We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Didnt like it too much”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Melia Ponce

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Melia Ponce
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Ponce
Ponce, Puerto Rico
1 review
“Didnt like it too much”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Its ok..I was there for a night and I am not a big fan. A lot of bars around the area. The place is a bit too old and the room is too small.Ponce is a beautiful city but there are better hotels around the area.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mochi815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    137
    91
    51
    46
See reviews for
94
169
16
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Great experience at the historic Hotel Meliá Ponce. I definitely recommend this hotel if you are planning to explore the historic district of Ponce. Upon arriving I was greeted by an amazing staff. My room was very clean and cozy. Wonderful getaway and would definitely return!!! Hope it will be soon.

Room Tip: Ask for the historic rooms. I was told they are 100 years old and they are beautiful and totally re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dortiz2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

This is a beautiful historic hotel in the center of Ponce. But don't expect luxury, this is the hotel for you if you want to be in a genuinely Puerto Rican hotel, in the historical area of Ponce. There are no comforts missing, wi-fi, cleanliness, bar, a small pool; but don't expect fancy rooms, gardens, gym, and fixtures, for that you have the newly developed luxury chains several miles out of town. I'd rather take this truly local experience than the modern out-of-touch luxury, but the place is a bit run-down since it's heydays. Don't miss reading about the history of the hotel in the hallway that takes you from the lobby to the bar/pool.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank f64CM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

If you like to stay at the center of a city that is centuries old, This is the place to stay. The service was very good and the view of the Castle and Cross is great! Although Mark's Restaurant closed there are other easy access restaurants like Lola's. Excellent food!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noreen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wesley Chapel, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

The hotel is one of the oldest on the island...and it shows. It has that nice touch of old glamour but I couldn't help but feel that the property was rather dated. The lobby is very elegant, the elevator very small (think European) where 2 thin people with 2 bags can fit comfortably (and in regards to the elevator, do NOT ride in it with a drink or anything fragile - when it stops, it STOPS, with a sudden jerk. Every single time.) There's a nice looking pool but we never went in. We stayed on the 3rd floor with a balcony looking over the plaza. The views are amazing from it. The rooms themselves not too special. We found food still in the fridge when we check in which was a bit concerning. Wifi was very disappointing. It simply would not connect in the room/balcony so I had to go out into the hallway even though it was stated it would work in room. I'd stay here again but it wouldnt be the highlight of my trip.

Pros: Great location - near main plaza, cathedral, fire house (Bombas)
Cons: Dated, WiFi is very spotty

Room Tip: Park in the back parking lot for $6 a night. Pretty safe and secure. Also, DEFINATELTY check out Kin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Davy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caguas, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

The hotel was in an excellent conditions, the employees were very nice and very aligned to customer services. The breakfast meals and coffee served on Mocha Cafe's Restaurant were excellent. The Panorama's Restaurant was an excellent place to spend romantic time with my wife. I asked to the waitress from Panorama's Restaurant, the address to arrive to Pizza Heaven's Restaurant at Ponce. The waitress made a map using a napkin to explaining me how to arrive to the restaurant. I used it and I arrived to the asked place. Also, the Hotel makes felt like to stay in an old family house at Ponce city. Excellent location to visit cities like Jayuya, Adjuntas and other near cities. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank llgrax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel has a gorgeous lobby and functional rooms. Our king was small but had all the comforts needed. There was even ENGLISH speaking channels on the TV. The pool area was lovely and parking is close and convenient. In the heart of the city, close to everything. The staff was great as well.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Brent J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ponce
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Ponce & Tropical Casino
0.1 mi away
Ponce Plaza Hotel and Casino
2.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel Ponce PR
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Belgica
Hotel Belgica
#3 of 7 in Ponce
4.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
20.9 mi away
Hotel Parador Guanica 1929
12.2 mi away
Costa Bahia Hotel, Convention Center & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Melia Ponce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Melia Ponce

Property: Hotel Melia Ponce
Address: 75 Calle Cristina, Ponce 00730-3753, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Ponce
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Ponce
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Melia Ponce 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Melia, a historic landmark surrounded by colorful and picturesque monuments, museums and the social night vibes. Located in the heart of downtown Ponce, walking distance to several touristic and cultural attractions such as: Ponce Art Museum, Serralles Castle Museum, Ponce History Museum, the Fire House Museum and many others. Enclosed in the City are numerous culinary and entertaining destinations that are most popular in the Southern Region. Hotel Melia has a total of 70 rooms, 5' depth swimming pool, 2' depth kiddie pool, 4 conference rooms with capacity for 12-75 persons, 2 venues for special activities with capacity for up to 150 persons, Bistro and Lounge for breakfast, lunch, brunch and tapas & cocktails. We also offer catering, room service, business center & services, parking, free Wi-Fi. Airport Information: From Hotel Melia to: (PSE) Mercedita International Airport, Ponce- 3 miles (8 min.) (SJU) Luis Munoz Marin International Airport, San Juan- 72 miles (1 hr. 18 Min.) (BQN) Rafael Hernandez International Airport, Aguadilla- 70 miles (1 hr. 27 Min.) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Melia Ponce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Hotel Ponce
Melia Ponce

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing