We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice clean hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Downtown Mayaguez PR
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Mayaguez
Guaynabo
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice clean hotel”
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

There is nothing fancy here, just straightforward, no frills. There really is not much to do in the town center, but the penthouse terrace (our room was in the top floor) was great for breakfast outside and had nice views (and sounds) of the church's belltowers.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mikedoron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    135
    86
    44
    20
See reviews for
125
105
18
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Excellent!
It was a business trip. The breakfast was nice, there a clean and well lighted place. The pool is excellent and the parking attention! Thank you!


  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Pedro E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hector c, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Downtown Mayaguez PR, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
We appreciate your feedback and we are very glad you enjoyed your trip. We look forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middleburg
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

I was in town to attend my Aunt and Uncle's 50th Anniversary and chose this hotel for its proximity to the event. I tried to check in early but was not allowed in the room until about 2:30. I needed the time to get ready for the event at 4:30. It is an old bldg that has been remodeled to be a hotel and the rooms are a bit small. However, it was clean and the hot water worked and we slept great. I only wish the hotels in PR where more like the hotels in the continental US. I stayed in 4 different hotels during the week and none had a refrigerator or microwave. This one did have the ice holder and a safe which was nice to put your valuables. I would rent a house if staying in place while visiting just to have ability to bring home left overs and refrigerant things. If you don't mind not having a microwave and fridge then this hotel will work. Over all I the location is great fro access to downtown Mayaguez, it is clean and economical. I would stay here again for short stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Canela38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hector c, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Downtown Mayaguez PR, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
We want to thank you for your feedback and for choosing Howard Johnson for your recent stay.

The check in time is at 3:00pm, but if we have the rooms available before that, we gladly give the rooms to our early arrivals. One thing I recommend if you are planning to arrive early, is to call before arriving the hotel to make sure we have a room available to avoid any wait time.

We suggest our guests to notify of any special request to our reservations agents or front desk clerks. This way we can provide our guests with all the services and amenities they need to make their stay more pleasant.

We hope to see you in a near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mayaguez
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Mayaquez & Tropical Casino
0.0 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#2 of 4 in Mayaguez
130 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mayaguez Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Combate Beach Resort
Combate Beach Resort
#1 of 9 in Cabo Rojo
670 reviews
12.4 mi away
Parador Boquemar
Parador Boquemar
#2 of 5 in Boqueron
202 reviews
21.1 mi away
Hotel Parador Guanica 1929
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Downtown Mayaguez PR? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Downtown Mayaguez PR

Property: Howard Johnson Inn Downtown Mayaguez PR
Address: Calle Mendez Vigo 70 Este, Mayaguez 00680, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Mayaguez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Mayaguez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Downtown Mayaguez PR 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Downtown Mayaguez PR reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Downtown Mayaguez Hotel Mayaguez
Howard Johnson Mayaguez
Mayaguez Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing