We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, historic gem”
Review of Hotel Belgica

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Belgica
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Ponce
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Starting with the warm, inviting greeting when we walked in the door (sweaty from a bike ride around the island!) to the hand drawn map and personal escort along the right direction, with the great food recommendations in between, this place was great. The old, elegant mansion has been lovingly restored with comfortable beds, nice linens, wi-fi - all the modern comforts, while maintaining the quirky historic charm of the town. The decor was fun and playful, with clever re-use of old fixtures and furnishings. And the location is great - right off the main square without being right in the middle of the action. We went to be relatively early, and did not notice any of the loud partying that others have mentioned. We did not have a street-side room, so maybe that helped. But I always travel with earplugs anyway, and would rather have the delightful experience of a place like this than the HoJo down the road! Felt very authentic, genuine and a nice hint of what Ponce's 'glory days' might have been like. Simply delightful.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Erindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (371)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 371 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2014

Plus you even paid for it!? We stayed for one night in one of their street front room with king size bed.
It was a mistake. It is an extremely loud location. People do not respect that maybe somebody would like to sleep through the night. The breakfast was a joke. Options: toast bread, nutella, peanut butter, some boxed donut, yoghurt, coffee, and maybe some juice (I don't remember).
Unfortunately I can't overcome on the negatives, even the place is clean, and architecturally pleasing.
Free parking is 2 blocks away. Wi-fi is available in the lobby, and really spotty everywhere else.

Room Tip: I'd look for another hotel honestly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Magdalena_J76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

My husband and I LOVED our two-night stay at Hotel Belgica with our 2-year old daughter. The room was very big, with gorgeous architecture and tall ceilings and all the amenities we would want, including an almost full sized fridge. It was extremely clean and housekeeping had some nice special touches. There was a beautiful balcony right outside our door, as well as an exercise bike and a water cooler for a refreshing drink. Breakfast included Nutella, which was perfect for our taste. Perhaps best of all, the hotel staff, and in particular Jesus, was more helpful than you would expect a close friend to be! In addition to great advice on what to do in the area, he spent nearly 2 hours and personal time outside of working hours helping us solve a problem we had with our rental car (which was from San Juan and completely unrelated to the hotel). He made many phone calls, searched online, translated for us, and ultimately saved us hundreds of dollars on a problem that was in no way related to him or his work - Jesus is the type of person that makes travelling to new places a humbling and memorable experience!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarolineAndSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

When planning our one-night stay in Ponce, it was a toss-up between this place and Melia and we went with this one. We liked the early 20th century atmosphere of this place. Very well preserved. Amazingly high ceiling in the room. Leafy, tiled common-area interiors. Gracious staff, adequate breakfast. Great location, just off the Plaza.

This is a wonderful walking city, with a superb art museum. Smaller museums, like the Ponce Massacre Memorial and the Ponce History Museum were closed on Monday. Santander Bank, with its fabulous murals, refused to cash Traveler's Checks, and while Banco Popular did, it was like applying for a permit in Third World country. Took 30 minutes to cash $100.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nuala75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

This hotel right by the center square was really nice. The big tall ceilings in your room were nice and the big king size bed was even better. Very clean. I choose an interior room at time of booking based on the reviews and all though it would have been nice to have a balcony to people watch, I am glad to have a good nights rest. Parking was no problem. Only downside was the breakfast, toast, a few boxed pastries and coffee. Would stay here again.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank katiewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Upon arrival, having reread the reviews, my husband requested an interior room, forgoing our balcony room. I was skeptical, but I let it go. Boy, am I glad that I did. The interior room with the whirring sound of the a/c was sleep-able, though we could still hear the din of street noise just barely. It would have been unbearable if we stayed in a balcony room. Perhaps quieter during the week, but this was a Friday night, and the partying did not stop. We were able to sleep, and we enjoyed the charm of the hotel. Typical of a city hotel room.

Room Tip: Pick an interior room. No matter what.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DaniWill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

This reminded us of hotels where we've stayed in Europe. The stairs up are a little worn, in an elegantly decadent way. The room was spacious, comfy bed.
We had one of the balcony rooms on the side street. We were there Sunday and Monday nights, so noise from bars and restaurants was not an issue (mostly closed), but street cleaning noise started early (4-5am). One night it was leaf blowers, the next power washers.
We were able to park on the street right in front of the hotel. Meters are not enforced on Sunday, and are enforced only 8am to 4pm weekdays, and 30 minutes for a quarter. We plugged in 50-75 cents in the morning and then went out exploring until after 4.
We enjoyed our stay!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mfred57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ponce
0.1 mi away
Hotel Melia Ponce
Hotel Melia Ponce
#6 of 7 in Ponce
467 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ponce Plaza Hotel and Casino
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Ponce & Tropical Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel Ponce PR
45.7 mi away
Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico
Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico
#30 of 47 in San Juan
265 reviews
13.7 mi away
Parador Villas Sotomayor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belgica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belgica

Address: 122 Villa St, Ponce 00716, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Ponce
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Ponce
Price Range: £70 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Belgica 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are in the heart of the historic district of Ponce. Rooms with cathedral ceilings and traditional balconies. Next to Plaza las Delicias and the Trolley Tour. Family owned and operated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Belgica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belgica Hotel Ponce

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing