We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay!”
Review of Hotel Belgica

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Belgica
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Ponce
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A great place to stay!”
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

What a great place to stay! Lovely room in an old Spanish mansion right in the heart of Ponce. The staff are really helpful, the room and bathroom was very clean and the bed is super comfortable. You can walk around the town with ease and there are lots of local bars to choose from at night. If I had to fault it I'd say that the breakfast (which was included) isn't up to much but everything else about this place is great. I had a wonderful and time, lots to do but plenty of room to relax in.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank jeninfreo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    150
    48
    20
    17
See reviews for
68
199
20
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Novato, California
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

The hotel is just off the Central Plaza of Old Ponce. The rooms are each different and done very well. We were scheduled to have king with balcony, but when we arrived the receptionist suggested a quieter location since there are several discos that go to the wee hours. A very good suggestion! Even with earplugs I could hear the bass boom boom boom. But the hotel architecture is wonderful and our room felt like we were at home. A light continental breakfast. Talked to the owner for a while and he was very like able.

Room Tip: Ask for a room off the street for a quieter night. We had 213 and it was fine. Interior, so no win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RogerWi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Stayed two nights in Oct 2013, great staff very friendly, rooms have AC but lobby does not.....Wednesday night was very quiet but Thrusday was a little noisey, we read that the front rooms would be noisey from the clubs out front, but we were in one of the rooms in the back and could still hear it.It was a nice Hotel and would stay here again but not on a weekend!
JonnyjCalifornia

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank JonnyjCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boerne, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We wanted to stay in downtown Ponce. The hotel itself was lovely and authentic. Comfortable rooms. Made the mistake of asking for balcony rooms. Absolutely no insulation and noise from bar across street made sleeping almost impossible. Would stay there only if on back of hotel--not in front.
Breakfast very sparse.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelers194448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Beautiful hotel. The street side has doors that open to the street and if you don't mind city noise is great. Rooms are on second floor above 2 clubs and a taxi stand. So you really only get about 4 hours of quiet a night. Also beware there are grates in every room that lead to another room, and there is no glass in them, meaning no privacy. We heard or neighbors tv, talking, everything. Breakfast in the morning is a joke. Bread for toast and if you get there early enough coffee.

But it was beautiful and staff is very friendly. They do have parking but it is 4 blocks away.

Room Tip: The back rooms don't get as much noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed 2 nights here. The location is great, within walking distance of a bunch of little museums and historical landmarks. The beds in the rooms are super comfy, which is basically all I require while on vacation. Cheap room, comfy bed, we're good to go. They offer a little free breakfast every morning. It's light: toast, mini donuts, yogurt, orange juice, coffee.. you get the picture. For free that is good enough for me! Our second night we switched over to a room with a balcony for the same price. The only complaint I had was the wifi only worked when I stood by the door. Also the shower took forever to heat up but that was because it was solar powered which didn't bother me too much especially since they warned us about it with a sign in the bathroom. I would definitely stay here again, it is such an adorable european-style hotel with great ambiance.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rmadness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johns Creek, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Then again... neither , likely is Ponce. If you're looking for modern and glitzy.. stick to San Juan. If you want a slight step into the past and some muy autentico, Ponce delivers in spades....as does the Hotel Belgica. Spotlessly clean old high ceilinged rooms, a superbly comfortable bed, a charming second floor sun terrace, and a lobby straight from 1900 made for a delightful two night stay. Staff simply could NOT have been more friendly or helpful...suggesting we simply opt for available on street parking in front of the hotel since meters were "no pay" for our weekend, but reminding us to drop our quarters beginning at 8 am monday for the short time before checking out, versus using the parking garage two streets down. There's no elevator so if stairs to the second floor are an issue, keep that in mind. You're but a few steps from the main plaza, the beautiful Catedral, some great chicken pinchos if you need a street food snack, King's Ice Cream (a cup of half coconut and half pineapple were to die for..or take it back to the sun terrace, add your own splash of Ponce's home brand Don Q golden rum...and NO finer pina colada has EVER been made:-) ) The side streets are a living museum of colonial architecture...and Ponce's superb Museums --and DON'T miss the Ponce Museum of History-- only rounded out our weekend. And a Sunday lunch at Las Tias----all made this break from San Juan well worth it.

Room Tip: Rooms with "no view" are not an issue. In this charming city....your best views are out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ponce
0.1 mi away
Ponce Plaza Hotel and Casino
0.1 mi away
Hotel Melia Ponce
Hotel Melia Ponce
#6 of 7 in Ponce
457 reviews
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Ponce & Tropical Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel Ponce PR
12.1 mi away
Costa Bahia Hotel, Convention Center & Casino
20.8 mi away
Hotel Parador Guanica 1929
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belgica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belgica

Property: Hotel Belgica
Address: 122 Villa St, Ponce 00716, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Ponce
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Ponce
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Belgica 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are in the heart of the historic district of Ponce. Rooms with cathedral ceilings and traditional balconies. Next to Plaza las Delicias and the Trolley Tour. Family owned and operated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Belgica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belgica Hotel Ponce

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing