We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional luxury resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dorado
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

Just returned from an overnight stay. Had a great experience. The facilities are incredible and the attention to detail is impressive. The service is also impeccable. The staff really go out of their way to assist you with anything. In particular, I would like to thank Noraliz for her assistance with the reservation, Ana for a wonderful check in experience, and Lorraine for greeting us at lunch and helping us out with dinner reservations. There were also many other great experiences with staff members but they're too many to remember the names. There were only a few minor inconveniences which should not hinder you from choosing this hotel but I will mention them in the hopes that they get corrected for the future. I was in room 911 and whenever you would turn on the TV, the volume was always full blast and it would startle you with the blast. Also, the glass sliding door would not shut and latch properly so we just left it as closed as possible and turned on the air conditioner to go to sleep. However, at around 6 AM, the room was getting hot because the AC had shut down and the control panel said balcony door open was the reason but since we couldn't get the door closed all the way, we had to turn on the fan in order to go back to sleep. Overall, it was a great stay and I would recommend the hotel for those looking for a luxurious getaway no matter the cost.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank sbenus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (891)
There are newer reviews for Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

740 - 746 of 891 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2013

From the moment you step into the resort you feel treated like the hard working star that you are!

The views are spectacular. The service is unparalleled. The rooms are beautiful.

My room has a private pool with a great view to the beach. You feel like it's your home! Quiet and private. Exactly how I like it.

The bathroom is to die for!

I had a great time at this hotel and will return to finish writing my second book.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank dfontanez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

From the minute we arrived i was impressed with the genuine kindness and pride of the staff of this property..the hotel is stunning, everything i hoped for..the resturants were great, the grounds
unbelivable...but again it was the staff that made it a amazing vacation..Among many little things that were done for us without asking, one of the bartenders roberto had been talking to us about the local soups...then the next morning at 9 we had a knock at the door and he had brought us some home made soup from the market on his way to work...Ingrid and lourdes from the spa were knowlegable ,kind and really went out of thier way to make my birthday spa visit very special. But it was the pool attendants and service staff from postivio who really stood out, exspecailly armando who we later found out was new at his job...bree, who i think was the resturants manager anticiapted so many of our needs and made so many arrangements for us, including teaming up with housekeeping to make our birthdays very special., the hotel is very lucky to have someone like her...i noticed the entire time we were there she interacted with guest asking about the day before and giving new ideas..very helpful and kind..Housekeeping was just amazing...

Room Tip: loved the ground floor rooms with plunge pools
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 582cheryl582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

My lovely wife and I honeymooned many years ago at this property when it was Laurence Rockefeller's Dorado Beach Hotel. We frequently returned to relive those great experiences during the years when the hotel was under the management of Eastern Airlines (when the maintenance suffered) and then reborn under the more professional Hyatt Hotel chain....
We were heartbroken when the Dorado Beach closed just a few years ago....
But, WOW was that a great turning point for this magnificent property on fantastic crescent shaped beach, for it has now been completely rebuilt in a style that is far beyond even its grandest moments as a Rockresort !!! The Ritz Carlton management have done this site proud in the most stunning fashion. It is now our favorite Caribbean destination, and second only to our beloved Kauai in the Hawaiian Islands....

We stayed in one of their ground floor rooms with private plunge pool and strongly recommend that choice. Our stay during this past May went by far too swiftly, but will always be held high in our hearts. The features of the rooms are truly breath-taking, and the view lines throughout the property are awesome. The quality of the food & drink served in the various cocktail and restaurant areas was superb, and not overpriced as is so often the case in the Caribbean. We will post just a few of our photographs that capture this strong attribute of the Resort. By all means, do visit this extraordinary private resort with your love. Neither of you will ever regret this decision, nor any aspect of your stay in this tropical paradise....

Room Tip: We strongly advise paying the modest upgrade cost to occupy a ground level room with its private plu...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank dickgoode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We just returned from a week at the resort, and loved every minute of it. The property is as beautiful as can be, the beaches are perfect, the pools are gorgeous, and the rooms are fabulous. Without exception, everyone who worked at the resort was friendly and helpful.

This was our 20th anniversary, and they made us feel very special. In particular, our butler Jaime went above and far beyond our expectations. He made sure we had plans for dinner every evening, and had great suggestions for us. He was easily available and responsive, without being intrusive. This is a delicate balance which he managed to maintain perfectly. Jaime truly excelled at making our trip memorable. I don’t know how they assign butlers, but ask for Jaime if you can.

This is an expensive resort. But I feel that it was a good value.

Room Tip: Every room is a good room. Plunge pool rooms have little privacy but direct beach access, second fl...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Todd_MPLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We are just finishing a week's stay at the resort. Before coming for our vacation, I did all the checking I could on the web and, still, there were lots of unanswered questions---questions we've now answered.

First, the resort really is as beautiful as most reviewers have said. It's expansive and lush with vegetation. The photos on the resort's website really don't do justice.

Before we came, we debated whether we wanted West Beach (more expensive) or East Beach and whether we wanted downstairs with plunge or upstairs. We were uncertain. For us, the answers are now quite clear: West Beach with plunge.

While the East Beach is more private, with less people walking by, we never had any problem with the West Beach in terms of privacy. And, during our stay, the occupancy went from 20% to 100%---still no privacy issue at all on the West Beach.

If you choose the East Beach, you need to know---positively---that there is no direct access to a real beach. The access routes are rocky and there are rocks in the water, so you will not be comfortable if you, like us, enjoy direct access to a truly accessible beach.

We stayed on the West Beach and loved every minute of it. We loved the fact that we could walk directly out of our plunge-pool room and be on the beach in seconds and in the water in just a few more seconds. While we didn't use our plunge pool that often, we'd still take a plunge room because the access to the beach is direct and immediate---a huge plus for us. The upstairs rooms, while they have moderately better views, need to exit from the rear of their room and descend quite a few steps and then walk around the building to get to the beach---something that would have been a considerable minus for us.

So: We strongly recommend West Beach, downstairs room. It might not matter to others, but it mattered a lot to us.

Our favorite part of the trip: The protected waters of West Beach. The water is warm, clear, calm---a 100% positive delight. Because the West Beach was our favorite, that explains why our having direct access was so important. The pools are lovely too, but we never used them---we couldn't get enough of the beach.

The rooms: Modern, large, clean, luxurious. The outdoor shower, which we suspected would be nothing more than a gimmick, was terrific. The room was perfectly comfortable. The wi-fi was great. We would have preferred that the plunge pool be heated, but it wasn't; we were told the pools used to be heated but no more.

The Botanica Spa: It is beautiful and spacious with state-of-the-art facilities. We had massages there. Mediocre and way, way over priced. We can't recommend it. And, the tree house massage rooms seem a rip off to us. A massage is a massage. Being in a tree house is an overpriced gimmick. We recommend that you don't buy into this silly extravagance, unless you need to talk about it when you get home.

The Embajadors: We had Jaime, a person who has received very positive reviews from other guests. We can understand why. He is a professional, appearing frequently throughout our stay (without being intrusive) just to make sure we had what we wanted and needed. We liked him and his co-Embajador Wilfredo very much. If you want attention and care, ask for Jaime and/or Wilfredo.

The staff: Without exception, all were great; attentive; pleasant; professional. All tried very hard to please and we very much enjoyed interacting with them at restaurants and around the premises. Particular kudos go to Jaime, Wilfredo, Michele (the best, most pleasant, most caring and wonderful housekeeper you'll ever have), the three Joses (all bartenders at Mi Casa with the same names---the one we got to know the best is "Chuck" who is a world-class competition flair mixologist), and two skilled and extremely friendly waiters at Mi Casa (David and Jennymar). Last but far from least is Bri---the director of all restaurants; she is a class act and a skilled manager; and be sure to order her version of the Pina Colada, the Bri Colada.

The food was fine at each of the restaurants we visited. The Mi Casa breakfasts are excellent, and dinner at Mi Casa (while expensive) is outstanding; if you dine there, don't overlook the passion fruit yogurt at breakfast (really good) and the chicken-croquette/fritter tapas (outstanding); the Positivo Sand Bar has really tasty hamburgers during the day (different menu at night) and a great lobster cobb salad. Encanto, while a pretty restaurant, was our least favorite---the food seemed overly ambitious.

A warning: The breakfast menu at Mi Casa has Eggs Benedict. Don't be fooled. It's not like any Eggs Benedict we'd ever seen before. It's a soup with foam, with pieces of pork belly and English Muffin floating around in it. I found it disgusting and sent it back. And, I noticed that others who had ordered it, left it virtually untouched. At times, these fancy chefs try to deconstruct and foam everything in their reach---all to impress in an extremely unimpressive and unappetizing way. Jose's Eggs Benedict simply don't work.

When my wife and I travel, we are usually quite independent. While our Embajador, Jaime, was perfect, we're not sure we'd love the system with an Embajador less skilled than Jaime. In fact, we're pretty sure we would not like it. I suggest the resort rethink what it's trying to achieve with this system.

That's all we can think of. Overall, a great vacation at a splendid resort.

Hope we've answered a few questions that others might have.

Room Tip: In our view, there is only one choice: West Beach, plunge pool room.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Double Scrutiny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We spent 4 nights/5 days as part of a company award trip at this resort and I have never been so disappointed. When we arrived we were told something about having a personal ambassador who would see to our every need. I'm guessing that was the person who showed us to our room who we never saw again.
The room was ok but not worth the inflated price especially when the so called luxury bathroom had a shower with barely a trickle and we had no hot water at all when we arrived. Also when we tried to phone to report this the phone in the room did not work so we had to use our cell phone to ring the hotel to get this sorted. The room phone was repaired quite quickly but it took 3 further phone calls and 3 engineer visits to get the water hot and even then we had to run it for about 15 mins to achieve some heat. Hardly what you would expect in a luxury resort.
Generally service around the hotel was poor and erratic. Hardly any service around the pools and no service at all along the beach. To get a beach towel to use in the beach area involved a 100 yard walk. We had breakfast in Mi Casa and service here was slow and they even ran out of wheat toast one morning. Some friends waited over an hour for their cooked breakfast to arrive. We had to ask several times for napkins, juice or more tea/coffee.
A group of us ate at Mi Casa one evening. We sat down at 8pm and the main course did not arrive until at least 10pm. The price of the food was also extremely inflated for what was actually quite an average meal.
The location is quite pretty but is spoilt by it's lack of attention to detail, like beer bottles not cleared from the beach by the next morning and an old broken sunbed left on the beach partly buried in sand.
We have stayed in other luxury resorts in the Caribbean that have not been so expensive as this one, but have far better all round standards.
I really can't believe other peoples high reviews of this resort?

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Pauline O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorado
31.9 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico
14.8 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
19.0 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#7 of 13 in Isla Verde
3,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 47 in San Juan
2,762 reviews
59.1 mi away
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
1,840 reviews
14.9 mi away
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve

Address: 100 Dorado Beach Drive, Dorado 00646-2058, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Dorado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dorado
Price Range: £650 - £2,502 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve 5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Somewhere between idyllic and perfection sits a Puerto Rico resort of such intimate luxury and rare character, it calls to those who believe every journey should be a voyage of discovery. Once a 1,400-acre sugar plantation owned by the Livingston family, Dorado Beach caught the eye of conservationist visionary Laurance S. Rockefeller, who in the 1950s transformed the lush landscape into one of Puerto Rico’s most exclusive luxury resorts. With its serene coastline, private residences, spa sanctuary, golf courses and a harmonious sense of place that blends masterfully into the natural surroundings, Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve invites guests to arrive spellbound – and depart speechless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing