We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs to be renovated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mayaguez Resort & Casino
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Mayaguez
Reviewed 31 January 2013

I really wouldn't call this place a resort - it's more an old hotel with a really nice pool.

Rooms: Not much to brag about here. The rooms were old and in serious need of a renovation. The AC unit only had 3 settings (high/medium/low) and looked like it was more than 30 years old. Needless to say it was either freezing or hot in the room. The beds were basic with pretty worn linens and not nearly enough pillows. The bathroom fixtures looked original and didn't keep temperature very well. My shower went from hot to cold so many times I just gave up. The size of the room was decent. It also annoyed me that in the room was a list of charges I would incur if something was missing (i.e., you will be charged $35 for a bath towel). I would expect that at a Days Inn, but not a place that's selling itself as an upscale resort.

Overall Location: There wasn't much around other than what was in the hotel. A car is necessary if you're going to stay here because nothing is in walking distance and there isn't enough to do at the hotel to occupy you for more than a day.

Pool: The pool was really nice, but it was only open until 6PM. Also, you needed a special wrist band to get into the pool area, which was annoying. You could only get the wristband at the front desk, you had to show it to a security guard upon entering and I always wanted a bracelet tanline. There is a second pool that is smaller that is open later, but it is not as nice. You also have to pay a $5 rental fee for any tubes you may want to use in the lazy river. Towels are free, but you have to sign them out and are subject to a fee if you don't return them.

Onsite Dining: The restaurant felt as old as the hotel. The decor was dated as was the menu.

Staff: The staff were friendly but not very knowledgable about the area. When asked about local restaurants, suggestions were non-existent. Check in and check out was also very slow as it seemed to be an old computer system.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NYCSixteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (410)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 410 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2013

Stayed there on a recent bicycle tour.

I liked the hotel. It appears to have been built around 1960; and yes, many of the bathroom fixtures are orginal. But, the staff was freindly, the rooms were clean, and the food was excellent. The pool is very cool.

The gym is still closed.
There is a new spa (The Glanz Spa) located at the end of the upper pool.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Awesome place, Adults and kids loved it. Clean, River Pool, Regular pool, Jacuzzi, all was great, and one staff member was a little rude but another made up for it and was super nice. Food was good, has cheeseburgers, fries, hot dogs, sandwiches, pizza and chicken fingers, sodas, coladas, and frappes. Life guards were really watching the kids, security was very alert and were also watching the kids, Very clean fun place. We would go again to stay, today we went with a day pass, and wanted to stay! Hopefully inside it's as good as outside. We didn't stay at the hotel.

Room Tip: Sorry we only had a day pass for outdoor fun, but soon we will stay over!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fredi m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

Nov.17-19, 2012. Rooms need to be renovate.There are leaks in the room, dust and oddor in carpet. The bathroom has mold, hairs, and you can't control the shower. The water changes from hot to cold and cold to hot, so you can burn or freeze. The gym and one of the pool slide are out of service and the big slide is off while no lifeguard. No offers quality for the price.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Liza R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Second and final time staying at the resort. First visit was "ok", but this last stay was horrible. The room was freezing cold. The blanket I requested never arrived. The sink wouldn't drain. No vent in the bathroom and after a hot shower, water drops and moisture all over the walls and floor. Signs of mildew around the vents. This hotel needs a serious renovation! I also feel that I was ripped off on the pricer per night because I am an out of towner.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nita T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

I cam from NYC for vacation from Oct 19 to the 27 but had to leave on the hotel on the 22nd..this place needs to be fully renovate the plumbing do.don't work well my husband and I got burn because you can't control the shower.the food is the worst ever.I don't understand how this place has. Stayed in bussniss I think it is.because they only deal with the local people who don't know any better.I would not recommended this place to no one they need some one from the hotel industry like the Marrit or the. Sharaton to show them how a hotel is run

This I must say the Pool is spectacular

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank carmilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

We stay at this hotel for one week each year during a career fair for UPRM. The lobby and pool area are very nice and updated, but the rooms are in dire need of updating. The rooms are either freezing cold or very wet, the tub faucets leak, the bathroom fixtures are old and rusty, and the carpet stays damp. The bedding and mattresses are old and not comfortable. The staff is nice unless you need to make copies or use the business center (they seem bothered when we ask). We love the location and the lobby/pool, but if there were some other hotel we would stay there.

Room Tip: Pick an upper floor (floor 4 or 5). The lower rooms are more damp and very dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AmyA829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mayaguez
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Mayaquez & Tropical Casino
1.6 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#2 of 4 in Mayaguez
135 reviews
1.6 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Downtown Mayaguez PR
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10 mi away
Rincon of the Seas Grand Caribbean Hotel
9.9 mi away
Villa Cofresi Hotel
Villa Cofresi Hotel
#1 of 7 in Rincon
802 reviews
18.3 mi away
Parador Villa Parguera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayaguez Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayaguez Resort & Casino

Address: 0.3 Route 104 Km, Mayaguez 00680, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Mayaguez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Mayaguez
Price Range: £180 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mayaguez Resort & Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mayagüez Resort & Casino is an independently operated, deluxe, full service hotel located in the west coast town of Mayagüez.The hotel is nestled amid 20 acres of scenic, sunny surroundings with spectacular views of the Bay. It is conveniently located 15 minutes from the center of town and the University of PR, Mayagüez Campus; 10 minutes from the Puerto Rico Zoo; 15 minutes from the local Eugenino Maria de Hostos Airport; a 25 minute shuttle flight from the Luis Muñoz Marin San Juan Airport; a 45 minutes drive from the regional Rafael Hernandez Airport in the town of Aguadilla; 25 minutes from the Golf course in Joyuda, Cabo Rojo; and a short ride to the most beautiful beaches and tourist attraction areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mayaguez Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayaguez Resort And Casino
Mayaguez Hotel Mayaguez
Mayaguez Resort Casino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing