We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First trip to Puerto Rico”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hyatt Hacienda Del Mar
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dorado
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Friends that were with us selected this thru their time share. Didn't have the best reviews but let me tell you it was great! All the rooms face the pool/beach. When we arrived we sat down on the beach and listened to the waves....at 1030pm! It was so relaxing after traveling. The rooms were clean, staff quite friendly. There was a hotel closed down next door that some referred to as an eye sore. It wasn't that bad...the only eye sore we had was trying to find a liquor store! Not the best little roads.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Donna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (638)
There are newer reviews for Hyatt Hacienda Del Mar
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

322 - 328 of 638 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2014

The review I read made me think I had to be weary, but I was presently surprised. The rooms were spotless, very tropical furniture. Every thing a person would need if you want to cook. The grounds were like living in paradise. The neighboring hotel that is vacan does not even show, there are beautiful palm trees covering it. The hotel is very far and hard to find but once there, you feel like you hit the jackpot of hotels in a Puerto Rico.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank PAPO026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Traveled to Hyatt Hacineda Del Mar in March 2014 for Spring Break. First of all after reading some of the negative reviews I was concerned about the property and after arriving I realized that my concern was wasteful. Several reports have made mention of the resort adjacent to the Hyatt that is closed. Yes, it is there and it is closed however reports of the 'ugly rusty fence' and 'homeless people living in there' in my experience are not accurate. There is a large fence but is is not rusty or otherwise ugly. The fence has a green fabric attached to it that hides the fence and what was once a nice resort. The views in every other direction are so beautiful it is easy to filter this out and I did not consider it an eyesore at all. I did not see a single homeless person there but I did see several members of the Hyatt ground crew entering and exiting the grounds. It appears that they use it for storage and enter and exit frequently. Maybe the workers were mistaken for homeless people by other reports?
The rooms are very spacious and clean and the views off of the balcony are beautiful if you are above the palm tree line (5th floor or >). The decor is a little dated, but most of the resorts that I have stayed at are. The decor was nice enough for my taste and I did not feel that the room was not maintained or otherwise run down at all. We all slept well, were comfortable and all agreed that the rooms were clean and had no other concerns.
The staff is very friendly and always willing to go a little further to help you beyond what you had asked for. The food by the beach is good and the staff is very friendly and helpful with directions and recommendations for local attractions. It is a short drive to access just about everything that you need including food, drugstores, and a newer Walmart Super Center. The resort is a little off the beaten path, but quite honestly I enjoy this and the peaceful experience that this offers.
The beach and pools are nice and my only negative comment is that the beach is not combed and as well kept as other resorts that we have stayed at. If you are not familiar with Dorado the beach is on the Atlantic side so the water is not aqua marine and the sand is not sugar white. There are waves and some would consider the water rough but if conditions are right you are able to boogie board and even surf.
We had a great time and look forward to another stay here soon. Puerto Rico really 'Does it better'. And this it true of the staff at the Hyatt Hacienda Del Mar.

Room Tip: Stay above 5th floor for the best views.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Greg T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Just returned from one glorious week at the Hyatt in Dorado, Puerto Rico . The nicest hotel staff and so friendly and helpful. Thank you to Nancy and Marilou. , The outside bar near the beach has good food and will gladly create a entree of your choice by making substitutions. The beach was quiet and the hotel was having a slow week since it was the week prior to Easter/spring break vacation week. The rooms were clean: very comfy beds and pillows. The only thing I wish I knew prior to arrival was that renting a car if you are there for more than 3-4 days is a must! We did the Bio Bay kayaking tour at dusk which is a two hour drove from the Hyatt but well worth making the journey! Great vacation!
PS The hotel next door has been closed for 10 years but supposedly this summer they are going to tear it down and built a Marriott. I am not sure if I would want to be at this location when the construction starts due to possible noise but if it doesn't start I would definitely return to the Hyatt!

Room Tip: All rooms have a beach view. I like that our room was close by the elevator.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Our family has been going to Puerto Rico Hyatt Hacienda Delmar for the past 10 years. The beach is beautiful. The grounds are barely kept up. This site needs more staff to maintain it properly. Each year it gets more and more rundown. The staff is pleasant, professional, polite and helpful but obviously understaffed. The units look clean upon entering however, when walking around in the unit barefoot the bottom of your feet get black within minutes. The floors are dirty. The bed mattresses and sleep sofa mattresses need to be replaced. The furniture and linens are wearing down. The kitchen supplies are cheap and minimal. The deteriorating empty run-down hotel next-door to the Hyatt is a major major eyesore and detriment to our Hyatt Timeshare. What a disappointment. We were told when we bought the timeshare about 10 years ago that we would have a beautiful new hotel next-door. Our yearly upkeep has increased and our timeshare quality has decreased. Last year I stayed at the Sedona Hyatt. It was beautiful. It was clean and the upkeep was impeccable. What has happened to our Hyatt Hacienda Delmar? When asked about our Hyatt vacation club timeshare, I am not recommending Hyatt Vacations anymore. Hyatt needs to pay attention to all of its sites. Puerto Rico is suffering. Hyatts can be beautiful and well-kept in some places and run down in others. One cannot assume that because it's a Hyatt that it is a good place to stay. Unfortunately in the case of Puerto Rico, sadly, Hyatt can no longer stand on its name alone.

Room Tip: The untrimmed trees block the view from almost every room.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mmwoowoo40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

From the moment I arrived at Hacienda, it was like leaving the city behind and being transported to my personal piece of paradise.
After a long day of flights and meetings, I needed a break and this was it.

The registration was smooth and fast. Went to my room, dropped my bags, and off to the only restaurant. Cozy and casual dinning by the beach and pool. Had a drink and dinner was ready in a few minutes. With the waves in the background and some local music playing in the background as well, I forgot about my long day in no time.

For the next few days it was just about the same. Perfection.

Rooms are very spacious and clean. My bed was made daily but the room only gets refreshed every so often, as this is more of a vacation club than a hotel. But I was still able to book just a few nights without being a member.

Everyone was super friendly, and overall there was nothing wrong.

Room Tip: Higher floors will allow you to see the beach. The palm trees sort off obstruct the view on floors...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bennie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We spent a wonderful four day mini-vacation with my sister in law and her husband in a well appointed two bedroom with baths and kitchens suite. The weather was perfect. The rooms were clean. A small leak in the water piping was fixed instantly. The property is well managed. The private beach is a real strong argument for this property. There are no wanderers coming through, no beach sales, just blue water, comfortable recliners, plenty of towels, and a beach bar and grill.

The air conditioning, appliances, and bathroom fixtures all worked perfectly. The beds are comfortable like almost all Hyatt properties.

Take time to explore around the resort area because you will want to find some other places to eat and shop. If you ask at the front desk you can get a list and directions. One of the best places we ate was at the Pika Bar & Restaurant, just across the highway from the Hyatt entrance andwest about 100 meters.

Room Tip: All rooms have an ocean view.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kalahun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorado
3.6 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
3.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Dorado del Mar Beach Resort
12.7 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.8 mi away
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Puerto Rico Golf & Beach Resort
13.0 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
12.8 mi away
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Hacienda Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Hacienda Del Mar

Address: 301 Carr 693, Dorado 00646-2205, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Dorado
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dorado
Price Range: £122 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Hacienda Del Mar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the beauty and charm of Dorado, Puerto Rico in luxury. Hyatt Hacienda Del Mar, A Hyatt Residence Club invites you to experience paradise and true serenity at this beachfront resort, located just 25 miles from San Juan and situated on the famed Dorado Beach. Your worries and cares will drift out to sea with the warm tropical breezes as you soak up the sun on our private beach or poolside. Play a round of golf at one of the nearby championship golf courses or rejuvenate with a spa treatment at the Spa Del Sol. Plan a day trip to the El Yunque Rainforest or soar through the skies like an eagle hang gliding. Fun in the sun awaits with nearby water sports including windsurfing, jet skiing, snorkeling, kayaking, catamarans, deep-sea fishing and horseback riding. Visit historic Old San Juan founded in 1591, explore the Camuy Caverns–third largest cave system in the western hemisphere–or take a free tour of the Bacardi Rum Distillery. Let our friendly, professional staff take care of arranging your activities both near and far. Hyatt Hacienda Del Mar features spacious studio, one-bedroom and two-bedroom beachfront accommodations, some of which include full kitchens and jetted spa tubs. Enjoy on-site amenities like tennis, mini-golf, basketball court, sand volleyball court, game room and a state-of-the-art fitness center featuring LifeFitness equipment, free weights, exercise cycles, and treadmills. Enjoy lunch and your favorite tropical drink at the Blu Bohio Bar and Grill or take it surfside if you wish. At the Hyatt Hacienda Del Mar on Dorado Beach, you'll discover all the fun, sun and excitement that have made Puerto Rico a legendary getaway. Please contact the resort directly to reconfirm your reservations if necessary. This is a non-smoking resort. Guests must be at least 21 years of age to check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Hacienda Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Hacienda Del Mar Hotel Dorado
Hyatt Hotel Dorado
Hyatt Resort Dorado
Hyatt Dorado
Hyatt Cerromar
Dorado Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing