We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Howard Johnson Inn Downtown Mayaguez PR
Nearby Hotels
US$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$167
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$163
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Colonial(Mayaguez)(Great Value!)
US$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Perichi's(Cabo Rojo)
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cofresi Beach Hotel(Boqueron)(Great Value!)
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$287
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$193
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$150
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$158
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Parguera Plaza Hotel(Lajas)(Great Value!)
US$148
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Cofresi Hotel(Rincon)(Great Value!)
US$175
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (399)
Filter reviews
399 results
Traveller rating
93
144
91
50
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
93
144
91
50
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsacross the streetcontinental breakfastsmall poollocation is greatpuerto ricoricomini bakeryevery morningparking lotwould recommend this place to anyonesecurity stafftown plazaold buildingqueen sizewill stay there againshort staypleasant experiencehot water
Filter
Updating list...
232 - 237 of 399 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2013

I was in town to attend my Aunt and Uncle's 50th Anniversary and chose this hotel for its proximity to the event. I tried to check in early but was not allowed in the room until about 2:30. I needed the time to get ready for the event at 4:30. It is an old bldg that has been remodeled to be a hotel and the rooms are a bit small. However, it was clean and the hot water worked and we slept great. I only wish the hotels in PR where more like the hotels in the continental US. I stayed in 4 different hotels during the week and none had a refrigerator or microwave. This one did have the ice holder and a safe which was nice to put your valuables. I would rent a house if staying in place while visiting just to have ability to bring home left overs and refrigerant things. If you don't mind not having a microwave and fridge then this hotel will work. Over all I the location is great fro access to downtown Mayaguez, it is clean and economical. I would stay here again for short stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Canela38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hector c, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Downtown Mayaguez PR, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

We want to thank you for your feedback and for choosing Howard Johnson for your recent stay.

The check in time is at 3:00pm, but if we have the rooms available before that, we gladly give the rooms to our early arrivals. One thing I recommend if you are planning to arrive early, is to call before arriving the hotel to make sure we have a room available to avoid any wait time.

We suggest our guests to notify of any special request to our reservations agents or front desk clerks. This way we can provide our guests with all the services and amenities they need to make their stay more pleasant.

We hope to see you in a near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

This hotel does not come up on Google or Apple's maps and the address does not come up either. Maybe there is a reason? The hotel lobby is muggy and the front desk person charged us additional $13 for parking and a "hotel fee" of $3 for each of us in addition to the hotwire rate of $72. The rooms we got were on the first floor which were basically open like an outside area. All tile and very loud and we were next to a compressor that came on every minute and ran for 10 seconds. Mold on the ceiling in multiple areas. Hair on the sheets, bugs in the bathroom, no remote for the TV. I woke up at 12PM, 2AM, 3AM, and 5AM. Then again at 6AM to a church bell performance that we were not warned about. Same at 6:30AM. Breakfast was bread, bagels, and apples. No one asked how it was and I got a huge mosquito bite in the breakfast line. Parking cost us $10 and was a walk across the street in the rain. If we hadn't spent 20 minutes to find it and it wasn't 10PM, we would have left. This place was awful and not even worth half of what we spent. The internet worked well and that's about it. I know it is a 2 star place and we tried to account for that but this was below a 1 star. Very uncomfortable and dirty and not really safe considering where our rooms were.

Room Tip: For the best room at this hotel, stay in a different hotel!!
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CMorrison2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hector c, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Downtown Mayaguez PR, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2013

First of all, we would like to thank you for your input and apologize for every inconvenient you had during your stay.

About the Hotel fee and Parking fee, when you book a reservation through a third party company like Hotwire, they can not charge you those two fees for they are local charges. Also these fees are listed and specified on Hotwire's “hotel amenities” section as parking $4.82 per day and hotel fee $3.27 per accommodation, per night, not per person.

Our hotel is located right next to the main historical cathedral and the bell chiming is part of our catholic culture, unfortunately we have no control over that.

It is very important to mention that our continental breakfast include coffee, juice, bread (white or wheat), bagels, muffins, a variety of cereals, yogurts and fruit. On weekends, we add oatmeal or cream of wheat at no extra cost. We also have other breakfast options available by special order.

Even though our hotel is located in the center of Mayagüez, we have never had any security problem, for our priority is to keep our guests safe and happy during their stay.

Please accept our apologies and reconsider our hotel for your next stay. Our agents are available 24/7 to answer all your questions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 1 July 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
hector c, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Downtown Mayaguez PR, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 30 June 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
hector c, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Downtown Mayaguez PR, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews