We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family vacation spot - service hit or miss”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Ponce Golf & Casino Resort
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Ponce
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
275 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Great family vacation spot - service hit or miss”
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We stayed here twice. The first time we were not in the Executive tower - the room was on an upper level with a nice view of the pool area. The room was fine but the bathroom was had very basic tile, formica-like countertop. The second time we were in the executive tower - slightly further away from the main area, but rooms were nice, bathroom tile was more upscale, corian-type counter in bathroom, ceiling fan in bedroom. We had a patio with table and two chairs and one lounge chair. Definitely like the executive tower better. We used the bicycles that could be signed out for free - I wouldn't want to take any of them on a long bike ride but they were more than fine to ride around the 1.2 mile loop around the hotel. Note, the loop goes through the parking area and crosses the area where cars pull in to unload and be dropped off at the valet area - so would not a good idea to let younger children go alone. There was also tennis, ping pong, beach and pool volleyball, mini golf, basketball, large chess field, and many other games. The pool area was very nice - very very nice. Although the hotel was full, there were always plenty of chairs and there were a handful of beds and chaise lounges. Most of the time we were there, we had to sign out towels and agree to pay $25 if a towel was not returned, which was somewhat annoying to have to worry about keeping track of them. One of the days we were given towels without having to sign them out. The beach was fine - it's not a white sand beach, but it's not advertised as such. Casual dinner restuarant was closed 2 of the 3 nights we were there. The pool bar had adequate fast food and reasonably priced drinks. The buffet breakfast was pretty good - omlettes to order, pancakes, waffles, fruit, various pastries, juices, espresso, cappuchino, etc.
The executive lounge was closed for maintenance - and it seems to have been closed for a couple months and no re-opening date is being provided. At check in we were given a couple drnik coupons, a box of snacks, and were told that we would get the breakfast buffet free. Two of the three mornings we had no problem with the buffet. However one morning we were told the buffet was not included for diamond members. We stood around for about 5 minutes while the staff discussed whether the buffet was included for the diamond member, the diamond member's spouse, kids under 6, kids between 6 and 12, kids over 12, and every combination thereof. Every staff member had a different opinion. As one staff member was seating us, another staff member followed us to the table saying "I'm going to bring you the check for the extra people," which he repeated again as we were being seated, and then once more as we were going up to the buffet. Was this really necessary? No check ever materialized so they must have figured it out, but it was not a relaxing way to start the day. The other service issue we had was after paying for parking, we didn't have the appropriately validated parking ticket. We offered to show the parking attendant our folio which should show we had paid for parking. He said we would have to drive back to the hotel and get a "new white ticket" from the valet to prove we had paid. When we left there was a very long line of cars lined up and people waiting for cars, so we did not want to return. We asked whether he could call the valet to confirm we had paid. He said he could not. We said we would use our cell phone to call and asked for the number of the hotel. He said he did not know the number. We said, you have no way to contact the valet desk and you don't know the number of the hotel you work at? We googled the hotel, asked to be transferred to the valet, and the valet said "no problem" and called the attendent told him to open the gate (so the attendant clearly did have a means of communication with the valet desk, but chose not to use it). Other staff at check in very friendly and helpful. If the service issues could be addressed, a stay at this hotel would be a very nice experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 150nightsperyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,558 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    716
    485
    205
    98
    54
See reviews for
538
427
26
349
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

I recently stayed at this resort over Christmas, while the resort was nice and the staff was nicer to you if you spoke spanish we found one employee, Johnathan went out of his way to make sure we felt welcome. The food in La Cava was top quality however the beer & wine at the resort were over priced...really $7.50 for a beer & $8.00 for a small glass of cheap wine, while a bottle of Santa Margherita Pinot Grigio will cost you $59.00 this is a little over board....as a Hilton Diamond I stay in alot of Hilton's & their resorts I realize prices are inflated but beware you are captive at this resort if you intend to enjoy yourself!

Room Tip: as for the executive tower ocean front
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1sambeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 31 December 2013

The overall of the hotel and the experience was excellent. My family and I had a wonderful time at the beach and pool. The breakfast buffet was excellent, the service was great. The room was very clean also the surroundings of the hotel. I asked housekeeping for an extra blanket and it was immediately delivered to my room.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Carmen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Well as a whole, I very much loved my stay here at the Hilton Ponce, I golfed, laid on the beach and did the whole pool, and had a wonderful time. As far as any problems with the resort, the rooms are outdated and the electricity to the room is based on sensors, if you are moving around in the vacinity of the doorway the electricity would eventually turn off which happened to us a few times while in the shower. One of our rooms had to be changed due to ants (when reported the staff did show up, but with a can of disinfectant spray?), one of our rooms the door failed to lock on two occasions and had to wait for staff to come and fix. The elevator needs work the buttons often didn't function.

But needless I very much enjoyed my time here, Jonathon and Jose at the bar were second to none and ran circles around their colleagues taking care of the guests.

Unless you really like slots the casino was a waste, had a couple table games, but nothing else, no video poker etc. Thankfully I'm not much of gambler so it didn't bother me, but others in my party weren't happy.

Room Tip: We flew into SJU and used VIP Tours PR to transport from SJU to the resort, Tito is a great guy and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taprootgft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, United States
1 review
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Stayed in the hotel for 5 nights and enjoyed it (and Ponce) very much. The room is spacious and well equipped and the hotel amenities are very nice. Quite a few activities in the hotel and around it. Breakfast was included in our stay and was the best possible away from home. The outside bar is very nice although a bit slow and the restaurant for dinner is very good value for money considering other options in Ponce. Overall a very enjoyable and relaxing stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Ofer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

I have only goos things to say about the hotel. Efficient, courteous, nice rooms and benefits.
Hotel restaurant food at la Cava and pool bar is Aldo good.
If you want to come here to gamble... Please turn around. Machines are VERY old. What you saw 6-12 months ago might be here. They are WAY behind the slot machine craze.
I asked 8 people what there percentage payout was and they looked at me like I was crazy and they didn't know what the heck I was talking about.
I spent WAY too much money (2k) with at least 40 machines playing at max and never saw a payout higher than 50$. I spent 3 nights here (this time...a regular here) and this casino disappoints me every single time.... Come for the weather amenities and good rum and avoid the crapy casino. You have a better chance of winning the powerball than making money here.
My guess is less than 80% return. Indian casinos have a better return.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelForLife2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethel, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Last minute change to this hotel and it was a great choice. Very quiet rooms, balcony overlooking pool and beach. Great pool area with poolside beds, lots of chairs and shade from palm trees. The pool bar was great with delicious, affordable food up until midnight - even a pizza oven. Breakfast buffet was pricey and mediocre. Place was quiet - no music at the pool, lobby bar closed most of our stay. Sad tired casino. Beach was nice - way better than the "white sands beach" Playa Santa they sent us to. Pool recreation shack had lots of games - big chess set, tennis, bikes, mini golf and more - great for taking a break from the pool when a few clouds rolled in and all FREE. Did not eat in the "fancy" restaurant as options in Ponce seemed more appealing. Great wifi and phone reception throughout resort.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barb W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ponce
48.3 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
40.2 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
48.2 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#20 of 47 in San Juan
7,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
48.5 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
62.7 mi away
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa
48.4 mi away
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Ponce Golf & Casino Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Ponce Golf & Casino Resort

Property: Hilton Ponce Golf & Casino Resort
Address: 1150 Caribe Ave., Ponce 00716, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Ponce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Ponce
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Ponce Golf & Casino Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Ponce Golf & Casino Resort is a tropical resort facing the Caribbean Sea, within a secluded location in the picturesque city of Ponce, Puerto Rico's second largest city. This full service resort offers a 27-hole championship golf course, variety of bars and restaurants, a 24-hours Casino and is the ideal base to explore the southern part of Puerto Rico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Ponce Golf & Casino Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Ponce Golf And Casino Resort
Hilton Ponce Golf Hotel Ponce
Hilton Ponce Hotel
Hilton Ponce Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing