go away !!! i went down to complain to the hotel manager. he said he will investigate. came back later that night . the problem was there again!!! i talk to another manager, he gave me another room with the same problem. also not enough towels.i will not stay in this hotel again!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — service
  • Tips/Secrets — make sure the hotel have no water problem!
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank imjinscout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanside, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2006

I was expecting an Express Mail package. For three days I asked the front desk if they received my package and the answer was, no package. We'll call you when it arrives.

After tradking the package I discovered it was there for the past 3 days! Way to go guys.

Sitting by the by the pool was great for about 30 minutes. Than the giant speakers came out and it sounded like I was at a block party just broke out. So much for reading the paper and relaxing by the pool..

Not everything was awful at the hotel. The brakfast was good and the coffee was great.

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
7 Thank iFelix2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seal Beach, CA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2006

This is an atypical Holiday Inn, but with a casino. I have to agree with another review that it is odd that guests park off to the side where there is little light and you have to walk further to the hotel. I guess they must make more money off the casino than guests. The pool was ok, the room was clean, but the air conditioner barely worked. All in all it was a place to rest and play a little.

  • Stayed January 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank B_Spriggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, FL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2004

The rooms were okay, but not for the price you pay. The pool and restaurants were nice. The view of mountain tops was a plus. The club closes at 2am, and nothing but 40+ dancing salsa. Casino was okay but thought it was too small. Never order a long island ice tea there. Stick with one liquor drinks. It is a relaxing place to stay but want to wait for a special.

Helpful?
11 Thank Roxanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mayaguez
1.3 mi away
Mayaguez Resort & Casino
2.9 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Downtown Mayaguez PR
18.2 mi away
Combate Beach Resort
Combate Beach Resort
#1 of 9 in Cabo Rojo
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Villa Cofresi Hotel
Villa Cofresi Hotel
#1 of 8 in Rincon
776 reviews
14.7 mi away
Aquarius Vacation Club
Aquarius Vacation Club
#1 of 5 in Boqueron
330 reviews
36.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Ponce & Tropical Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Mayaquez & Tropical Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Mayaquez & Tropical Casino

Property: Holiday Inn Mayaquez & Tropical Casino
Address: 2701 Hwy 2, Mayaguez 00680, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Mayaguez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Mayaguez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Mayaquez & Tropical Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located, with all the spectacular attractions of Porta Del Sol within easy reach, Holiday Inn & Tropical Casino Mayaguez, is the ideal place to stay when your vacation or business trip takes you to the city of Mayaguez and Puerto Rico's stunning west coast. From Holiday Inn & Tropical Casino Mayaguez you can drive to an incredible water park, bowling alleys, golf courses and some of the most beautiful beaches in the Caribbean. Puerto Rico's only zoo is minutes away from the comfort of your room. Holiday Inn & El Tropical Casino welcomes you! Book your Mayaguez hotel reservations today for the upcoming events, Mayaguez University Graduation, RUM Mayaguez University Job Fair, Punta Borinquen Golf Club and Club Deportivo Del Oeste Golf Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Mayaquez & Tropical Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Mayaquez And Tropical Casino
Holiday Inn Mayaquez & Tropical Hotel Mayaguez
Holiday Inn Mayaguez
Mayaguez Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing