We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, quiet hotel on the South side of the island”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Ponce Golf & Casino Resort
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Ponce
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed here for the second part of our trip and enjoyed it. We were there during an off-peak time, so it was really quiet. If you go, take the time to rent a kayak from the golf club area and paddle out to the little islands. While you're there, find the "tree house" and tie up your kayak for a while. It's nice and shallow and you can even take a quick dip in the warm water. The view from the tree house is pretty cool.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KLM0711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonPonce, Director of Sales at Hilton Ponce Golf & Casino Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear KLM0711 :

Thank you for your kind review of our resort, and for sharing your "secret" experience about the kayak excursion..

Indeed, enjoying an "escape within the escape" in off-peak season really pays off!!

However, you'd probably agree than even in peak periods, there is so much space, so much to do, and so little rush, that one could easily find a quiet area to relax and escape from the stress of everyday life at the Hilton Ponce.

We hope you'll take us into consideration again when needing to take another break, and share with your contacts network your travel memoirs.

Sincerely,

Jose Caro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,614)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

782 - 788 of 1,614 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

First of all, the service was very good at arrival, very fast (we arrived at 8pm) the breakfast buffet is a must, one of the best breakfasts at hotels I ever had. The outsides are kid friendly, they have so much for the kids to do, and at no cost, bicycles with helmets, tennis court beside the pool, a lot of games to borrow in a big kiosk beside the pool, a little park, a slide in the pool, we had a great time with our 5 year old.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachseekergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonPonce, Director of Sales at Hilton Ponce Golf & Casino Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear beachseekergilr:

Thank you very much for your good comments about our Resort!

Indeed, our Buffet Breakfast is a commonly praised service, and we are very glad you appreciated it too.

Maybe it is time for you and your family to come back and enjoy again all the amenities we provide for kids and the whole family to enjoy? There is certainly so much to do, and so little time..before they become grown-ups!!

Thank you for sharing your review, and sopreading the word about what a great Resort we have in Ponce, Puerto Rico.

Sincerely,

Jose Caro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I love the property, beautiful grounds, nice weather, great location! The only problem... service culture. I arrived, instead of instantly being greeted by the valet parking, I pretty much had to walk up to them. They almost asked me what did I want, if it were not obvious that when you drive to a valet parking you want them to park your car... The Cava restaurant is very nice, not overpriced. The pool food has improved greatly as now they have a real pizza oven that works wonders. Other day I ran out of coffee at my room, I asked for some extra and had to wait over 30 minutes for it to arrive. On my last day, room service forgot to bring the sweeteners along with the coffee. One last thing, the room has a mini-fridge yet no mini-bar. The room does not have bottled water, not even for you to buy; this is cumbersome. The WiFi does not work well with mobile devices such as iPhone. It is a shame that such a beautiful property could do so much better... All such things make you wonder who is the General Manager and what his attitude is? I certainly hope he is humble enough to take the critique and make the improvements!

Room Tip: Executive room just adds free breakfast, a more modern shower and 2 free water bottles!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank docoliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonPonce, Director of Sales at Hilton Ponce Golf & Casino Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear docoliver:

Thank you for your candid comments about your visit to our Resort.
We apologize if you felt some of our team Members did not provide you the level of service you were expecting. We take these comments very seriously, and our Valet Team Members have been briefed and re-trained on the procedures and attitude they should demonstrate.
On another tone, thank you for your comments about La Cava Restaurant and our amenities around the pool.
Our General Manager regularly reviews these comments and actions are taken to resolve problems and take actions where appropriate. Internet access via mobile devices is not open, but require user to enter pass codes through a gateway site. I wonder if this was the inconvenient during your experience with WiFi around the resort?
Regarding bottled water supply, we do offer welcome bottled water to our HHonors Gold and Diamond Members. Water is available for purchase at vending machines around the property or at the convenience store located near the Front Desk area. We are sorry you felt this was a shortcoming in the service delivery.

Thank you for your visit and we hope you will choose us again when planning an escape from the San Juan metropilitan area.

Sincerely,

Jose Caro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I recently spent a week in Puerto Rico. As a diamond member, I stayed exclusively at Hilton resorts around the island. By far the worst was the El San Juan Hilton. TERRIBLE. It got better each time with the Waldorf, followed by Hilton Ponce and the best being the Hilton Caribe in San Juan. Hilton Ponce is owned by Don Q (the rum guy). He pays Hilton a hefty royalty, but I think does a good job maintaining the brand. The Junior Suite was excellent. Not as nice as the honey moon suite at Hilton Caribe, but a great room. One employee needs a raise (and promotion). Mr. Evelier Rodriguez. He should be running the casino pit. He was able to easily communicate with me and encourage a great experience. His supervisors did not speak english and were unable to speak with me (my Spanish is still very rough, but I am working on it). Anyways, Mr Rodriguez make the casino very enjoyable and I could tell was a real asset to the company. He told me that they used to have craps and other table games but no one outside of himself could operate the games so it was shut down. He needs to be put in charge so the casino can grow their table game(s) business.

Room Tip: As a Diamond member, I would use the points and get the Junior Suite. Excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jered K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonPonce, Director of Sales at Hilton Ponce Golf & Casino Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear jered K:

Thank you for your comments about our Resort, and thank you for keeping your Puerto Rico tour within the Hilton Family of Brands..

We are very satisfied that you gave us a great review and you enjoyed the visit to the Ponce area, and your positive comments about our room accommodations.

The team at the Casino has already had access to your comments about Evelier and his performance. Thank you very much for your feedback on his great attitude and service commitment.

I hope your contacts will benefit from your comments, and include our Resort in their Puerto Rico travel plans, for a different experience when visiting the Island.

Sincerely,


Jose Caro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

the hotel is beautiful, the only problem i experienced was that the water was not hot and the rooms are old...the bathroom tile, grout was dirty. other than that, it was good...ariel at the bar was outstanding

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
2  Thank 134mauriceg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonPonce, Director of Sales at Hilton Ponce Golf & Casino Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear 134mauricereg:

First of all I'd like to thank you for the time spent writing your review.
I would also like to apologize if you found the room not up to par and your expectations, especially in terms of sufficient hot water. I am also sharing your comments to our Housekeeping Team, as feeback is so important for us.

Thank you also for commending our Bohio Bar bartender Ariel... he will be very happy (as well as his supervisor!!)

Sincerely,

Jose Caro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

The food here is daft and overpriced, and while the facilities are nice, you have to pay on top of your room fee to use any of them (mini golf, tennis court, etc.). But what can you expect at a place like this? Nevertheless, the property is very picturesque. Almost all clientele was middle-aged and white. Met an amicable chap here who was escaping from his job for a while and we chatted about lessons learned along the career ladder.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonPonce, Director of Sales at Hilton Ponce Golf & Casino Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Richar W:

Thank you for taking the time to write about your visit to our Resort.

I amsurprised to read that you felt our amenities required a supplement payment. They are all part of the Resort Fee charged daily, so you can use the mini-golf, the bicycles, tennis courts, etc,... unlimitedly during your stay.
The only specific additional fees are for Massage services, golf rounds at our Costa Caribe Golf Course, kayak rentals, or lights for the tennis courts when used at night.
Just like the "chap" you met at the Hotel, most visitors find our resort an ideal location to escape from the bustle and stress, and get quality relation time with family and friends.

Once again, thank you for your review.

Sincerely,

Jose Caro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

My partner and I have stayed at this resort many times over the past several years. I cannot say enough good things about the staff. They go above and beyond to make your stay enjoyable especially the wait staff at the pool and restaurant. It is very much worth the buffet on Saturday nights along with the free entertainment of the delightful dance company. We can't wait to come back!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonPonce, Director of Sales at Hilton Ponce Golf & Casino Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Kelly M:
Thank you for your comments and for your loyalty as a Guest at our Hotel.

We hope we will continue to offer you the level of service and hospitable friendliness you have experienced during these past years, for many years to come.

Thank you again and we look forward to having you again soon.

Best regards,

Jose Caro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ponce
40.2 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
48.3 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
48.2 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#18 of 47 in San Juan
7,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
62.7 mi away
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Puerto Rico Golf & Beach Resort
48.5 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
48.4 mi away
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Ponce Golf & Casino Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Ponce Golf & Casino Resort

Address: 1150 Caribe Ave., Ponce 00716, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Ponce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Ponce
Price Range: £122 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Ponce Golf & Casino Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Ponce Golf & Casino Resort is a tropical resort facing the Caribbean Sea, within a secluded location in the picturesque city of Ponce, Puerto Rico's second largest city. This full service resort offers a 27-hole championship golf course, variety of bars and restaurants, a 24-hours Casino and is the ideal base to explore the southern part of Puerto Rico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Ponce Golf & Casino Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Ponce Golf And Casino Resort
Hilton Ponce Golf Hotel Ponce
Hilton Ponce Hotel
Hilton Ponce Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing