We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best Ritz Carlton, a new bar has been set” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dorado
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The Best Ritz Carlton, a new bar has been set”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

This was a family vacation and we had been to the older Ritz Carlton in Puerto Rico years ago and decided we would not go back to Puerto Rico. When we found out about the new Ritz Carlton Reserve we decided to go back to Puerto Rico and we are so happy we did. This is the nicest resort I have ever been to in my life. We did have a suite with an adjoining room and large private plunge pool basically right on the beach. This resort is so nice I never wanted to leave. You can get bikes and ride for miles on the property which is gorgeous. The food is great and the staff is wonderful. After staying here I'm afraid it's going to be hard for any hotel to WOW me, but I hope I am wrong; it is a treat to find such a paradise.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank bmacoms1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George S, General Manager at Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear bmacoms1,

Thank you for your review of Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve!

I am delighted to hear that you and your family have discovered The Reserve and that you enjoyed our exotic sanctuary.

The resort continues to garner great reviews from distinuished guests as yourself and I am happy to hear that "we have set the bar".

Please feel free to contact me directly when planning your return as it would be a pleasure for me to assist you in coordinating your visit.

Warm Regards,

George M. Sotelo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    603
    108
    35
    19
    11
See reviews for
226
379
6
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
old forge
Level Contributor
193 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

this was the nicest resort we have ever stayed at. rented a car to drive to dorado from san juan. its only a 30 min drive from osj. when we arrived at the welcome pavillion we were greeted with housemade popcicles then given a personal tour of the grounds. our room was on the east side 2nd floor. very private right next to the ocean. our room was to die for. hallway lead to bar area with lovely note and bowl of fruit welcoming us. the walk in closet lead to large bathroom. what a luxury to take an outdoor shower. the large bedroom and sitting room lead to the balcony with awesome views and space.i sat out on the terrace every morning drinking my coffee and listened to the ocean waves down below us every night. staff are personal and helpful. bikes were delivered to our room to navigate grounds. golf carts were a phone call away to assist wirh transport. the watermill is worth spending time at especially with kids...open only on weekends. its like your own private water park...no lines or crowds.encanto pool is large with lots if seating and spaces inside and out of pool area. beach is private and protected. positivo pool is unforgetable...breathtaking views! mi casa breakfast and positivo dinner very nice and good service. we did not get to use the spa but it looked incredible. the ritz reserve definitely exceeded all our expectations!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank ofdevils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George S, General Manager at Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear ofdevils,

I want to thank you for your recent post of Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve!

I am delighted to hear that you consider The Reserve "the nicest resort you have stayed at" and that it "exceeded your expecations".

I am also glad to hear that you enjoyed your luxurious accommodations, the restaurants, the waterpark and that you were able to ride your bikes around the campus.

Please feel free to contact me directly should your travels bring you back to the enchanted island of Puerto Rico as it would be a pleasure for me to assist you with coordinating your visit.

Warm Regards,

George M. Sotelo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Never been tempted to stay in Puerto Rico before but after reading about the RCR, we decided to give it a try during my spring break (teacher). From the minute we arrived, every turn was a delightful surprise. The lobby area was lush and modern and impressive. Our room on the West beach was perfect. Decent sized bedroom area, large bathroom, nice porch area and finally....someone got the plunge pool right. Usually they are more like a glorified dunk tank (or hot tub since the sun heats them to uncomfortable temps). This one was just perfect and we were surprised at how much we actually used it. The three different beaches appeal to whatever mood you're in....floating, wading, walking, or water sports (my husband took surf and windsurf lessons and loved it). The service was great....especially Ricardo the manager---so friendly and sincere. A good listener, which I find is rare among managerial staff. The food was good to great. Mi Casa may be a little overhyped, though.
A few notes:
1. I felt like I was sleeping on an airport runway. From the blinking smoke alarm light, to the tv, to the large glowing light panels next to each side of the bed---I had to run around with tshirts and scarves to cover them. I leaned my Kindle up against the glowing panel on my side and ended up forgetting to pack it. On a positive note....we called from the airport and they Fed ex'd it home. Now that is 5 star service. Well done, RCR!
2. The main reason why I cannot give this resort 5 stars (and I want to...I really want to), is because of the local membership/club aspect. One moment you feel like you are in pampered luxury, the next you are in some kind of local playground with screaming kids and loud families. There is supposed to be some kind of separation but the club members drag their sun chairs over in front of the glass panel building and sneak over to the Reserve section beach. Add the water park to the mix and you have a heavy handed children's paradise. Couldn't get anywhere near the pool (an adult pool would be fantastic).
3. Beach service was ridiculously lacking. But service everywhere else was exceptional.

We enjoyed our stay and I would love to return one day. Besides, I really need some more sweet plantain and pork mofongo.

Room Tip: West beach is perfection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kirstin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George S, General Manager at Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear NewarkReds,

Thank you for your recent post of Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve.

I am delighted that you visited The Reserve for spring break after reading about it and that you were "delightfully surpised" at every turn. I have to agree with you that the pools in the accommodations are a fan favorite for many of our distinguished guests. I am also glad that you were able to experience all three beaches as they are all very different experiences and apologize that we fell short at the beach club.

I also appreciate your comments regarding the accommodations and will be looking into this with the team......I am glad to hear that you did get your scarf though.

I also want to thank you for highlighting Ricardo and the ladies and gentlemen of the resort as we strive to provide the highest levels of service to our guests.

Please feel free to contact me when planning your return as it would be a pleasure for me to assist you in coordinating your visit.

Warm Regards,

George M. Sotelo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

This place is heaven. My husband and I first stayed at the Ritz in San Juan and that did not go well, but once we arrived here we were so amazed by everything. From the views, the rooms, pools, beaches, and oh my god the service here is like no other!!! Annette, Noel and Jimmy were exceptional. Jimmy was so attentive and pleasant. We can not wait to go back!!! No other hotel can ever compare.

Room Tip: All rooms face the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George S, General Manager at Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Denise R,

Thank you for your review of Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve!

I am delighted to hear that you and your husband had an "Amazing" time at the resort an consider it "Heaven".

We are humbled by your comments regarding the service you experienced at the resort and I thank you for highlighting some of the ladies and gentlemen that made your stay a memorable one.

I look forward to having the opportunity to welcoming you and your husband back to our exotic sanctuar in the near future.

Warmest Regards,

George M. Sotelo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

We've stayed at many Ritz Carlton hotels over the years and have had hit or miss experiences. We had no idea what a "Reserve" property was but now understand perfectly and the property was exceptional on every level. These "Reserve" properties, only 2 in the world (here and Thailand), spent $1/2 Billion to make it world class and I'm telling you, it is!

The property itself was designed and furnished to perfection. It offered the nicest interiors and setting we've ever experienced and we travel for pleasure up to 10 times a year to 5 star properties throughout the world. We appreciated the acreage and opportunity to explore it all. Every single employee at this property was attentive, helpful, pleasant, willing to assist, and even go the extra mile.

We also wanted to commend the food and beverage quality. It was nothing short of outstanding, truly. We enjoyed a birthday and anniversary dinner at Encanto one evening and everything from the authentic Puerto Rican meal to the cake and wish lantern made it a night to forever remember. Chef Antonio extended his personal charm by visiting our table, checking on us, and ensuring we had everything we needed. We had a repeat performance on our last night and can't thank him enough for his talent and willingness to cook something special for us.

Splurge for the accommodations that offer the rooftop pool - amazing! West side was just as quiet as East. If you prefer a more breezy setting, choose East beach. Spa is astoundingly beautiful, all 5 acres! Water park is small but sufficient and built among the ruins and designed with perfection. Lovely! Bike rides every morning to explore the whole community - wonderful! This place is truly the nicest we've ever experienced! You will not be disappointed!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank diane m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George S, General Manager at Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear diane m,

I want to thank you for such a glowing review of Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve!

As a valued Ritz-Carlton guest I am very happy to hear that you were able to expereince our Reserve. Although we are only 1 of 2 properties, there are several more magical Reserve properties being developed.

I am delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed our exotic sanctuary and consider it "the nicest resort ever". The ladies & gentlemen of resort pride themselves in providing the highest level of genuine care and comfort for our distinguished guests.

I hope to have the opportunity to personally welcome you back to Dorado Beach in the near future.

Warmest Regards,

George M. Sotelo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Thomas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

My best friend and I were looking for a place that was easy to get to from St. Thomas and Atlanta for a relaxing 4 day BFF weekend. We just wanted to relax, be close to the ocean and do what friends do best--talk and laugh a lot. We chose the Dorado-Ritz Carlton Reserve more by accident than intent. It was an outstanding, breath-taking choice.

We chose a two-bedroom West Beach accommodation which was on the ground level. We had 3 separate deck areas, a private infinity pool, 2 luxurious deep soaking tubs and amazing outdoor showers. To top it off, we had our own designated "butler" to assist in anyway possible. Less than 60 feet from our deck were the white sands and ocean. [Every morning, the beach staff would set up our designated chaises, umbrellas and ice buckets of chilled bottled water.] For this time of the year, the beach was unbelievably quiet. Our accommodations were immaculately clean and well provisioned with fresh fruits and all the amenities that you could ever want or expect.

We had the opportunity to dine in their renowned "Mi Casa" restaurant. The chef is well known for his books and TV appearances. Food was superb. We also dined at their Asian Fusion restaurant, which was more casual with a tapas influence. The food was fine, but not rave worthy.

We had a small issue upon our arrival regarding the arrangement of the 2nd bedroom. The response from the Hotel's Accommodation Manager, Peter was prompt and quickly dealt with the problem and extended us hotel courtesies for our inconvenience.

The only area that fell slightly below our expectations was room service. It was very slow. There were a few instances where we had to make several follow-up calls about an order and ended up waiting more than an hour for something as simple as assorted cheeses and meats to arrive.

But, keep in mind that this beautiful property is a reserve that totals ~1000 acres, where golf carts and bicycles are the primary mode of transportation for everything.

We will definitely return to breathtaking Dorado - Ritz Carlton Reserve!

Room Tip: We liked West Beach accommodations for quiet and ocean/beach access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BBHSRH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George S, General Manager at Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear BBHSRH,

Thank you for your recent post of Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve!

I am delighted that you and your best friend discovered The Reserve and consider it "In a League of its own".

I am also glad to hear that you enjoyed the 2 bedroom west beach accommodation with its only private pool and that the ladies & gentlemen of the resort took great care of you and that you thoroughly enjoyed your experience at restaurant Mi Casa by Celebrity Chef Jose Andres.

Please rest assured that I am personally following up with your comment regarding in room dining.

Please feel free to contact me directly when planning your return as it would be a pleausure for me to assist you with coordinating your trip.

Warm Regards,

George M. Sotelo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Ritz Dorado Beach for three nights in mid-June 2014 over a weekend to celebrate my 40th birthday. The property was aware that we were celebrating a milestone birthday so we were upgraded to a room with a plunge pool (we waited 2.5 hours for the room to be ready). Looking back, I cannot even envision our experience there without having a plunge pool - it made our trip....we never even used the resort pool!! We had our own ocean cove (Building 6). Waiting for me in the room was a chocolate birthday cake from the resort - a very nice touch.....

Here are a few takeaways when considering this property:
- The rooms themselves are okay, but the outdoor shower is incredible along with the plunge pool.
- There was a very strong chemical cleaning fume in the room when we first got in - they quickly brought an air purifier and the smell slowly subsided.
- My husband struggled with the air conditioning every day and every night. The room never got below 73 degrees. My husband likes it very cold, like 65 degrees.
- The room service menu is VERY limited.....
- The property's beach is not really a "true beach" as the perimeter is a rock jetty but the benefit of this is having all of the rooms super close to the ocean. Most Caribbean properties have rooms way, way back from the ocean for storm reasons and erosion.
- The Spa here is incredible....It is a beautiful botanical spa but very expensive. One couples treatment is $1,300!!
- The Jose Andres restaurant is just okay for breakfast and is closed on Mondays and Tuesdays for dinner.
- Check out the waterpark (a golf cart ride away) for a few hours.
- The guests at the Ritz were mainly Spaniards or South Americans, not a lot of Americans.
- We went into the town of Dorado one evening for dinner at the recommended Grappa (local Italian fare). We thought the food was salty but decent.
- If considering the St. Regis Bahia Resort in Rio Grande please know this: we stayed there for five nights prior to our stay at the Ritz. There is simply NO WAY to compare the two resorts as they are completely different. Both of our stays were simply amazing....but I was very partial to the plunge pool at the Ritz - splurge if you can!!!!
- Guard yourself against those Caribbean "no see um" bugs - I was eaten alive even with bug spray on - the itching drove me nuts!!!!!
- We really enjoyed a dinner one evening at the resort's El Encanto (Asian cuisine) casual restaurant. Ask for Table 50 for a fabulous sunset view.

Room Tip: Building 6 has its own private ocean cove and is super close to the main lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Globetrotter74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George S, General Manager at Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Globetrotter74,

I want to thank you for your recent post of Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve!

I was delighted to hear that you and your husband selected The Reserve for your 40th birthday celebration and hope that you enjoyed your birthday cake.

I have to agree with you that the "Plunge Pools" are a big hit with our distinguished guests as yourselves. All of our 115 accommodations on property have direct ocean front views of the Caribbean ocean and almost half of them have direct access to our lagoon beach.

I am also glad to hear that you enjoyed Spa Botanico and the Waterpark and I appreciate your comments regarding the opportunities that you experienced in the room and rest assured that I will personally be looking into them.

I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you both back in the near future. Please feel free to contact me directly as it would be my pleasure to assist you in coordinating your visit.

Warmest Regards,

George M. Sotelo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorado
14.8 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
31.9 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
19.0 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#6 of 13 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,612 reviews
59.2 mi away
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,743 reviews
14.2 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve

Property: Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
Address: 100 Dorado Beach Drive, Dorado 00646-2058, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Dorado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dorado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve 5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Somewhere between idyllic and perfection sits a Puerto Rico resort of such intimate luxury and rare character, it calls to those who believe every journey should be a voyage of discovery. Once a 1,400-acre sugar plantation owned by the Livingston family, Dorado Beach caught the eye of conservationist visionary Laurance S. Rockefeller, who in the 1950s transformed the lush landscape into one of Puerto Rico’s most exclusive luxury resorts. With its serene coastline, private residences, spa sanctuary, golf courses and a harmonious sense of place that blends masterfully into the natural surroundings, Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve invites guests to arrive spellbound – and depart speechless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing