We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Historic Building, Good Location, Great Service, Needs attention to detail”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Downtown Mayaguez PR
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Mayaguez
Carolina, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
152 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Historic Building, Good Location, Great Service, Needs attention to detail”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Hotel is located at the right side of the Parish, in the town square. One of the hotel buildings has been designated an historical structure. It used to be the Clergy dormitory. Room décor is rustic and minimal. The other hotel building has modern room décor. This hotel is very quiet

The first room we got was in the more modern building. The main desk lamp did not work, the bathroom door did not close due to misalignment, and after a day there, the door card lock did not open. The staff had to jimmy-it-open and move us to another room. We ended up in a suite in the penthouse of the historical building.

Rooms were clean and stocked. They offer hard foam pillows only. Had to purchase a soft pillow elsewhere. TV channel lineup is little, reception is grainy and some channels do not work. Hotel has a nice small swimming pool between the buildings.

Hotel includes continental breakfast, hot meals are available for a reasonable price

The parking lot is close to the hotel. Nightly charge is $4.50+tax. Hotel is next to Ricomini Bakery and Diner, and a home made ice cream parlor. The town square is a block away. Beware of beggars next to the hotel collecting food money from guests.

The hotel staff is very attentive, and goes the extra mile to help guests. The hotel owners need to work on attention to small but noticeable details.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enatal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hector c, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Downtown Mayaguez PR, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us and for telling us about your experience. We appreciate your feedback, for it helps us to improve our hotel.

We hope to have you back on your next trip to Mayagüez.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    130
    85
    42
    18
See reviews for
119
100
15
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newark
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Overall, it was a good stay thanks to the hotel staff members, Ernesto & Dennis. They were very accommodating & understanding of any of our concerns were addressed immediately. Due to their service, I will continue to stay at this location being that I travel to PR at least once a year.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Yecenia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Pierce
1 review
Reviewed 25 December 2013

very nice service, and promt. on requests.
the rooms where very cozy, and beds are comfy.
the lobby could use an upgrade in decor, including the bar area...I could take care of this.
The price for the stay here was perfect!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hector c, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Downtown Mayaguez PR, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 10 December 2013

This hotel was very far from the tourist path. In fact, the drive is two hours from San Juan. Driving in Puerto Rico at night is very difficult. The locals are aggressive drivers, the traffic signs are in Spanish, roads are bumpy, and the city streets are old and narrow. Most cars are dented.

Getting here was an adventure! It is well worth the effort. You won't see any tourists in Mayaquez. None. The food near the hotel is amazing. Rex Cream is up the street. Ricomini Bakery is down the street. The nearby Plaza Colon has a nice coffee stand. In addition the hotel lobby has tapas, and a bar.

The hotel is very modern looking. Although the building is very old, it has been updated. The rooms are big and clean. The ceilings are incredibly high. The hotel balconies provide nice views, solitude, and seating. The staff were very friendly and are enjoyable to speak with.

For a great day, drive the nearby backroads to the small towns and beaches along the west coast. This hotel makes a great home base. When you return from your beach trip, you can enjoy the small pool, and grab some corn flavored ice cream or varieties of flan from the bakery. The morning breakfasts are light and tasty. Guava drink? Yes please!

The only bad parts about this hotel where sometimes slick floor tiles, and occasional ringing church bells.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tobe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hector c, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Downtown Mayaguez PR, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are very glad you enjoyed our hotel and the surroundings. Our location provides our guests with restaurants, shops and other touristic landmarks within walking distance, which make us the best option when staying in Mayagüez.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mayaguez
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Mayaquez & Tropical Casino
0.0 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#2 of 4 in Mayaguez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mayaguez Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Combate Beach Resort
Combate Beach Resort
#1 of 9 in Cabo Rojo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
12.5 mi away
Aquarius Vacation Club
Aquarius Vacation Club
#1 of 5 in Boqueron
4.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
13.8 mi away
Hotel Colombus
Hotel Colombus
#1 of 2 in Aguada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Downtown Mayaguez PR? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Downtown Mayaguez PR

Property: Howard Johnson Inn Downtown Mayaguez PR
Address: Calle Mendez Vigo 70 Este, Mayaguez 00680, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Mayaguez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Mayaguez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Downtown Mayaguez PR 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Downtown Mayaguez PR reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Downtown Mayaguez Hotel Mayaguez
Howard Johnson Mayaguez
Mayaguez Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing