We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Aquarius Vacation Club at Dorado del Mar Beach & Golf Resort
Chicago, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Poor conditions!”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

The quality of the rooms leave a lot to be desired. This place needs a makeover now! Musty smell. We stayed in what they call a Studio Suite for five. That should be considered a room with two full beds. The description is misleading. we were very uncomfortable. will not return ever!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Marisol F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    36
    39
    29
    31
See reviews for
79
36
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Quick and simple, roaches in the kitchen, broken doors and locks. check-in is at 4pm we didn't get the room until 7pm and check-out is at 11am, making no sense whatsoever. Towels are realky worn out and the decoration outdated. Air conditioner contro unit is located in the bathroom making it impossible for privacy. Balcony slidding doors dont lock. Jacuzzi disturbingly disgusting, full of hair, dirt making it repulsive to even think to use it.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Leslie A. B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmen C, General Manager at Aquarius Vacation Club at Dorado del Mar Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you very much for taking time to let us know your experience with us. Your comments will help us improve our level of service and increase the quality of our guest experience. Upon our conversation I do apologize and understand your discomfort for not being granted the requested late Check Out. Because we value your business, we offer only the best to all our guest. Fulfilling this commitment, our Pest Elimination Program is conducted by Eco Lab Inc (Fortune 500) which is the largest commercial pest elimination company in the USA. A thorough inspection of our property is conducted on a weekly basis and findings are reported detailing any pest activity. We can proudly affirm that in the years of service by Eco Lab we have had no roaches or pest activity as confirmed by their own inspections. We apologize for your vacation experience being anything less than satisfying. It is our hope that you give us another opportunity to serve you in the near future.
Carmen Cordero
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guaynabo, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I just give it 3 Stars because, besides it's gentle personnel always willing to help, pool areas were great, clean and charming, my room was very deteriorated and not well equipped. They do housekeeping once a week, it was at 5:00 PM and we had to tell them to use the vacuum for the carpets and to do other duties, closet doors were derailed and hard to open and close, lot of things were loose, front door latch was broken as so the one in the sliding door that gave access to the balcony. Kitchen lacks of needed utensils.
The good is that you are closed to a lot of restaurants, movie theaters, pharmacies, etc.
If you do not spend too much time in rooms and don't mind about such things, you can have wonderful vacations here.

Room Tip: Do not stay in room 2456-2458
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amaury S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

I just spent a week at this facility with my wife, my son and his wife and our 3 grandchildren. At first, I was a little apprehensive because of the reviews, but decided to try this place out since I had stayed at other locations on the island. We arrived on a Friday night and was welcome very professionally and friendly by the receptionist. We were assigned our rooms on the top floor facing the west with a great view of the ocean, Excellent! The rooms were nice and clean; and like a previous reviewer mentioned, the rooms could use some sprucing up, but you have to take in consideration the amount of traffic that goes thru these rooms and the age of the facility. You will not get any housekeeping service while you are there, however everytime we needed anything, all we needed to do was ask a housekeeper and they provided it. We had a washer & dryer in one of our rooms and we were able to wash and dry our towels when needed. In reference to your trash, you just need to take it down the hall to the trash room on your way out. The pools and private beach area is great and we spent a good amount of time there enjoying it. It was a little crowded during the weekend, however during the week, it was very enjoyable with not many people. There is many places to eat and buy groceries right outside the gated area which is a big plus. The building floors were cleaned and maintained daily. Overall, I would recommend this facility and I would definetly stay here again. Thanks to Brenda and the rest of the receptionist and housekeeping crew who made our stay very enjoyable!

Javier B. & familia

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Javier B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darien, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

Pool area was great. Beach access with a nice beach. Room were spacious. Rooms and hotel need a little TLC. Everything was clean just needs sprucing up! The front desk people were awesome; friendly, helpful, and professional. Taxi driver William turned us on to a great place to eat: the Greenhouse Cafe. Only draw back taxi ride from airport $65 to $125 ride into town $10 per person. Out side the gated community may be a bit adventurous but I walked through the day and did not feel uncomfortable.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JMH H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We traveled on a whim for a short vacation to Puerto Rico last week and we had an amazing time! To make it even better we dodged the revortexualization going on in NYC and all that snow!

I let my friend book the hotel after taking care of the flights and it did not disappoint. We upgraded to the corner, two bedroom suite so we were really comfortable, we had a full living room and kitchen, as well as a balcony.

The room overlooked the water and the pool was right there. The bartender at the pool, Nilda & the waitress were amazing. Making sure our drinks were always full and we were always taken care of. The room attendants were great and the location was superb, not too far from San Juan and not too close.

We are looking forward to returning to Puerto Rico, we will ask for a higher floor next and hopefully we can stay a bit longer.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AndresJumanji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmen C, Manager at Aquarius Vacation Club at Dorado del Mar Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Thank you for choosing Aquarius Vacation Club at Dorado del Mar & Golf Resort for your recent stay in Dorado. We at Aquarius Vacation Club would like to thank you for taking time and expressing your satisfaction during your stay. We would be more than happy to accomodate your request. Hope to see you soon for a longer vacation here at your home away from home. Always at your service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trujillo Alto, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

This is a timeshare resort which shares the pool, the fitness center and the game stop with the Embassy Suites Hotel. There's not too much to do at the resort, unless you like to gamble at the casino or love to play golf, but if you want or need a peaceful rest time, this resort is a good choice. On weekends there's a lot of children and teens, but by week days there's just a bunch of people (November's low season).
This resort have been updated since my last year review:
1) inventory form for both units
2) new kitchen appliances (full stove top, microwave, dishwasher and refrigerator in stainless steel)
3) new sofa bed
4) three new LCD TV (one in the living room and one in each bedroom
5) some of the old furniture from the living room have been removed
6) both units were cleaner than last year
7) housekeeping was more responsive when needed
8) pots and chinaware were complete for both units
The cons:
1) drapes needs a change
2) most sheets are worn out
3) bed quilts are to heavy, stained and worn out
4) AC is too cold
5) if you try to raise the temperature (shutting off the AC or opening the balcony doors) walls and floor begins to drip or sweat
6) the hallway carpet needs an update or I think it will be better to change to tiles
7) parking lot is expensive, it's not necessary to use it (for the second auto) if it's low season
8) beach area was dirty
9) lacks of activities
As always, Nancy Vega, at front desk does a wonderful job and the same did Giovanni Coira at housekeeping.
In general, the resort staff and WE Manage, had made an effort to accomplish some of my last year critics, however there are things that needs to be improved.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank trisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorado
0.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Dorado del Mar Beach Resort
1.8 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
13.0 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
66.8 mi away
Aquarius Vacation Club
Aquarius Vacation Club
#1 of 5 in Boqueron
330 reviews
6.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Levittown
3.1 mi away
Hyatt Hacienda Del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquarius Vacation Club at Dorado del Mar Beach & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquarius Vacation Club at Dorado del Mar Beach & Golf Resort

Property: Aquarius Vacation Club at Dorado del Mar Beach & Golf Resort
Address: 201 Dorado del Mar Boulevard, Dorado, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Dorado
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Dorado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Aquarius Vacation Club at Dorado del Mar Beach & Golf Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aquarius Vacation Club at Dorado del Mar Beach & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquarius Vacation Club At Dorado Del Mar Beach & Golf Hotel Dorado
Aquarius Vacation Club At Dorado Del Mar Beach And Golf Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing